Elizabeth Tindera of South Vermillion lost just two games in beating a pair of senior players Saturday in regional play and has advanced to this weekend's individual girls high school tennis singles finals.

Tindera, a freshman and the first South Vermillion player to reach the tennis finals, beat McKenzie Braden of Lafayette Jeff 6-0, 6-0 and Caroline Rahrig of Fort Wayne Luers 6-1, 6-1 on Saturday at Kokomo and will play a quarterfinal match at 2 p.m. Friday at Park Tudor.

Other regional champions Saturday were Anna Graves of Silver Creek (19-4), Jordyn Pax of Plainfield (24-1) and Rose Pastoret of Valparaiso (record not provided). Tindera is 20-1 for the season.

The other four remaining players competed in the state team tournament on Saturday: defending state singles champion Halli Trinkle of Providence (18-1), Ellie Myers of Evansville Memorial (19-1), Ellie Pittman of state champion Indianapolis Cathedral (23-0) and Sanjana Tallamraju of Munster (24-1).

The four winners Friday night will play semifinal matches at 10 a.m. Saturday, with the championship match at 2 p.m.


• Ace at Mark's — At Mark's Par 3, David Cain of Terre Haute made his first official hole in one Sunday, using a 7-iron on the 116-yard ninth hole. His wife Sandy was his witness.

Auto racing

• Familiar drivers win — At Putnamville,familiar faces made their return to victory lane on Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway as Shane Cockrum, Derek Groomer, Josh Boller and Josh Litton each claimed feature wins.


Sprint Car Feature (mid-season championship — Shane Cockrum, Jarrett Andretti, Travis Berryhill, Mario Clouser, Matthew McDonald, Jesse Vermillion, Jadon Rogers, Tye Mihocko, Alec Sipes, Brayden Fox, Joey Parker, Harley Burns, Brandon Mattox, Blake Vermillion, Jacob Wilson, Colton Cottle, Matt Moore, Zach Hampton, Joe Stornetta Jr., Brent Beauchamp.

UMP Modified Feature — Derek Groomer, Jake Leitzman, Tyler Loughmiller, Jordan Wever, R.J. Pruitt, Sydney Landes, Nathan Voorhies, Michael Fish, Rob Brickert, Cody Wright, James Grider, Scott Crouch, R.T. Gamble, Nathan Krengle, Michael Wesselman, Donald Smiley, Alex Reid, Jerry Bland Jr., James Walters, Michael Kettnich.

UMP Super Stocks — Josh Boller, Bryce Shidler, Doug McCullough, Jonny Newgent, Matt Jordan, Paul Bumgardner, Larry Raines, Kyle Johnson, Scott Ricketts, Austin Phelps, Paul Wright, Travis Heramb, Wes McClara, Josh Litton, Justin Massie, Jeff Starks, Mason Adams, Wade Goodale, Jeff King, Justin Cundiff.

Bomber feature — Josh Litton, Justin Litton, Jordan Almanza, Matthew Cooley, Barry Hicks, Joseph Raber, Ethan Litton, David Bumgardner, Tom Cox, Jacob Steinway, Jerry Hutto, Mark Dickerson, Megan Cavaness, Adam Perkins, Jeff Allen, Chris Campbell, Tyler Rodgers, Cody Wright, Devin Wallen.