News From Terre Haute, Indiana

July 16, 2013

METRO ROUNDUP: Post 346 game called off for Tuesday

Sectional times announced

Staff report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — The game scheduled tonight between Wayne Newton Post 346 and Danville, Ill. has been cancelled.

That means the Post 346 regular season has concluded with sectional play set to start Thursday at Terre Haute North.

Post 346 opens play against Sullivan at 7 p.m. Thursday. The sectional concludes on Sunday.

American Legion Baseball Sectional

At Terre Haute North


Game 1: Wayne Newton Post 346 vs. Sullivan Post 139, 7 p.m.


Game 2: Clinton Post 140 vs. Washington Post 121, 7 p.m.


Game 3: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, Noon

Game 4: Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser, 3:30 p.m.

Game 5: Game 3 loser vs. Game 4 loser, 8 p.m.


Game 6: Game 3 winner vs. Game 5 winner, 1 p.m.

Auto racing

* Thomas wins again — At Lawrenceburg, Kevin Thomas Jr. won his second straight Indiana Sprint Week feature in U. S. Auto Club racing Sunday at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Thomas led all but the first lap to win the 30-lap main with Dave Darland second and Brady Bacon third. Fifty-one were in qualifying runs.

Darland continues to be the leader in Sprint Week and USAC sprint totals going into Wednesday's race in Terre Haute followed by action at Putnamville, Bloomington and Haubstadt.

Sunday's results

Fast qualifier — Robert Ballou

Qualifying race winners — Chad Boespflug, Kevin Studley

Heat winners — Ryan Bernal, Shane Cottle, Chris Windom, Kyle Cummins, Wes McIntyre

Feature — Kevin Thomas Jr., Dave Darland, Brady Bacon, Cottle, Bryan Clauson, McIntyre, Justin Grant, Christopher Bell, Ballou, Richard Vander Weerd, Jon Stanbrough, Tracy Hines, Ted Hines, Hunter Schuerenberg, Jerry Coons Jr.

ISW point leaders — Darland 194, Thomas 166, Clauson 165, Cottle 157, Bell 149

USAC sprint point leaders — Darland 998, Clauson 934, Thomas 920, Bacon 875, Shuerenberg 860, Chase Stockon 845, Hines 800, Ballou 759, Cottle 622, Windom 568.


* City tee times announced — Tee times were announced Monday for the third round of the Terre Haute City Tournament. The tournament will begin Saturday at Rea Park and conclude Sunday at Hulman Links.

White Tees 1st Flight (172-195)

7:30 — Gunar Alumbaugh, Bob Jaynes, Ryan Nichols

7:40 — Bob Tetzlaff, Paul Thomas, Bryan Loomis

7:50 — Cam Lewellyn, Shawn Pepper, Will Buchanan

8:00 — Richard Taylor, Jake Smith, Ryan Bland, John Kusch

White Tees Championship Flight (152-168)

8:10 — Jim Jenkins, Dana Payne, Nate Morgan

8:20 — Eric Johnson, Gus Solomon, Mark Harvey

8:30 — Greg Livvix, Colton Kuppler, Steve Prevo

8:40 — Rodger Zimmerman, Chuck Adamson, Fred Modesitt, Steve Paquin

Blue Tees 4th Flight (172-192)

8:50 — Curt Phillips, Scott Johnson, Kevin McCrea

9:00 — Greg Greven, Jeff Lewellyn, Larry Fossi, Tom Bekkering

Blue Tees 3rd Flight (166-170)

9:10 — Sam Mimms, Ernie Goble, Jess Foury

9:20 — Chris Watkins, Preston White, Ryan Luce

9:30 — Elliot Booe, Abe Nasser, Mike Toney

9:40 — Scott Givens, Josh Greasor, Billy Alumbaugh, Sam Peoples

Blue Tees 2nd Flight (161-165)

9:50 — Trey Thomas, Russ Campbell, Logan Burdick

10:00 — Devon Klutey, Ken McVey, Derek Depuydt, Mark Neaderhiser

10:10 — Fred Reynolds, Ashley Matchett, Earl Elliott, Tim Mundy

10:20 — Dan Gmelich, Mark Bird, Ezra Evans, Bo Higgins

Blue Tees 1st Flight (156-160)

10:30 — Tom Rohr, Eddie Kanizer, Dave Alumbaugh

10:40 —  Denny Byram, Matt Payne, Steve Anderson, Jonathan Toews

10:50 —  Ernie Measch, Bill Verdeyen, Don Alumbaugh, Kyle Stevenson

Blue Tees Championship Flight (145-154)

11:00 —  Ryan Roscoe, Chris Keen, Chad Gann, Brandon Bekkering

11:10 —  Matt Davis, Stu Johnson, Dave Brown, Mike Wright

11:20 —  Jim Winning, Scott Hess, Chris Cassell, Ted Kaperak

11:30 —  Travis Turpen, Darrell Shouse, Tom Jones, Phillip Myers