News From Terre Haute, Indiana

October 12, 2012

Hurtubise, Sumar races on Action Track slate this weekend

staff report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Championship racing is scheduled this weekend at the Terre Haute Action Track with U.S. Auto Club features set for today and Saturday.

One USAC championship will be decided and the spread in the other division could widen or tighten up as a result of the races.

The Jim Hurtubise Classic for sprint cars is today. Only 26 points separate three drivers in the point totals.

Dave Darland is first with 1,822 followed by Bryan Clauson with 1,798 and Jon Stanbrough with 1,796. All of them finished in the top 22 in last year’s race won by Chris Windom and all have been winners at the local track.

This year, Darland has not been in the top 10 in two events while Clauson has a ninth and Stanbrough two seconds.

Sullivan driver Chase Stockon ranks seventh in the totals and won his first USAC sprint feature in the last race on the schedule, earning $10,000 for winning at Lawrenceburg.

Another sprint car race is slated for Sunday at I-96 Speedway in Michigan.

The Sumar Classic 100 is set for Saturday and is the final Silver Crown race of the season and it shapes up as a Shootout with three drivers separated by only 11 points going into the finale.

Bobby East is the leader with 349 points. Jerry Coons Jr. is second with 343 and Kody Swanson is third with 338. Bud Kaeding and Tanner Swanson are the other drivers who mathematically are in title contention with 66 points available in Saturday’s race.

Swanson had the best finish of the three in the last Silver Crown race run in Terre Haute in 2010, finishing fifth in the 100-lap event. East was seventh.

Levi Jones won the 2010 race but is sidelined for the season, recuperating from neck injuries.

USAC point leaders

Silver Crown — Bobby East 349, Jerry Coons Jr. 343, Kody Swanson 338, Bud Kaeding 307, Tanner Swanson 292, Levi Jones 270, Tracy Hines 262, Bobby Santos 253, Brian Tyler 234, A.J. Fike 221.

Sprint cars — Dave Darland 1,822, Bryan Clauson 1,798, Jon Stanbrough 1,796, Hines 1,624, Jones 1,615, Damion Gardner 1,588, Chase Stockon 1,524, Hunter Schuerenberg 1,480, Robert Ballou 1,479, Kevin Thomas Jr. 1,413.