News From Terre Haute, Indiana

September 10, 2013

Metro: HCAC honors Engineers

Tribune-Star staff report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Two Rose-Hulman athletes were honored as Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Players of the Week on Monday for their efforts last week.

Sarah Jensen earned Volleyball Offensive Player of the Week honors, and Cody Rivers claimed Football Defensive Player of the Week accolades.

Jensen recorded two triple-doubles during the week as the Engineers finished 3-1 at the Rose-Hulman Invitational and 3-4 overall. She had 82 kills with 90 assists and 63 digs. Jensen leads the Fightin’ Engineers in kills (126) and stands among the team’s top three in assists (129), digs (90) and blocks (14).

Rivers led the Rose-Hulman defense with 11 tackles, including eight solo efforts, and recovered a fumble on the 1-yard line to thwart a potential touchdown. He also added half a sack and 1.5 tackles for loss in the narrow 28-23 loss at Kalamazoo.

The football team (0-1) hosts its home opener against Centre at 7 p.m. Saturday. Volleyball (5-6) returns to action at the DePauw Invitational on Friday and Saturday.

• • •

In other awards:

• Dall honored by MVC — Indiana State senior Morgan Dall was named the Missouri Valley Conference volleyball Player of the Week, the league office announced Monday.

Dall not only set a career high in kills for a game but also became just the 11th athlete in Sycamore history to record her 1,000th career kill.

In four games, Dall registered 83 kills with a .311 hitting percentage. She also had three assists, three aces, 43 digs and three block assists. She leads the Missouri Valley Conference and ranks 33rd in the nation for kills per set (4.15) this season.

ISU’s home opener is 7 p.m. today against IUPUI.


• Sycamores fifth — At Noblesville, Indiana State placed fifth among the seven full teams at Sunday’s 36-hole IU Fall Kickoff at Purgatory Golf Course.

Louisville won with a score of 570, followed by Indiana at 597, Xavier at 604, Cincinnati at 605, Indiana State at 618, Youngstown State at 647 and DePauw at 648. IUPUI, Notre Dame and Purdue sent partial teams.

Amanda Smith led ISU with rounds of 76 and 77 for a 153 total, while Marissa Uradomo shot 75-79-154, McCall Christopher 76-80-156, Morgan Berube 84-75-159 and Erinn Sutton 80-80-160.

Playing as individuals were Gina Della Camera (85-81-166), Andrea Frankiewicz (84-95-179) and Margaret Harper (91-103-194).


• Pomeroys go 1-1, get first win — At Berrien Springs, Mich., St. Mary-of-the-Woods downed Andrews 7-0 on Sunday to even its record at 1-1; Franklin defeated The Woods 6-3 on Friday.

Freshman keeper Georgie Macy posted her first career shutout and Terre Haute North graduate Amanda Loebker had her first four-goal game in Sunday’s victory.

Two more former Patriots were in the scoring column as Jordan Bray had a goal and Joy Jakaitis an assist. Other Pomeroy goals Sunday were scored by Kylee White and Denae Sallis, while White and Alejandra Tellez also had assists.

St. Mary-of-the-Woods has a 2 p.m. home match this Sunday against Anderson.


• Former Lion contributes — At Decatur, Ill., Millikin lost its opening game of the season 48-41 to visiting Greenville on Saturday.

Taylor Sanders of Marshall led Millikin in receiving with four catches for 78 yards.

Auto racing

• Hafner gets win — Laura Hafner was one of the winners in weekend racing at Crossroads Dragway.

Hafner bested Kimmie Bates in a Pink Ladies race on Friday. Winners on Saturday were Kynon Dinkle, Rob Robinson and Chad Eaton.

Regular racing will resume Sept. 20 with Fun Night Runs and Sept. 21 with regular racing. Track information and schedules may be obtained on Facebook, at or at 812-229-2167.


Friday’s results

Pink Ladies — Laura Hafner of Rockville, 2003 Dodge, def. Kimmie Bates of Terre Haute, 1999 Camaro; semis: Ramona Knoblett.

Saturday’s results

Super pro — Kynon Dinkle of Terre Haute, 1998 Baretta, def. Joel Leihser of Decatur, Ill., 1968 Firebird; semis: John Moy.

Pro — Rob Robinson of Indianapolis, 1991 Camaro, def. Tommy Smith of Brazil, 1967 Firebird; semis: Mike Wilson.

Sportsman — Chad Eaton of Paris, Ill., 1985 Monte Carlo, def. Terry Hoffman of Monrovia, 1995 Impala; semis: Amber Price.


• Darland wins again — At West Memphis, Ark., Dave Darland won another U.S. Auto Club sprint feature Saturday at Riverside International Raceway.

Darland led the final seven laps of the 30-lap main to win. Bryan Clauson led laps 7 through 23 but finished sixth.

Darland takes an 18-point lead  over Clauson in the sprint totals going into Saturday’s race at Tri-State Speedway. Chase Stockon remains fourth in the points.


Saturday’s results

Fast qualifier — Tyler Courtney.

Heat winners — Tim Crawley, Kyle Cummins, Anthony Nicholson.

Feature — Dave Darland, Jon Stanbrough, Courtney, Tracy Hines, Keaton Dobbs, Bryan Clauson, Derek Hagar, Robert Ballou, Nick Drake, Brady Bacon, Jordon Mallett, Chet Williams, Kevin Thomas Jr., Crawley, Cummins, Chase Stockoin, Nicholson, Ronnie Howard, Wade Oliver, Zach Pringle, Chad Jones, Jerod Roller.

USAC sprint point leaders — Darland 1,559, Clauson 1,541, Bacon 1,467, Stockon 1,347, Thomas 1,336.

• Kramer wins feature — At Putnamville, Joey Kramer won the feature race on Saturday’s card at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Kramer won his heat and the Patriot 100 for UMP modifieds. Jeff Bland Jr. won the feature for sprint cars.


Saturday’s results

UMP modifieds

Heat winners — Joey Kramer, Paul Bumgardner, Roger Mills, Brian Hayden.

B-main winners — Randy Shuman, Brad Barrow, Ryan Thomas.

Feature — Kramer, Greg Amick, Tyler Nicely, Shuman, Jesse Cramer, P.Bumgardner, Mills, Jeff Deckard, Wes McClara, Jimmy Hayden, Nick Tharp, Josh Eads, Brian Hayden, Brian Shaw, B.Barrow.

Sprint cars

Heat winners — Brent Beauchamp, Brian Hayden, A.J. Hopkins, Jerry Coons Jr., Dallas Hewitt (B-main winner).

Feature — Jeff Bland Jr., Beauchamp, Ethan Barrow, Brady Short, Hayden, Matt Westfall, Casey Shuman, Hopkins, Adam Cruea, Max McGhee.

UMP super stocks

Heat winners — Kenny Carmichael Jr., Josh Boller, Steve Peeden, Marty Cooper, Kenny Carmichael (B-main).


Heat winners
— Carlos Bumgardner, Chris Schepper, Tim Wright, A.J. Smith.


• Seniors compete — The following results have been reported from Terre Haute Men’s Senior League play.

Astros    001    000    100 —    2    9    2

Athletics    010    010    20x    —    4    10    2

Highlights — For the Bloodworth A’s, Barker had 3 hits and an RBI, Stan Henderson 2 hits and an RBi and Terry Lewis, Jim Acton, Haas, Gene Frazier and Engdlow added singles. For the Wabash Valley Animal Hospital Astros, Darren Brucken was 3 for 3, Frank Zwerner had a triple, Gene Sinclair had a hit and an RBI and Eric Atwood, Jim Show, Joe Salinetro and Andy Pickering had singles.