News From Terre Haute, Indiana

August 1, 2013

Olds pitches Wayne Newton to win in state finals

The Tribune-Star

ST. LEON — Damon Olds allowed a first-inning run but nothing else Thursday night, and Wayne Newton Post 346 opened American Legion baseball state finals play with a 5-1 win over host St. Leon.

Pete Lannoo drove in two runs with a pair of singles, Jacob Johnson had a double off the left-field fence and Cody Thornton, Sam Wolf, Craig Peters and Zach Milam all added singles for the winners, now 35-10.

Wayne Newton plays Bristol at 4 p.m. today with T.J. Decker on the mound. Bristol was a participant in the Terre Haute Invitational back in June, but that was before the team got players from Class 4A state champion Elkhart Central.

In the other Thursday game, Princeton beat Crawfordsville 18-8. Princeton awaits the winner between Bristol and Post 346 at noon Saturday, while Crawfordsville and St. Leon meet in an exhibition game tonight.

Wayne Newton Post 346    020    010    011    —    5    7    0

St. Leon    100    000    000    —    1    5    4

W — Olds, 10-0. L — Martin.

Highlights — For Post 346, Pete Lannoo was 2 for 4 with 2 RBIs, Jacob Johnson 1 for 4 with a double, Sam Wolf 1 for 4 with an RBI, Cody Thornton and Craig Peters each 1 for 4 and Zach Milam 1 for 5. Damon Olds won his 10th game of the summer on the mound.

Next — Wayne Newton Post 346 (35-10) plays Bristol at 4 p.m. today.


• Rockville results — The 11th annual Rox Athletic Alumni reunion and golf outing was held recently at Parke County Golf Course.

Honorees for past success included Carol Lindsey, Rockville’s only Olympian who was a member of the 1984 team handball team, and the 1984 football team that had the first unbeaten regular season in school history.

Scholarship winners for 2013 — Taylor Vukovits and Nick Waltz — were recognized.

Morning golf winners

First-place team — Steve Nelson (1962), Russ Campbell, Jimmy Nelson, Stevie Nelson (1986)

Second-place team — Ryan Luce, Bob Kyle, Jim Foster, Ron Alabaugh

Longest drive — (women) Donna Gerrish Berry (1971), (men) Scott Williams, (senior) Campbell

$100 hole shot — Campbell and Phil Pickett (1969)

Poker golf — Dusty Jovanovich

Afternoon golf winners

First-place team — John Dowd (1964), Bob Alden (1964), Mike Hall (1963), J.P. Lucas (1965), E.Crosley (1965)

Second-place team — Marvin Stewart (1962), Jim Millar (1962), Butch Overpeck (1963), Bob Kuhn

Longest drive — (women) Debbie Spencer McKinney (1967), (men) Nathan Nolin (1998)

$100 hole shot — Brock McMullen (1977), Wes Federico (1999)

Poker golf — Melissa Stewart Buell (1988)