News From Terre Haute, Indiana

October 8, 2012

METRO ROUNDUP: Farris, McCollum win best-ball event at Forest Park

Tribune-Star staff report

BRAZIL — Troy Farris and Mark McCollum teamed to win the two-man best-ball event concluded Sunday at Forest Park.

The winners had rounds of 63 and 67 for a 12-under-par 130 score to edge Dorian Lee and Doug McDonald with 130.

“Mark birdied the last hole for us to win,” said Farris, who been on the winning team in the annual tournament at least 10 times. He and McCollum had won the two-man scramble in the past.

David Dye and Tom Vaughn took third with 132. Four teams shot 67 in the final round with 116 players in the field.

Steve Paquin and Ryan Burchett won the scoreboard tiebreaker to win the first flight. Ron Simpson and Saylor shot 74 for the best round of the day and won the second flight with 134.

Oldtimers Ben Kiburis and Jerry Snodgrass shot 144 to win the fourth flight, shooting 69 in the final round.

Derek Bridge had a hole-in-one on No. 2 in Sunday's round.

The annual Interclub Championship is this Sunday at Rea Park.


Rea Park two-man best-ball

Championship flight

130 — Troy Farris-Mark McCollum 67-63

131 — Dorian Lee-Doug McDonald 67-64

132 — David Dye-Tom Vaughn 67-65

134 — Chris Rairdon-Nick Gillaspy 68-66, Rich Schelsky-Bill Chestnut 67-67

136 — Ryan-Rick Ford 70-66, Alan-Scott Buell 69-67, Mark McCammon-Rodger Zimmerman 70-66

First flight

134 — Steve Paquin-Ryan Burchett 66-68 (won tiebreaker), Randy Kruse-Denny Byram 66-68

137 — Stewart-Jarvis, E. Kanizer-S.McVey

138 — J.P. Kanizer-Schneider, Carr-Snoddy, Levy-Pearce

139 — Falloon-Marthakis

Second flight

134 — Ron Simpson-Saylor 64-70

137 — Bland-Bland

139 — Schane-Smitka, Eaglin-Eaglin, Horrall-Horrall

141 — Amies-Fodori

142 — Nuckels-Small, Trusler-Trusler, Dave Alumbaugh-Tennant

146 — Peebles-Page

Third flight

10 — Bud Gaby-Bob Bannon 69-71

141 — Don Alumbaugh-Webster, Turner-Williams, Moreland-Symon

142 — Bridge-Lear, Wampler-Wampler

146 — Trout-Baker

149 — Kirchner-Blunk

150 — Stansberry-Hughes

Fourth flight

144 — Ben Kiburis-Jerry Snodgrass 69-75

145 — Archer-Hurt, Campbell-Weisheit

147 — Stoelting-Swearingen, Long-Long

148 — Swaim-Bridgewater, Brush-McRea, Brashier-Johansen

149 — Lents-Lents, Fenwick-Fenwick

151 — Raines-Lambert, Branham-Oney

Fifth flight

150 — Ed Hughes-Sean Hughes 72-78 (won tiebreaker), Tony-Craig Trout 74-76

151 — Buck-Pierce

160 — Treash-Treash

162 — Grimes-Gaberial, Tribble-James

In other golf:

• Rose men third — At Crawfordsville, Rose-Hulman’s men’s team placed third among five teams at the Wabash Invitational that ended Sunday.

Saturday’s team score of 305 was the best Rose-Hulman team score in several seasons. Mount St. Joseph edged out the Engineers by one shot for the second position.

Sanders Park was second individually after rounds of 70 and 74. Travis Whithaus of Robinson, Ill., shot 74 and 75.

Wabash Invitational

Team scores — Hanover 303-302-605, Mount St. Joseph 311-302-613, Rose-Hulman 305-309-614, Manchester 307-314-621, Wabash 310-315-625.

Rose-Hulman — 2. Sanders Park 74-70-144, 5. Travis Whithaus 74-75-149, 23. Kent Kraus 79-81-160, 30. John Rigitano 78-83-161, Chris Lambert 84-83-167, Jeremy Walters 80-88-168.

Next — Rose-Hulman has completed its fall season. Next competition is the Mount St. Joseph Invitational in March.


• Engineer women win — At Richmond, Rose-Hulman’s women completed the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference season with a 7-1 record, beating host Earlham 8-1 on Sunday.

A Wednesday match between Franklin and Transylvania will determine the Engineers’ seeding in the upcoming conference tournament.

Rose-Hulman 8, Earlham 1

Singles — Marie Stettler (RH) def. Olivia Engle 3-6, 7-5, 1-0 (10-3); Melissa Montgomery (RH) def. Claire Welsh 7-6 (7-4), 6-2; Paige Cook (RH) def. Jessica Childs 6-1, 6-1; Lauren Miller (RH) def. Joanne Huang 6-2, 6-1; Kylie McCollum (RH) def. Maya Cooper 6-0, 6-1; Lauren Reberger (RH) def. Stasia Vladimirova 6-4, 6-0.

Doubles — Engle-Welsh (E) def. Montgomery-Stettler 8-3; Cook-Koharuko Fujita (RH) def. Childs-Vladimirova 8-0; McCollum-Reberger (RH) def. Cooper-Huang 8-0.

Next — Rose-Hulman (10-2, 7-1 HCAC) competes in the HCAC tournament Saturday at Indianapolis.


• Rose-Hulman 3, Manchester 0 — At North Manchester, the Engineers rolled by scores of 25-15, 25-13, 25-19 on Sunday in Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference play.

Anna Lewer had 17 kills and a .517 hitting percentage to lead the way. Casey Levitt had nine kills; Kira Boswell and Sarah Jensen 14 assists each; Kate Dangel 14 digs and four aces; and Erika McGuire three aces.

Rose-Hulman, 14-7 and 3-1 in the HCAC, plays Thursday at Mount St. Joseph. Manchester is 10-13 and 1-4.

• Wichita State 3, Indiana State 0 — At Wichita, Kan., the visiting Sycamores were swept in Missouri Valley Conference play by scores of 25-17, 25-21, 25-14 late Saturday.

Christie Fullenkamp had 13 kills and five digs, Ashlen Buck had 14 digs and Loni Mackinson had 28 assists for ISU, now 3-14 and 1-6. The Sycamores host Drake and Creighton this coming weekend.

Wichita State is 13-5 and 6-2 in the MVC.

• Valley players help — At Vincennes, Vincennes University improved to 19-6 for the season by winning two of three matches at its own Showdown at the Wabash on Friday and Saturday.

In a win over Owens, ranked second in Division II, Katlyn Anderson of Terre Haute North had 26 digs and Kaylee Clark of Northview 19 digs and two aces. Lynsey Higgins of Clay City had seven kills and Anderson 15 digs in a win over Kellogg.

Auto racing

• Larson posts wins — At Pontoon Beach, Ill., Kyle Larson was a triple winner in U.S. Auto Club midget racing Saturday at Tri-City Speedway.

Larson won his qualifier, one heat race and led 40 turns — including the last seven — to win the 50-lap in the Gold Crown Midget Nationals.

Darren Hagen has a commanding lead in the midget point totals going into a Nov. 9 race in Arizona.


Saturday's results

Heat winners — Kyle Larson, Darren Hagen, Caleb Armstrong, Davey Ray, Rico Abreu (dash), Coons (B-main 1), Dave Darland (B-main 2).

Qualifier winners — Bryan Clauson, Larson, Jerry Coons Jr., Brad Sweet.

Feature — Larson, Coons, Sweet, Brad Kuhn, Abreu, Darland, Chris Windom, Tim Buckwalter, Tracy Hines, Ray.

USAC midget point leaders — Hagen 1,152, Hine 968, Clauson 924, Armstrong 831, Larson 791.

• Brenton. Wilson win — Dustin Brenton and Mike Wilson were two winners in racing Saturday at Crossroads Dragway.

Brenton posted his third straight win in super pro action while Wilson won in pro class. Other winners were  Chad Eaton and Amara Tewell.

Fun Night runs and a Pink Ladies race are slated for Friday with regular racing Saturday, time runs at 12:30 p.m.

Information is on Facebook, at or at (812) 229-2167.

Saturday's results

Super pro — Dustin Brenton of Rosedale, 1969 Nova, def. Derick Troxell of Seymour, 2003 Undercover; semis: John Moy.

Pro — Mike Wilson of Terre Haute, 1969 Nova, def. Tom Grover of Terre Haute, 1952 F-1; semis: Bill Lewis.

Sportsman — Chad Eaton of Paris, Ill., 1985 Monte Carlo, def. Nick Harlin of Danville, Ill., 1997 Camaro; semis: Austin Tewell, Bobby Higgins.

High school — Amara Tewell of West Terre Haute, S-10, def. Alan Grayless III of Terre Haute, 1989 Mustang.