News From Terre Haute, Indiana

September 29, 2013

METRO ROUNDUP: After season’s 4th win, ISU soccer readies for Domestic Violence Awareness game

Andy Amey
The Tribune-Star

---- — Indiana State snapped a three-match losing streak in women’s soccer on Sunday, finishing a four-match road swing with a 2-0 win at IPFW.

Katie Johnson and Sydney Lovelace had goals for the Sycamores, who improved to 4-7 while the Mastadons fell to 2-8.

Johnson scored in the 26th minute on an assist by Shelby Troyer. Goalkeeper Abby Keller kept the home team off the scoreboard with six saves, and Lovelace added the clincher in the 83rd minute on an assist by Loesing.

ISU now begins a three-match homestand with a 7 p.m. Missouri Valley Conference match against Illinois State on Friday. The evening has been designated Domestic Violence Awareness Night.

In other soccer:

• North Park 1, Rose-Hulman 0 — At Chicago, a first-half goal by Markus Fodstad was the only scoring in a nonconference men’s match on Saturday.

North Park outshot the Engineers 18-7, five of the Rose-Hulman shots coming from Drew Belk. Drew Miller had seven saves for the Engineers.

Now 3-4-2, Rose-Hulman opens Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference play this coming Saturday at Bluffton. North Park is now 5-3-1.


• Pomeroys eighth — At Marion, St. Mary-of-the-Woods finished eighth among 10 teams Friday and Saturday at the Indiana Wesleyan Invitational.

Kelsey Fuqua and Morgan Patterson led SMWC with scores of 176 and 178 respectively.

Indiana Wesleyan Invitational

Team scores — Marian 644, Olivet Nazarene 669, St. Francis (Ind.) 671, Marian B 682, Indiana Wesleyan 683, Manchester 757, Spring Arbor 772, St. Mary-of-the-Woods 781, Taylor 796, Mount Vernon 862.

SMWC — Kelsey Fuqua 88-88-176, Morgan Patterson 87-91-178, Abby Abel 100-94-194, Shelby French 113-120-233.

Next — St. Mary-of-the-Woods plays Tuesday at the Oakland City Invitational.


• Indians win — The Indians completed a sweep of the Wabash Valley Animal Hospital Astros during the weekend to win the Terre Haute Men’s Senior Baseball League’s 38-and-over postseason tournament.

Dave Montgomery had two hits, including a long homer, for the Astros.

Auto racing

• Clauson hikes lead — At Lawrenceburg, Bryan Clauson was the feature winner in U.S. Auto Club sprint car racing Saturday at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Clauson was fast qualifier and outdueled Sullivan native Chase Stockon to win the 30-lap main, leading the final 14 turns. Stockon led laps one through six and eight through 16.

Clauson hiked his lead in the sprint point totals to 13 points and Stockon remained a solid fifth in the totals.


Saturday’s results

Fast qualifier — Bryan Clauson.

Heat winners — Aaron Farney, C.J. Leary, Chad Boespflug, Tracy Hines, Brady Bacon (semi).

Feature — Clauson, Chase Stockon, Dave Darland, Kevin Thomas Jr., Justin Grant, Gary Taylor, Jerry Coons Jr., Boespflug, Bacon, Chris Windom, Shawn Westerfield, Daron Clayton, Kyle Cummins, Robert Ballou, Farney.

Sprint point leaders — Clauson 1,706, Darland 1,693, Bacon 1,583, Thomas 1,494, Stockon 1,479, Hines 1,339, Ballou 1,312, Windom 1,083.

• Wallen wins pair — At Putnamville, David Wallen of Brazil was one of the double winners in racing on Saturday at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Wallen won his heat and the feature for bombers. Other double winners were A.J. Hopkins in sprint cars, Paul Bumgardner in modifieds and Dustin Shoulders in super stocks.


Saturday’s results

Sprint cars

Heat winners — A.J. Hopkins, Brent Beauchamp, Conner Donelson.

Feature — Hopkins, Beauchamp, Donelson, Hunter Schuerenberg, Brian Hayden, Nick Johnson, Patrick Gliddens, Travis Welpott, Michael Terry Jr., Kent Christian.


Heat winners — Paul Bumgardner, Eric Varner, Kenny Carmichael.

Feature — P.Bumgardner, Wes McClara, Varner, Carmichael, Randy Shuman, Brad Barrow, Roger Mills, Carlos Bumgardner, Dan Lewellen, Jake Humphrey.

Super stocks

Heat winners — Dustin Shoulders, Scott Carrington, Roy Bruce Jr.

Feature — Shoulders, Steve Peeden, Chris Hillman, Carmichael Jr., Carrington, Jake Leitzman, Josh Boller, Michael Fish, Tyler Loughmiller, Josh McDaniel.


Heat winners — David Wallen, A.J. Smith, C.Bumgardner.

Feature — Wallen, Tyler Neal, Doug McCullough, Justin Minardo, Jason Trimmer, Jeff Beggs, Jerry Hutto, Ron Smith, Barry Hicks, Bob Farris.

• Orman reigns — Jake Orman won the feature race in Crossroads Dragway action on Saturday, beating out Kevin Adams in the King of the Track race.

Other winners were Dustin Brenton, Mike Tewell, Chad Eaton and Chris Miller.

Fun Night runs with the final Pink Ladies series race are this Friday. Regular racing is Saturday with time runs at 12:30 p.m.

Information can be found at or at 812-229-2167.

Saturday’s results

King of the Track — Jake Orman of Terre Haute, 1992 RED Victory, def. Kevin Adams of Terre Haute, 1967 Nova II; semis: Mike Wilson, Dustin Brenton.

Super pro — Brenton of Rosedale, 1969 Nova, def. Kynon Dinkle of Terre Haute, 1998 Baretta; semis: Bob Wright, Orman.

Pro — Mike Tewell of West Terre Haute, 1987 Monte Carlo, def. Gary Hoggatt of Indianapolis, 1988 S-15; semis: Joel Leihser.

Sportsman — Chad Eaton of Paris, Ill., 1985 Monte Carlo, def. Zach Gosnell of Terre Haute, 1980 Z-28 Camaro; semis: Joey Moore, Dennis English.

Junior dragster — Chris Miller of Danville, Ill., Junior, def. Megan Miller of Danville, Ill., Junior.