News From Terre Haute, Indiana

June 26, 2013

Little League All-Star action fast approaching in the Wabash Valley

David Hughes
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — You know the middle of summer is approaching when Little League District Four all-star baseball rosters and schedules start arriving at the Tribune-Star.

The Terre Haute South program doesn’t have enough players to field an all-star team in any age group, but Terre Haute North, West Terre Haute and Clinton teams are preparing for games next month.

Weather permitting, the 11-and 12-year-olds will begin with pool play July 8 and conclude with their championship game July 12. Terre Haute North, West Terre Haute and Clinton will vie for the title in that age group.

The same three programs will battle for district honors in the 9- and 10-year-old tournament, which also begins July 8 with pool play and ends July 11 with the championship game.

The district tourney for 10- and 11-year-olds will be a best-of-three series between Terre Haute North and Clinton, beginning July 15 and finishing either July 16 or July 17.

Joe Dunagan is beginning his first season as District Four administrator, having replaced Mike Howard.

“I hope the kids participating have a great experience,” Dunagan told the Tribune-Star.

“I hope the coaches enjoy this opportunity. It’s an exciting time to try to advance in the tournament, hopefully toward Williamsport, Pa. [for the 11-and-12-year-old all-stars].

“I hope I have no role whatsoever, other than to hand out the medals. I hope we have good weather and don’t have to worry about rescheduling rainouts.”

District Four All-Star tournaments


Pool play

July 8 — Terre Haute North at West Terre Haute, 8 p.m.

July 9 — West Terre Haute at Clinton, 8 p.m.

July 9 — West Terre Haute at Clinton, 6 p.m.

July 12 — Championship game (No. 2 seed at No. 1 seed), 7 p.m. (or 6 p.m. if it’s at Terre Haute North).


Best-of-three series

July 15 — Terre Haute North at Clinton, 6:30 p.m.

July 16 — Clinton at Terre Haute North, 6:30 p.m.

July 17 — Clinton at Terre Haute North (if necessary), 6 p.m.


Pool play

July 8 — Terre Haute North at West Terre Haute, 6 p.m.

July 9 — West Terre Haute at Clinton, 6 p.m.

July 10 — Clinton at Terre Haute North, 8 p.m.

July 11 — Championship game (No. 2 seed at No. 1 seed), 7 p.m.

District Four All-Star rosters


Terre Haute North — Players: Branden Atterson, Drew Bishop, Adam Craig, Braden Edington, Tristan Elder, Nathan Foxworthy, Max Glotzbach, Cayman Hayes, Ryne Hoopingarner, Kyler Hudson and Colten Panaranto. Manager: Dave Elder. Coaches: Jason Craig and Todd Atterson.

West Terre Haute — Players: Dane Andrews, Clae Burson, Conner Goodrick, Levi Helt, Branch Joy, Brett May, Logan Shepard, Jayden Stuck, Ethan Vinardi, Donnie West, Michael Wright and Colton Yates. Manager: Chris Burson. Coaches: Lenny Leclercq and Mike Rogers.

Clinton — Players: Bryce McLeish, Jarrett Roehm, Josh Roehm, Hayden Boatman, Baylen Cinotto, Brandonn Johnson, Layne Vicars, Spencer Lewis, Cooper Terry, Alexander Anderson and Andy Overpeck. Coaches: Terry Lewis and Kelcey Overpeck.


Terre Haute North — Players: Peter Christ, Jonathan Wyrick, Garrett Lawson, Peyton Dwyer, Cam Harden, Gage Manuel, Taneer Pittman, Max Harkness, Ethan Grayless, Caleb Purdy, Mathew Ramsey and Derek Foncannon. Manager: Chad Lawson. Coaches: Allan Harden and Chad Dwyer.

Clinton — Players: Peyton Westfall, Parker Crossley, Brice Gilman, Chandler Beaver, Austin Powell, Kaleb Fortner, Eli Eoyal, Isaac Wanninger, Brandon Rollins, Ryan Moore and J.T. Vitaniemi.


Terre Haute North — Players: Cody Bunch, Will Egger, Matt Gauer, B.J. Hopton, Ethan Knott, Case Lautenschlager, Caden Mason, Cade Moore, Caleb Morris and Jace Ross. Manager: Travis Mason. Coaches: Jay Knott and Scott Moore.

West Terre Haute — Players: Glenn Brock IV, Dylan Lemon, Trenton Broderick, Ethan Kesler, Nick Baker, Bryce Corbett, Shae Andrews, Ashton Matherly, Bryce Stateler, Nick Lindsey, Josh King, Griffin Mowrer and Chance Smith. Manager: Glenn Brock. Coaches: Dennis Kesler, Todd Lemon and Troy Corbett.

Clinton — Players: Mason Holland, Jaxon Mullins, Peyton Hawkins, Blake Boatman, Matt Goeppner, Caiden Santos, Connor VanLannen, Keegan Mackey, Joey Shew, Aiden Halterman and Leslie Long.