News From Terre Haute, Indiana

June 15, 2013

Metro roundup: Trio announced for Valley Hall of Fame induction

Staff report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Dr. David “Pudge” Bennett, Nick Mourouzis and Dick Ranard will be inducted into the Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association’s Hall of Fame at a banquet Friday in Hulman Center.

The ninth annual WVFCA All-Star Game will be June 22 at Memorial Stadium. The all-star teams report to practice Sunday.

Bennett, who has a grandson who will be a senior at West Vigo, coached the Vikings to a sectional championship in 1985 during a career that also included stints at Schulte, Lowell, Edinburgh, Boonville and Corydon. A graduate of Clinton High School and Indiana State, he played football and baseball for the Sycamores and didn’t stop playing baseball until he was 63, once in his youth playing against the legendary Satchel Paige. He’s currently retired from coaching, but has come out of retirement on three occasions, the last time to help Corydon to a semistate appearance in 2010.

Mourouzis coached 45 years, retiring in 2003 after 23 seasons at DePauw as the Tigers’ winningest coach ever. He played for John Pont at Miami of Ohio and was an assistant coach at Ohio University, Ball State, Indiana and Northwestern before compiling a 133-82-4 record at DePauw.

Ranard is a graduate of Union High School in Dugger and a 1972 Purdue graduate who coached at Edgewood, Bloomington North and Owen Valley, retiring from Owen Valley in 1994 with a 123-65-1 record. He was on the coaching staffs of the 1980 and 1993 North-South All-Star Games.


Youths compete — At Bloomington, several Wabash Valley players competed in the Indiana Golf Foundation’s Mountain Dew Tour event at Cascades on Friday.

In boys 17-19 play, Keegan Roembke of Brazil and Eamon Eccles of Jasonville tied for sixth with an 80, Ryan Baker of Terre Haute tied for 10th with an 84 and Andrew Behnke of Terre Haute was 12th with an 86.

In boys 15-16 competition, Jake Buis of Greencastle tied for fifth with a 78 and Lex Anderson of Terre Haute was 30th with a 98.

In girls 15-16 play, Ali Danielson of Terre Haute was 10th with a 96 and Alexandria Maris of Terre Haute was 15th at 109.

County Commissioners outings — At Idle Creek, the Vigo County Commissioners had both morning and afternoon outings Friday.

Morning gross

53 — Tom Ridge, Dave Ridge, Scott Ridge, Tom Gillam (first); Dave Patterson, Dave Myers, Jerry Netherlain, Gary Hosking (second).

55 — Jay Etling, Jim Runyan, Kevin Dean, Michael Menser.

Morning net

64 — Chad Overton, Don Moreland, Rick Bagnoche (first); Darren Smith, Floyd Burroughs, Bill McCormick, Sam Martin (second).

65 — Heath Stewart, Tim Seprodi, Andy Ciolli, Rob Schalburg.

Morning proxmimity winners

Closest to pin — Hosking (No. 3), T.Ridge (No. 9), Tom Jones (No. 12), Hosking (No. 16).

Long drive — Brad Utz (No. 15).

Long putt — John Farrar (No. 18).

Afternoon gross

51 — Jim Burdick, Tom Jones, Pat Monaghan, Tom Hunt.

53 — Mike Toney, Geoff Shuck, Bryan Phillips, Bill Burdine.

56 — Bill Bryan, Steve Lindsay, Bill Sipes, Steve Thompson.

Afternoon net

64 — Jeff Dossett, Brett Cating, Amy Cating, Frank Cating.

65 — Ray Sumner Sr., Ray Sumner Jr., Mike Jones, Shawn Reinhold.

66 — Greg Tucker, Todd Pancake, Dave Wells, Frank Wall.

Afternoon proximity winners

Closest to pin — Gary Denham (No. 3), Scott Taylor (No. 9), Bryan (No. 12), Don Hagen (No. 16).

Long drive — Jones (No. 15).

Long putt — A.Cating (No. 18).

Parke County Chamber of Commerce Classic — At the Parke County Golf Course, the Parke County Chamber of Commerce Classic was played last week.

57 — Old National Bank (Alex Milligan, Brian Cain, Dan Gmelich, Kyle Jacks).

63 — Fifth Third Bank (Tom Zimmerman, Dan Kerr, Dick Wallace, Jerry Monts); Employment Plus at Futurex (Greg Smith, Mark Eldridge, Brent Thompson, Alan Waldridge); Parke County Community Foundation (Brad Bumgardner, Rodney Pound, Kevin Jacks, Katie Small, Zack McCain).

Contest winners — Waldridge (putting), Small (longest drive), Mike Kiger (closest to pin), Pound (longest putt).

Auto racing

Bell posts win — At Putnamville, Christopher Bell won the second Indiana Midget Week feature on Thursday at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Bell led all the way to win the 30-lap main in the U.S. Auto Club event. Kyle Larson was fast qualifier in the 48-car field, won his heat and took second in the feature after winning the feature in the opener. He took a 14-point lead over Bell in the Midget Week point totals into Friday’s race at Bloomington Speedway.

Regular racing is slated for tonight at Lincoln Park Speedway.


Thursday’s results

Fast qualifier — Kyle Larson.

Heat winners — Davey Ray (qualifying race), Larson, Austin Brown, Darren Hagen, Steve Buckwalter, Bobby East (semi).

Feature — Christopher Bell, Larson, Brad Mason, Tracy Hines, Rico Abreu, Buckwalter, Andrew Felker, Brad Kuhn, Brady Bacon, Michael Pickens, Levi Jones, Bryan Clauson, Caleb Armstrong, Dave Darland, Dillon Welch.

Midget Week point leaders — Larson 142, Bell 128, Hines 122, Buckwalter 110, Felker 109.