News From Terre Haute, Indiana

February 23, 2013

Two Indiana State track athletes take MVC Indoor titles Saturday

The Tribune-Star

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa — Two Indiana State athletes were crowned champions on the first day of the 2013 Missouri Valley Conference indoor track and field championships with Maurice Lyke winning the men’s long jump for the second straight year and Felisha Johnson the women’s weight throw.

Lyke’s best distance was 24 feet, 7 inches, which was a career best and the third best in ISU history. Frankie Young holds the school record at 26-13⁄4, with Ron Smith second at 24-73⁄4. Indiana State’s Robert Webb was eighth with a distance of 23-03⁄4.

The nation’s leader in the women’s weight throw picked up her first MVC championship Saturday, winning the event with a distance of 74-01⁄4. The Sycamore senior finished third last year, second as a sophomore and was fourth as a freshman.

Dawnielle Passmore scored a point for the Sycamores in the women’s weight throw by finishing in eighth with a career best distance of 55-51⁄4. Katelyn Rutz placed 14th with a distance of 50-91⁄4.

Illinois State’s Brittany Smith, ranked fifth nationally in the weight throw, finished second at the MVC indoors with a distance of 68-8, while Southern Illinois’ Kim Fortney, ranked 24th in the nation, was third at 66-111⁄2.

With three women’s events completed in the MVC championships at the University of Northern Iowa, Wichita States led with 36 points with Illinois State second at 26 and Indiana State third with 20. With four men’s events scored, Southern Illinois led with 41 points with Indiana State second at 37.5 and Northern Iowa third with 26.

Kelly Steffen picked up ISU’s first all-conference recognition of the day as she finished third in the women’s pentathlon with a career-best 3,691 points, the second-best total in Indiana State history. Rachael Johnson also had a career best with 3,296, which ranks sixth on the Sycamore all-time list, and finished in the scoring in sixth place. Lizzy Herron competed in her first pentathlon and finished with 2,737, good for 11th place.

Wichita State’s Tanya Friesen won the pentathlon with 3,872 points and teammate Jenny Pinkston was second with 3,707.

Indiana State’s Robert Webb sits in third after the first day of the Heptathlon with 2,957 points. Four events were featured Saturday with the 60, long jump, shot put and high jump. The final three events will be run today, including the 60 hurdles, pole vault and 1,000 run.

Austin Bahner of Wichita State led after the first day with 3,186 points with Northern Iowa’s Ethan Miller second with 3,144.

ISU’s Dustin Betz ran to a third-place finish in an exciting end to the men’s 3,000 (8:22.27), while John Mascari finished fifth in 8:26.12 and Taylor Head 10th in 8:42.78. Zach Dahleen of Southern Illinois won the event in 8:20.38.

Jessica Zangmeister scored points for the Sycamores in the women’s 3,000 as she finished eighth with a time o 10:02.80. Wichita State’s Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton won with a time of 9:29.03.

Connor Curley, Drew LaMaster, and Wes Schenck each cleared 15-91⁄4 in the men’s pole vault, a career best of Schenck with Curley placed fourth, Schenck fifth and LaMaster tying for seventh. Southern Illinois’ Ryan Sidwell won the MVC title by clearing 16-51⁄4.

Brandon Pounds misfired on five of his six attempts in the men’s weight throw, finishing a disappointing seventh for the Valley leader heading into the MVC championships. Pounds only counted throw went 60-111⁄4. Chris Fields was the top Sycamore by finishing fifth at 61-51⁄2.

Sean Dennis was 10th with a career best distance of 59-7 with Derek Bunch 11th at 59-43⁄4 and Justin Applegate 14th at 57-2. Isaac Twombly of Drake was the MVC champion with a distance of 68-71⁄4.

ISU’s Katie Wise kept her winning streak alive in the women’s 60 preliminaries as she won the second heat in 7.51 seconds. Teammate Kaisha Martin was right behind in 7.61. Demetra Camble was second in the third heat with a time of 7.62 and all three will advance to the finals at 3:35 p.m. EST today.

Terre Haute North alumnus Shaun Smith continued to lower his time in the 60 and ran the seventh-fastest time in Indiana State history as he won the second heat the MVC Indoors in 6.80. Keith Housley was right behind in a career best 6.86 while Justin Baxtron also had a career best of 6.82 in finishing third in the opening heat. Devin Price was 11th overall and just missed qualifying for the finals with a time of 6.97.

Stacia Weatherford ran the fifth fastest 200 time in ISU history and advanced to the finals of the event at 4:15 p.m. today by winning her heat in Saturday’s preliminaries with a time of 24.63 seconds.

Katie Wise also advanced to the finals with a time of 24.96. Demetra Camble ran 24.79 in her heat but did not advance, finishing second to Printassia Johnson of Illinois State who won in 24.70.

Justin Baxtron and Keith Housley advanced to the men’s 200 final at 4:20 p.m. today as Baxtron won the second heat in 22.37 and Housley was second in the opening heat in 22.33. Shaun Smith finished 19th overall in 23.22 while Devin Price was 20th in 23.25.

Macey Black just missed an opportunity to advance to the finals in the women’s 400 as she ran 57.60 to finish second in the opening heat and 10th overall, just three-tenths of a second off of making the finals today.

Arqeil Shaw was the only Sycamore to advance in the men’s 400 and will run in the finals at 3:30 p.m. today after winning the sixth heat in 49.84. Max Tuttle was second in his heat but failed to advance on time even though he ran 49.84 in the prelims. Ryan Dickson finished 1 th overall in 49.92 with Kevin Piraino 18th in 50.38.

Leeann Michl and Shelby Higginbottom advanced to the finals of the women’s 800 with Michl winning the second heat in 2:15:36, while Higginbottom was second in the opening heat in 2:13.99. The finals will be run at 4:05 p.m.

The Sycamores had four in the men’s 800, but only Jonathan Jackson advanced to today’s 4:10 p.m. finals as he won the second heat in 1:54.70. Brad Adams just missed a spot in the finals as he placed ninth in the preliminaries (1:55.48) with Michael Steele 12th (1:55.72), and Corey Hahn 13th (1:55.88).

Stacia Weatherford lowered her school record time in the 60 hurdles as she advanced to the finals by winning the second heat in 8.47 seconds. Carmelia Stewart was fourth in that heat with a career best 8 .66 to advance to the 3:45 p.m. finals today. Jalencia Lemons had a career-best 9.04 to finish 16th overall, while Taylor Gilles ran 9.09 to finish 17th.

Greggmar Swift cruised to victory in the second heat of the men’s 60 hurdles with a time of 7.81 with Adarius Washington finishing second in the heat in 8.10 to also advance to today’s 3:55 p.m. finals. Duane Brown finished second in the first heat in 8.06 and also advanced. Jonathan Jackson just missed, placing ninth overall in 8.27 with Marcus Neely 14th in 8.55.