News From Terre Haute, Indiana

April 3, 2013

North-South All-Star Basketball Classic to feature Wabash Valley talent, coaches

The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — A dozen Wabash Valley basketball players will compete in the 25th anniversary of the North/South Indiana All-Star Basketball Classic at Rose-Hulman.

The girls game will get the action started April 14 at Hulbert Arena at 2 p.m., while the boys game is to follow at 4 p.m.

Terre Haute North coach Todd Woelfle will coach the South boys team, which includes the Patriots’ Calvin Blank, Terre Haute South’s Jeffrey Turner, Linton’s Austin Karazsia and Rockville’s Lane Mahurin and Gary Ulrich.

The North boys team will include twin brothers Bryson Scott and Brenton Scott of Fort Wayne Northrop. Bryson will play at Purdue next year, while Brenton will play for Indiana State.

The South girls team will be coached by Terre Haute South’s Cara Stuckey. She’ll coach former South standout Tasia Brewer, Nicole Anderson of North, Jenifer Lee of Rockville, Taylor Turchi and Darby Martin of North Vermillion and Indiana State recruit Rhagen Smith.


North girls

Jenn Anderson (Westfield); Kelsi Byrd (North Montgomery); Katie Curtis (Lebanon); Andrijana Cvitkovic (Culver Academies); Bailey Farley (Fort Wayne Canterbury); Shelby Haggard  (Crawfordsville); Kelsey Key (Frankton); Kenzie Gustin (Pendleton Heights); Darby Martin (North Vermillion); Ariana Simmons (Fort Wayne South); Taylor Turchi (North Vermillion); Dakota Weatherford (Hamilton Heights).

Coach — Amy Brauman (Brownsburg)

South girls

Nicole Anderson (TH North); Tasia Brewer (TH South); Celeste Edwards (Indianapolis North Central); Ally Lehman (Indian Creek); Jill Morrison (Winchester); Jenifer Lee (Rockville); Shelby Merder (Jasper); Bridget Perry (Roncalli); Jessica Pongonis (Hamilton Southeastern); Sasha Robinson (Brown County); Rhagen Smith (Sullivan); Caitlyn Tolen (Benton Central).

Coach — Cara Stuckey (TH South).


North boys

VJ Beachem (New Haven); Steven Bennett (New Castle); Jaylon Brown (Fishers); Mike Crawford (Tipton); Alex Etherington (Hamilton Heights); Collin Hartman (Cathedral); Demetrius Jackson (Mishawaka Marian); Darius Latham (Indianapolis North Central); Brenton Scott (Fort Wayne Northrop); Bryson Scott (Fort Wayne Northrop); LaBradford Sebree (Kokomo); Clay Yeo (Triton)

Coach — Brian Satterfield (Hamilton Southeastern).


South boys

Darryl Baker (Jeffersonville); Calvin Blank (TH North); Devin Davis (Warren Central); Austin Karazsia (Linton); Lane Mahurin (Rockville); Blake Simmons (Castle); Jeffrey Turner (TH South); Zavier Turner (Pike); Gary Ulrich (Rockville); Michael Volovic (Carmel); Tony Wills (Ben Davis); Connor Wittmer (Loogootee)

Coach — Todd Woelfle (TH North)