News From Terre Haute, Indiana

December 4, 2012

Metro roundup: Miles wins regional Coach of Year award

The Tribune-Star

---- — Former Indiana State coach Trent Miles, who left the program last week to take the helm at Georgia State, was named the 2012 American Football Coaches Association Region Four Coach Of The Year on Monday.

It was the second such honor in Miles’ five seasons with the Sycamores. He won the same award in 2010, when he was also Missouri Valley Football Conference Coach of the Year.

ISU finished the year with a 7-4 record, 5-3 in the MVFC, to finish in a three-way tie for third place. It was the third winning season in a row for the Sycamores, the first time they did so since the 1967 through 1969 seasons.

Indiana State got as high as 14th in national polls and fifth in the Gridiron Power Index, the highest in either ranking since ISU joined the MVFC in 1987. ISU also had the most all-conference players in the league for the second year in a row.

Other AFCA regional coaching winners were Sean McDonnell of New Hampshire, Brian Jenkins of Bethune-Cookman, Chuck Priore of Stony Brook, Dino Babers of Eastern Illinois, Rob Ash of Montana State and Willie Fritz of Sam Houston State.


• Middle school tournaments begin — At Honey Creek, the first round of Vigo County middle school boys tournaments was played Monday with Woodrow Wilson sweeping the host Bees.

In the sixth-grade game, Dexter Shouse and Kenyan Sholty had eight points each as the Warriors won 25-20. Andrew Bement had 11 for Honey Creek.

In the seventh-grade game, Woodrow Wilson won 43-38 as Gabe Foust scored 16 points and Jovan Morris 10 for the winners. Ty’re Hutchins led Honey Creek with 18 points.

Play resumes at 5:15 p.m. today with Woodrow Wilson playing Sarah Scott in two games at Honey Creek and West Vigo traveling to Otter Creek for a doubleheader.

Championship games are Thursday at Terre Haute South, the sixth-grade game opening the festivities at 6 p.m.


• Christmas in the Park — At Deming Park, runners had warmer weather than usual Sunday for the annual Christmas in the Park runs, with Elias Graf winning the half-mile Reindeer Romp, Shad Goodman the 5K run and Tyler Carter the 3K event.

A total of 305 runners participated.

Reindeer Romp top 10 (of 68) — Elias Graf 4:00.3, Briston Pape 4:03.0, Rhyan Shaffer 4:04.0, Ellie Goodwin 4:04.2, Maya Nagy 4:04.2, Bryland Pape 4:07.0, Carly Rice 4:11.7, Kaitlyn McCoy 4:13.3, Johnathan Dozier 4:16.1, Donavin Cherry 4:18.6.

5K top 10 (of 185) — Shad Goodman 15:39.6, James Grounds 16:31.1, Nic Yocom 16:47.3, Justin Clapp 17:44.6, Chase Cresgy 18:30.3, Travis Clapp 18:32.2, Paul Clapp 18:42.5, Rick Davidson 19:11.5, TaPring Goatee 19:31.9, Greg Burchyett 19:32.1.

3K top 10 (of 52) — Tyler Carter 11:29.8, Josh Readinger 12:36.2, Tristan Baker 13:25.6, Clae Burson 13:31.5, Emma Baker 13:32.2, Cameron Cook 13:35.5, Kaylen Woodard 14:07.2, Sasha Nagy 14:07.4, Josh Roehm 14:19.0, Caleb Likens 14:40.3.