News From Terre Haute, Indiana

March 21, 2013

Linton's Karazsia gets state player of the week award

Staff Report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Linton senior Austin Karazsia was one of the three IBCA/Subway Player of the Week honorees from Indiana high school basketball this week.

Karazsia had 28 points and 14 rebounds Saturday as the Miners overcame Speedway 76-75 in overtime at the Class 2A Richmond Semistate to earn the first boys basketball trip to the state finals in the school’s history.

Other honorees for last weekend’s performances were Mike Crawford of Tipton, who had 40 points and 16 rebounds in a 67-64 Class 2A semistate loss to Bowman Academy — Linton’s opponent for the championship this weekend — and D.J. McCall of Fort Wayne Concordia, who had 20 points as his team also earned a state-finals berth with a 68-63 overtime win over Andrean at the Class 3A Warsaw Semistate.

n Marshall girls honored — Marshall’s girls team was honored recently, with three players breaking five school records and two of them achieving scoring milestones. Coach Kathy Miller was also named Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Co-Coach of the Year for Region 14.

Kaydie Grooms set records for most points in a season (559), most field goals in a season (215) and more free throws made in a season (129) for the 25-2 Lions. She scored her 1,000th point Jan. 19 against West Vigo and currently has 1,104 for her career, fifth on the all-time list.

Ariana Kuhn established a career record for assists (288) and also joined the 1,000-point club against West Vigo. She finished her career with 1,050 points, seventh-best all-time.

Breah Keim had 10 3-pointers in a game against Cumberland on Jan. 21 for another school record. Team awards were as follows.

Kaydie Grooms — Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, highest free throw percentage, chairwoman of the boards, MVP, all-Little Illini Conference first team, IBCA first team.

Ariana Kuhn — Most assists, all-LIC first team, IBCA honorable mention

Breah Keim — All-LIC first team

Cheyenne Thompson — Sixth man, all-LIC honorable mention.

Tonia Bishop — Hustle Award.

Kylie Gilbert — Most Improved.

Hannah Bender — Mental Attitude.

Abbie Switzer — Team Player.

n Warriors feted — The Casey boys team celebrated its 2012-13 season at a banquet recently.

School records set during the season included 18 free throws in a game and 593 points in a season by Brandon Wolfe, who currently is sixth all-time with 1,344 points, and 328 assists in a career by Zack Murphy, whose 125 during the season was fourth-best all-time;

Varsity — Jordan Brandenburg, Brandon Wolfe, Zack Murphy, Sam Huisinga, A.J. McNeil, Trivette Scales, Matt McCown, Shawn McCown.

JV — Beau Biggs, Eli Hawker, Issac Elkins, Corey Carver, Peyton Chism, Dylan Lawrence, Taylor Yocum, Darius Fisher, Trey Thompson, Matt Wade, Dale Miller.

Wolfe — All-LIC first team, special mention AP all-state, honorable mention IBCA all-state, Pizza Hut Wabash Valley Classic all-tournament team, Charleston Times-Courier all-area team, Emrich free throw award, Warrior Award (no missed practices or games), co-MVP.

Scales — All-LIC first team, honorable mention AP all-state, Times-Courier all-area team, LIC-NTC all-star game, co-MVP.

Murphy — All-LIC second team, LIC all-academic team, Warrior Award.

M.McCown — All-LIC second team, LIC-NTC all-star game, Warrior Award.

McNeil — all-LIC honorable mention.

S.McCown — Most Improved, Warrior Award.