Longtime Wayne Newton Post 346 manager John Hayes was awarded the prestigious Sagamore of the Wabash by state representative Bob Heaton on Friday night, Tim Hayes confirmed to the Tribune-Star. 

Members of the 2006 World Series team gathered for a 10-year anniversary event at the Legion. The 2006 team finished as World Series runner-up. 

That team included current major leaguer Josh Phegley, current minor leaguer Brady Shoemaker and former Sycamore greats Nick Ciolli, who also played several years in the minor leagues, and Koby Kraemer. 

Coach Hayes, who had been the program's manager since its revival in 1985, retired from coaching after the 2015 season. He finished with a career mark of 930-390. 

Wayne Newton Post 346 won 28 Sectional championships, 12 regional championships, 7 state championships, one Great Lakes Regional championship, and was runner-up at the Great Lakes Regional three times. 

Trending Video

Craig Pearson has been a sportswriter at the Tribune-Star since his days as an undergraduate at Indiana State in the early 2000s. He has covered high school sports, Indiana State women's basketball, professional baseball, and NCAA cross country and track.