Tom Dever, 60, of Terre Haute has been named the USATF Indiana Athlete of the Month for August.

On Aug. 25 Dever won the M60 title at the USATF Masters 1 Mile Championships in Flint, Mich. Dever earned a time of 5 minutes, 20 seconds on the road course to outrun Ken Youngers of Georgia by four seconds. His age-graded score of 86.49 percent ranked 14th out of 89 men that competed in the championships. This was the second time he has won the 1 mile road title. In 2013, he captured the M55 title running 4:50.

In July, Dever, the head cross country country at Terre Haute North, won the 5,000 meters at the USATF Masters Track & Field Championships in Baton Rouge, La. He has now won seven USATF national titles ranging in distance from one mile to the marathon.


• Rose-Hulman 1, Greenville 0 — At Rose-Hulman, Senior Kirby Kern scored with 12 minutes left in regulation to lead the Engineers past Greenville University 1-0 in the women’s soccer home opener on Tuesday night.

Kern booted home the goal courtesy of a pass from Maddy Twetten. Rose-Hulman (1-2) outshot Greenville 6-4 in the contest.

• ISU’s Sidloski honored — The Missouri Valley Conference named sophomore Katie Sidloski Newcomer of the Week.

This hard work showed through in the Sycamores match vs. Green Bay on Sept. 1. Indiana State defeated the Phoenix by a score of 2-0. Sidloski came away with a total of three points in ISU’s 2-0 win over Green Bay last Friday resulting from one goal and one assist.


• ISU finishes fourth at YSU — At Boardman, Ohio, The Indiana State women’s golf team posted rounds of 317 and 308 to finish fourth at the Roseann Schwartz Invitational, hosted by Youngstown State. The event was held at the Mill Creek Golf Course (North Course) which is a par-72, 6,089-yard layout. The Sycamores were the defending champion of the event.

The Sycamores improved nine strokes on their team score from Monday’s opener to recorded a 308 which was the third best score of the day among the 10-team field. Marshall followed up its 310 on Monday with a 298 to finish with a score of 608 which won the event by 12 shots over Akron.

Junior Thilda Staubo fired a 76 on the opening day and then came back with a round of 75 on Tuesday to finish with a score of 151 and a tie for second place, the best of Staubo’s career. 


• Two Engineers honored — Rose-Hulman senior Matt Murray has been named Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Special Teams Player of the Week after his efforts in the team’s 33-32 football victory at Illinois College on Saturday night. Senior linebacker Kaelen Garner was named to the Team of the Week, presented by Scoutware, in results released by the national website on Tuesday.

Murray finished 2-for-2 on field goals and 3-for-3 on extra points in the narrow one-point victory. His field goals were successful from 40 yards and 29 yards, improving his career field goal accuracy to 7-8. The versatile chemical engieering and mathematics double major also punted seven times for a 42.7-yard average per kick.

Garner becomes the 17th Engineer named to the Team of the Week in the 19-year history of the program. Garner recorded nine tackles, 3 1/2 tackles-for-loss and three sacks in the victory. He is a two-time first-team all-HCAC selection and has recorded 168 tackles, 28.5 tackles-for-loss, 16 sacks, seven pass breakups and two interceptions in his four years as a starting linebacker.

Auto racing

• Carmichael wins twice — At Putnamville, Kenny Carmichael Jr. won two features in racing at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday.

The local driver took the checkered flag in UMP modified and bomber races. Other winners were Kyle Cummins, Joe Ligouri and Jonny {cq} Newgent. Cummins won the King of Non-Wing sprint car feature.

Saturday’s feature results

Sprint cars 1 — Kyle Cummins, Brent Beauchamp, A. J. Hopkins, Casey Shuman, Shane Cottle, Dave Darland, Scotty Weir, Brady Short, Brandon Mattox, C. J. Leary

Sprint cars 2 — Joe Ligouri, Matt McDonald, Rob Caho Jr., Jamie Williams, Adam Wilfong, Jeff Wimmenaver, Brandon Spencer, Jake Gordon, Lee Underwood, Eric Burns

UMP modifieds — Kenny Carmichael Jr., Jake Leitzman, Jeff Deckard, Josh McDaniel, Richie Lex, Josh Boller, K. Carmichael Sr., Tyler Loughmiller, Brent Hudson, Rob Brickert

UMP super stocks — Jonny Newgent, Doug McCullough, Chris Hillman, Wes McClara, Paul Wright, Chris Harcourt, Kris Starks, Kenny Fields, Matt Jordan, Chucky Walden

Bombers — Carmichael Jr., Josh Litton, Jordan Almanza, Cody Wright, Tom Cox, Megan Cavaness, Jeff Beggs, David Walden, David Bumgardner, Travis Heramb