News From Terre Haute, Indiana

October 4, 2013

Metro roundup: ISU cross country teams at Notre Dame Invitational

The Tribune-Star

SOUTH BEND — The Indiana State women’s team was 17th in the Notre Dame Invitational’s gold race, and the men’s team was 22nd out of a 27-team field that included nine nationally-ranked squads.

The Sycamore women were led by senior Jessica Zangmeister, who finished 33rd in a time of 18:27.4. Following Zangmeister was junior Nicole Lucas was 44th (18:40.0), senior Leeann Michl was 83rd (19:07.6), senior Kalli Dalton was 97th (19:19.9), freshman Sydney Dickerson was 145th (19:52.7), junior Lindy Jones was 164th (20:04.7), freshman Natalie Nolting was 183rd (20:29.8), and junior Amy Hicks was 195th (20:52.1)

“We didn’t turn that competitive effort like we thought we would today,” said Head Coach John Gartland. “We had good efforts by all the women. It was a little hot and humid, but that’s not excuse. They all had a little trouble breathing.”

Sophomore John Mascari led the way for the Sycamores, placing 16th overall in 24:47.7 for the 5-mile course. Sophomore Taylor Head placed 109th in 25:53.8, junior Tristan Selby placed 124th in 26:05.2, freshman David Timlin was 157th (26:25.2), freshman Andrew Kump was 161st (26:29.2), and sophomore Gabe Ocasio was 206th (28:39.4).

“I think John did exactly what we ask,” said ISU coach John McNichols. “Going into the race we knew we needed to find out where he was and he had to get out and run. The way this course is set up we have to go out very fast.”

“I mentioned in the pre-meet comments that this is a meet we have been disappointed with and here we are,” McNichols said. “I’ll have to sit down and analyze what happened and see our splits.”

Auto racing

n Abreu posts win — At Pontoon Beach, Ill., Rico Abreu won the feature race in U.S. Auto Club midget racing Thursday at Tri-City Speedway.

Abreu led all the way to win the main event in the first night of the fifth annual Gold Crown Midget Nationals. Bryan Clauson was second and Chris Bell third.

Thursday’s results

Heat winners — Jonathan Beason, Shane Cottle, Tanner Thorson, Chris Windom, Zach Daum, Colten Cottle (C-main), Brady Bacon (dash).

Feature — Rico Abreu, Bryan Clauson, Chris Bell, Daum, Darren Hagen, Kevin Thomas Jr., Alex Bright, Caleb Armstrong, Jerry Coons Jr., Shane Cottle, Brad Kuhn, Jake Blackhurst, Bobby East, Austin Brown, Thorson.