News From Terre Haute, Indiana

July 5, 2014

ROUNDUP: Clinton Post 140 improves to 14-3

The Tribune-Star

CLINTON — Clinton Post 140 won two American Legion baseball games in its own Fourth of July weekend tournament Saturday, defeating Crawfordsville Post 72 by a 7-3 score and Lafayette Post 11 by an 11-0 score.

Clinton    210    000    0    —    3    9    1

Crawfordsville    220    003    0    —    7    8    1

W — West, 3-1. L — Rice.

Highlights — For Clinton, Nathan Luft had a 2-run double and Conner Ganley and Jordan Branz each went 2 for 5.

Clinton    217    01    —    11    11    1

Lafayette    000    00    —    0    3    4

W — Branz, 1-1. L — Brewer. HR — C: Harden (4).

Highlights — For Clinton, Jake Harden went 2 for 3 with a homer, double and 2 RBIs; Jordan West went 2 for 4 with a double and 3 RBIs; and Ryan Scott went 2 for 3 with 2 RBIs.

Next — Clinton (14-3) will face Greene County at 11 a.m. today. The tournament’s championship game will take place at 4 p.m.


• Ace posted — At Mark’s Par Three, Joe Higginbotham aced the 128-yard 17th hole with an 8-iron Friday. Mike Briddick and Bill Turner were his witnesses.

Auto racing

•Coons posts win — At Putnamville, Jerry Coons Jr. won a U.S. Auto Club sprint car feature race on Friday at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Coons was on the pole for the feature but trailed Dave Darland after one turn. Coons led laps 2 through 25 and the last four to win. C.J. Leary was second and Shane Cottle third.

Other feature winners were Jimmy Hayden in modifieds, Doug McCullough in super stocks and Carlos Bumgardner in bombers.

Racing also was scheduled for Saturday at the track.

Friday’s results

USAC sprints

Fast qualifier — C.J. Leary.

Heat — Daron Clayton, Hunter Schuerenberg, Kevin Thomas Jr., Jon Stanbrough (semi).

Feature — Jerry Coons Jr., Leary, Shane Cottle, Bryan Clauson, Dave Darland, Stanbrough, Chad Boespflug, Tracy Hines, Chris Windom, Casey Shuman, Chase Stockon, Robert Ballou, Brady Bacon, Clayton, Schuerenberg.


Heat winners — Jimmy Hayden, Dan Lewellen.

Feature — J.Hayden, Lewellen, Kenny Carmichael, Wes McClara, Scott Ricketts, Gary Hayden, Jake Byers, Roger Cary, Josh McDaniel, Damon Harrell.

Super stocks

Heat winners — Travis Heramb, Kenny Fields.

Feature — Doug McCullough, Carmichael, McDaniel, Heramb, Paul Wright, Jonathon Newgent, Scott Carrington, J.R. Watkins, William Harris, Larry Babbs.


Heat winners — Carlos Bumgardner, Scott Tidwell, Kevin Kemp.

Feature — Bumgardner, Tim Wright, Tidwell, Tyler Neal, David Wallen, David Bumgardner, Blake Cross, Kemp, Cody Wright, R.J. Pruitt.

• Short wins — At Bloomington Speedway, Brady Short was a feature winner in Friday’s racing.

Short won the main event for sprint cars. Other winners were Derek Groomer in modifieds, Tyler Cain in super stocks and Luke Bland in hornets

Friday’s results

Sprint cars

Heat winners — Jeff Bland, Carson Short, Jordan Kinser, Nick Johnson (B-main).

Feature — Brady Short, Bland, Dickie Gaines, Bradley Sterrett, Bub Cummings, A.J. Hopkins, C. Short, Bill Rose, Ethan Barrow, Kody Kinser, Chris Babcock, Kent Christian, Johnson, Kevin Chambers, Jared Fox.


Heat winners — Derek Groomer, Stephen Schnapf, Greg Amick.

Feature — Groomer, John Demoss, Schnapf, Chad Combs, Amick, Roy Bruce Jr., Blake Davis, Clint Demoss, Jake Humphrey, Randy Tarter.

Super stocks

Heat winners — Aaron Fields, Jerry Adams, Lee Hobbs.

Feature — Tyler Cain, Fields, Jack Frye, Steve Hollars, Travis Howe, Adams, Travis Todd, Jim Pfeiffer, Aubrey Egan, Chip Slagle.


Heat winners — Greg Garrison, Matt Hamilton, A.J. Clark.

Feature — Luke Bland, Garrison, Hamilton, Jeremy Smith, Dan Smith, Clark, Mark Houston, Corey Prince, Chris Deckard, Allie Eagan.