Youth baseball all-star tournaments have started, but very little action can be seen in Vigo County.

Indiana Little League dropped its number of districts from 14 to 10 in 2019. The redistricting means that Wabash Valley teams will see plenty of different opposition at the first level of all-star play.

District 8 now consists of Terre Haute North, Clinton, Brownsburg, Danville, Tri-West, Plainfield, Eagle Creek, Avon and Zionsville.

Terre Haute North recently finished 2-2 in the in the 10-and-under double-elimination district tournament, beating Zionsville and Danville and losing to Brownsburg and Danville. Brownsburg won the district championship Tuesday night.

For Terre Haute North, Brayden Dean and Trent Crowder lead the team offensively. Dean and Lawson Shepperd each picked up a victory on the mound.

Turning to the 12-and-under double-elimination tournament, that will start Saturday in Danville. Clinton's opener will be against Danville at 2:30 p.m. and Terre Haute North's opener will be against Plainfield at 5 p.m.

The 12-u tournament is slated to conclude July 12.

Meanwhile, Greg Ewing — newly elected president of the Riley Recreation League — told the Tribune-Star that none of its age groups have formed all-star teams for the state tournament this year. That includes Cal Ripken Baseball and Babe Ruth League teams.