News From Terre Haute, Indiana

September 16, 2013

METRO/PREP ROUNDUP: ISU soccer team doubles score on UT-Martin

The Tribune-Star

---- — For the second time this season, Indiana State sophomore Kate Johnson scored two goals in a match — this time at home versus UT-Martin — as the Sycamores earned a 4-2 victory over the SkyHawks on a picture perfect Sunday afternoon at Memorial Stadium.

The Sycamores improved to 3-4-0 on the season while UT-Martin fell to 1-6-1.

Johnson opened the scoring in the eighth minute when she took a long cross off the foot of freshman Abby Reed and then beat the defender to put the ball into the net from short range.

Abby Reed then padded the Sycamore advantage in the 29th minute as she took a cross from Sydney Lovelace; Reed beat the keeper in the penalty box for a 2-0 advantage.

UT-Martin battled and scored again with four seconds left in the match.


• Wright State 3, Indiana State 1 — In the final match of the Wright State Invitational late Saturday, the visiting Sycamores took just one of four close sets in falling 25-21, 27-29, 25-23, 26-24.

For the third time this season, ISU’s Morgan Dall was named to an all-tournament team. Tournament MVP was Murray State freshman Scottie Ingram, a graduate of Eastern Greene.

Dall had 21 kills against Wright State, with Victoria Swigart adding 10. Loni Mackinson had 41 assists and Molly Murphy 19 digs. Melody Burdette and Kyla Thomas combined for 13 blocks.

ISU (5-5) begins Missouri Valley Conference play with a 7 p.m. home match Friday against Southern Illinois.


• Engineer women 11th — At Normal, Ill., Rose-Hulman’s women placed 11th at the prestigious Illinois Wesleyan tournament during the weekend.

Team scores — William Woods 304-320-624, Mount Mercy 314-318-632, Illinois Wesleyan 316-317-633, Wittenberg 317-320-637, Carthage 311-328-639, Rhodes 306-335-641, Marian 328-325-653, Millikin 330-327-657, North Central 334-326-660, Wisconsin-Whitewater 326-341-667, Rose-Hulman 341-333-674, Illinois Wesleyan JV 333-343-676, Truman State 345-332-677, Grinnell 346-340-686, Central (Iowa) 351-352-703, Elmhurst 352-363-715, Illinois College 362-356-718, Wisconsin-Stevens Point 355-370-725, Franklin JV 363-363-726, Wisconsin-Platteville 363-363-726, Carroll (Wis.) 382-375-757.

Rose-Hulman — 42. Erin Scully 84-82-166, 54. Peem Chanrotchanaphan 89-80-169, Taylor King 83-87-170, Hayley Vonder Haar 86-86-172, Deanne De Keizer 88-85-173, Jaclyn Smith 87-97-184.

Next — Rose-Hulman hosts its own invitational at Hulman Links on Saturday and Sunday.

• Rose men third — At Vincennes, Rose-Hulman’s men’s team was third at the Vincennes Invitational.

Rose-Hulman — Sanders Park 78-73-151, Tapat Wittayakom 77-77-154, Kent Kraus 76-81-157, Chris Lambert 80-81-161, Sam Pastoriza 86-78-164.

Next — Rose-Hulman competes Sept. 22-23 at the Franklin Invitational.

• Pomeroys win — At Rea Park, St. Mary-of-the-Woods won a three-way match over Oakland City and Brescia on Saturday as Terre Haute South graduates Morgan Patterson and Kelsey Fuqua each shot 79 on their former home course.

Patterson and Shelby French had collegiate-best scores for the Pomeroys.

Team scores — St. Mary-of-the-Woods 340, Brescia 341, Oakland City 364.

SMWC — Morgan Patterson 79, Kelsey Fuqua 79, Sloane Engle 82, Abby Abel 100, Shelby French 108.

Next — St. Mary-of-the-Woods plays at Robert Morris on Tuesday.

• First ace — At Mark’s Par Three, Sonny Bennett of Terre Haute got his first hole-in-one Sunday, using a 9-iron on the 105-yard eighth hole.

Witnessing the shot were John York and Carl Pizzola

Auto racing

• Thomas wins pair — At Haubstadt, Kevin Thomas Jr. was a double winner in USAC/Midwest Sprint Car Series racing Saturday at Tri-State Speedway.

Thomas won his heat and led the final 14 turns to win the 40-lap feature. Brady Short led the first 26 laps and took second.

Thomas moved into fourth place in the USAC sprint point totals going into the 4-Crown Nationals this week. Bryan Clauson remains the leader, holding a five-point lead over Dave Darland.

Chase Stockon is fifth in the totals.


Saturday’s results

Heat winners — Dave Darland, Tracy Hines, Brady Bacon, Kevin Thomas Jr.

Feature — Thomas, Brady Short, Bacon, Jon Stanbrough, Kyle Cummins, Chase Stockon, Daron Clayton, Tracy Hines, Bryan Clauson, Shane Cottle, Robert Ballou, Blake Fitzpatrick, Jeff Bland Jr., Bradley Sterrett, Nick Drake, Carson Short, Chase Briscoe, A. J. Hopkins, Kurt Gross, Tyler Courtney, Darland, Wes McIntyre, Seth Parker.

USAC sprint point leaders — Clauson 1,577, Darland 1,572, Bacon 1,521, Thomas 1,396, Stockon 1,392

• Carmichael a winner — At Putnamville, Kenny Carmichael Jr. was a double winner in Saturday’s racing at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Carmichael won his heat and the feature for super stocks. He also was second in the main event for modifieds.

Other winners were Casey Shuman in sprints, Brian Hayden in modifieds, Josh Presley and David Wallen of Brazil in bombers.


Saturday’s results

Sprint cars

Heat winners — Casey Shuman, Ryan Pace.

Feature — Shuman, Chad Boespflug, Brian Hayden, Pace, Max McGhee, Kent Christian, Levi Shields, Michael Terry Jr., Brent Beauchamp, Jason Robbins. Brandon Morin, Lee Underwood, Shawn Krockenberger, Douglas Roberts, Devin Cress.

UMP modifieds

Heat winners — Hayden, Wes McClara, Paul Bumgardner, Collin Thirlby (B-main).

Feature — Hayden, Kenny Carmichael Jr., McClara, Roger Mills, Thirlby, Eric Varner, Carlos Bumgardner, Jake Humphrey, Duane Lee, Dan Lewellen.

UMP super stocks

Heat winners — Carmichael Jr., Marty Cooper, Roy Bruce Jr., Tyler Loughmiller.

Feature — Carmichael Jr., Steve Peeden, Cooper, Dustin Shoulders, Bruce, Josh Boller, Mike Staggs, C.J. Bryan, Josh Fagg, Scott Carrington.


Heat winners — David Wallen, Josh Presley, Carlos Bumgardner, A.J. Smith.

Feature 1 — Presley, C.Bumgardner, Josh Foxworthy, Blake Cross, Bob Farris.

Feature 2 — Wallen, Smith, Damon Harrell, Tom Courtney, Justin Minardo.

• Heck posts win — At Paragon, Doug Heck of Brazil was a winner on Saturday in the final night of racing for the season at Paragon Speedway.

Heck won one of the features for sprint cars. Other winners were Jake Scott in sprint cars, Chris Hillman in super stocks, Chris McCoy in bombers, Jacob Ham in pure stocks, and Greg Garrison in hornets.


Saturday’s results

Sprint cars

Heat winners — Nick Johnson, Jared Harris, Randy Johnson.

Feature 1 — Jake Scott, Bub Cummings, Eric Edwards, Hot Rod Henning, Brian Lake, Danny Harris, Brad Cummings, Nevil Algeio, Shawn Miller, Hunter O’Neal.

Feature 2 — Doug Heck, Tony Reed, Harris, Buddy Lowther, Ray Kenens, Jeremy Giles, R. Johnson, Bradley Crone, Dave Peperak, Tyler Waltz.

Super stocks

Heat winners — Chris Hillman, Steve Hawkins, Steve Hollars.

Feature — Hillman, Trent Niflis, Hawkins, Travis Howe, Hollars, Jeremy Potts, Rob Paris, Mike Ham, Jake Leitzman, Richie Lex.


Heat winners — Chris McCoy, Jeff Beggs, Jeff Cast Jr.

Feature — McCoy, Tyler Neal, Baily Hicks, Michael Harris, Beggs, Jordan Williams, Dave Byrdwell, Jason Trimmer, Jason Trader, Tom Cox.

Pure stocks

Heat winners — Justin Litton, Josh Litton.

Feature — Jacob Ham, Aaron Acres, Ju. Litton, Matthew Cooley, Jo. Litton, Curtis Fouts, Johnny Payton, Jesse Kindred, Tyler Perkins, Danny Ray Wampler.


Heat winners — Greg Garrison, Greg O’Neill, Jeramie England, John Dent (B-main).

Feature — Garrison, O’Neill, Luke Bland, Hillman, O’Neill, Jordan Wever.