News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Sports

November 7, 2012

Girls prep basketball preview: Panthers, Arrows ready for banner seasons

TERRE HAUTE — The length of the 2012-2013 girls high school basketball season can still be measured in hours, yet one of the more significant games in the Wabash Valley has already been played.

When Sullivan, ranked fourth in Class 2A, traveled to Riverton Parke on Tuesday to face Class A’s sixth-ranked team, it was a meeting of the Wabash Valley’s only two top-10 Indiana teams in preseason polls and probably the two who think most about ending their seasons in early March in Hulman Center, the site — for the second year in a row — of the girls state finals.

Coach Julie Meeks’ Golden Arrows are led again by 6-foot-2 Indiana State recruit Rhagen Smith and 5-2 Caelan Jones, who have started since their freshman seasons. They are seniors now, and when their team was moved down from Class 3A to Class 2A last season there were many around the Valley who had them pegged for a couple of trips deep into the state tournament.

“They were saying, ‘OK, this is a cakewalk,’ “ said Meeks — who knew better — recently. “Actually, last year we might have gone farther if we’d stayed in 3A.”

The Arrows are a defending sectional champion, but ran into the eventual state championship team — Evansville Mater Dei, a very young Evansville Mater Dei — at the regional. This year might be even tougher, with Mater Dei the preseason No. 1 team and three of Class 2A’s top five teams — including Sullivan — potentially meeting at the same regional.

To get there, the Arrows will have to beat an Eastern Greene team that opens the season ranked seventh.

But they might be able to do that, and win a regional — or more — as well.

“I feel we have a different team this year,” Meeks said. “A better team … a more experienced team, a better offensive team.”

Another returning starter is 5-2 senior Jaleigh Gilham, while 5-9 senior Cobie Harrison and 5-6 senior Sydney Chapman — the team’s defensive specialist — split a fourth spot. Depth comes from 5-4 junior Emily Cottom, a transfer from Terre Haute South, and 5-9 junior Jenni Wilkes.

“I’m hoping we come out hungry to win every night, but we want to be playing our best to be ready for the tournament,” Meeks said. “We want to win the sectional, then see how far we can go.”

Riverton Parke won the first basketball regional in the school’s history last winter, but there are no cakewalks in Class A either. At the semistate the Panthers ran into Fort Wayne Canterbury and its Division I recruits; the Cavaliers were on their way to their fourth state championship in five seasons, and have four double-figure scorers back from that team.

Riverton Parke wasn’t quite that fortunate at graduation, but that doesn’t mean the Panthers might not be even better by the end of the season themselves.

“We lost four seniors who were great role players,” coach Josh Douglass said recently, “but we have almost all our scoring back. The four seniors this year have changed the face of the program.”

One of those four seniors was the second future Missouri Valley Conference player in Tuesday’s game, 5-11 Sara Dickey. The versatile Dickey is in any discussion about the best athlete in Riverton Parke history, male or female, and can play any position or fill any role for the Panthers.

Her classmates are 5-8 Paige Yando, who outcompetes her size inside and on the backboards; 5-7 Kenzie Pollard, the team’s point guard; and 5-5 Kori Wood, another strong backcourt player.

The other five players in what Douglass expects to be a nine-player rotation could make the team better — and certainly bigger — however. Those players are 6-2 sophomore Rachel Austin, 6-2 junior Shelby Virostko, 5-9 junior Shelby Benell, 5-7 junior Emily Virostko and 5-6 junior Kelly Combs. Combs, out with an injury last year, was the leading junior varsity scorer as a freshman, and most of the others got some varsity time last season.

“We’ll be a work in progress at the beginning,” Douglass predicted, “but we’ve got height we haven’t had in a lot of years. We’ll be able to play teams in a lot of different ways and get a lot of different matchups.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Sports
UK_Mizzou_4-11-14_27_cw.JPG

A.J. Reed The University of Kentucky baseball team falls to Missouri 8-7 on Friday, April 11, 2014, at Cliff Hagan Stadium in Lexington, Ky. Photo by Chet White | UK Athletics

  • Immense power: A leaner A.J. Reed making play as elite prospect

    Reed took his talents to Kentucky and the Southeastern Conference in 2011 and hasn’t looked back in the baseball sense. After a standout career at Terre Haute South — he was Indiana’s Player of the Year in 2011 — area fans had an idea of the wind Kentucky was sowing when it coaxed Reed to Lexington, Ky.

    April 20, 2014 3 Photos

  • SPT041914track porter.jpg Terre Haute track and field athletes shine at Patriot Invitational

    The Terre Haute North and Brown County girls and boys came out winners Saturday in the Patriot Invitational Track and Field Meet at Terre Haute North High School.

    April 20, 2014 3 Photos

  • Metro roundup: Reed connects for 15th home run on four-hit day

    Terre Haute’s A.J. Reed and Kentucky baseball teammate Max Kuhn each had four hits and a home run to lead the No. 19-ranked Wildcats to a series-clinching 11-4 win at Southeastern Conference foe Texas A&M on a gorgeous Saturday afternoon in front of 5,311 fans at Blue Bell Park.
    Kentucky (26-13, 9-8 SEC) clinched the series victory at Texas A&M with the win, a day after posting a 6-3 victory in the opener Friday night.

    April 19, 2014

  • Prep roundup: North girls tennis beats ranked teams

    Terre Haute North knocked off two state-ranked teams — No. 12 Fort Wayne Canterbury and No. 13 Delta — on its way to capturing the Delta Invitational championship for girls high school tennis Saturday.

    April 19, 2014

  • ISU baseball drops second straight

    Indiana State’s baseball team rallied late in the game but could not get in front as the Canisius Golden Griffins held off the Sycamores 5-4 Saturday.
    ISU (24-12) will look to avoid being swept for the first time this season at noon EDT today when it plays the series finale against Canisius (22-13).
     

    April 19, 2014

  • Redneck Quaker: A young lady of the outdoors

    Where do I start to tell you about this 10-year-old outdoor lady? Let’s start with her own words from a nice letter she wrote.

    “My name is Lilly Hutchison and this year when I was nine and again hunting with my Papaw, Mike Burch, we got up way before daylight on opening morning of youth deer season. I was watching a 6-pointer for several minutes until a larger buck appeared and chased him off, but not giving me a shot at him. Papaw and I were preparing a place for our evening hunt when a couple of does came across the field right to us. I carefully placed my shot and she ran around 8 yards. That evening, we decided to go to our neighbors’ woods. On the way in, we saw a large buck watering in one of the few puddles in the creek. Papaw said we would wait nearby to see if he would come back. To our amazement, he did! I was fortunate to take this 10-pointer, 250-pound buck. I have had many great hunts with Papaw.”

    April 19, 2014

  • SPT041814THS BB jenkins.jpg Herrin's pitching effort leads South to win over Northview

    When two good high school baseball teams get together, each using one of its better pitchers, the margin for error figures to be slim, and some defensive plays that weren’t made were the difference Friday evening as Terre Haute South beat Northview 7-1.

    April 19, 2014 3 Photos

  • METRO ROUNDUP: Odum shines in Portsmouth Invitational

    Former Indiana State guard Jake Odum had a productive first night at the Portsmouth Invitational late Thursday.
    The Terre Haute native scored 16 points, had six assists and three steals for the Portsmouth Partnership team in its 88-81 victory over Cherry Bekaert.

    April 19, 2014

  • Stout home run sparks South softball at Sullivan

    Terre Haute South junior Mariah Stout made her father proud and helped her team win its eighth game of the season at the same time Friday evening.
    With the previously flat-looking Braves trailing host Sullivan 1-0 with two outs and nobody on base in the top of the second inning, Stout woke up her dugout mates by hammering a McKenzie Pirtle pitch over the fence in left-center field for a score-tying home run.

    April 19, 2014

  • ISU falls to Canisius in first of three-game road series

    The Indiana State baseball team fell behind early and never could get the lead as host Canisius posted a 3-1 victory in the opener of a three-game series Friday at Demske Sports Complex.
    The Sycamores (24-11) and Griffins (21-13) will meet again at 2 p.m. today, but the venue will switch to Dwyer Stadium in Batavia, N.Y. The same two teams also will play Sunday back at Demske Sports Complex in a noon start.

    April 19, 2014

Local Interest
  • METRO ROUNDUP: Waltman's funeral Saturday at Indianapolis

    Royce Waltman’s visitation will be from 2 to 4 p.m. Saturday at St. Luke’s Methodist Church at 100 E. 86th Street, Indianapolis.

    April 10, 2014

  • METRO ROUNDUP: Burnham leads Woods softball to wins

    After dropping a pair of games to Missouri Baptist on Wednesday, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods beat Lindenwood-Belleville 9-7 and 1-0, both games in eight innings, on Thursday afternoon.
    Sarah Burnham’s seventh-inning homer in the first game tied the score 4-4, and the Pomeroys took a 5-4 lead later in the inning on an RBI double by Brooke Jordan before the Lynx tied the score in the bottom of the inning.

    March 21, 2014

  • METRO ROUNDUP: ISU softball splits pair in Florida

    Pitching dominated Tuesday’s opening day of play in the Rebel Spring Games for the Indiana State softball team, which defeated Bucknell 2-0 before falling 2-0 to Creighton.
    “The girls did a great job in the first game getting a couple runs,” ISU coach Shane Bouman said. “We leaned on [sophomore] Yvette Alvarez who pitched really well. We probably got as much as we could out of her and probably should have changed earlier so put that on me. We have a couple little things we can clean up and get a little better and we will be ready to go tomorrow.”

    March 11, 2014

  • Tony Dungy, wife Lauren signing books today in Terre Haute

    Former NFL coach Tony Dungy and his wife, Lauren, are at Sam’s Club in Terre Haute today, Feb. 12, signing books until about 1:30 p.m.

    February 12, 2014

  • Vigo County Jail Log: Feb. 7, 2014

    The following individuals were booked into the Vigo County Jail by area law enforcement on Thursday, based on jail records.

    February 7, 2014

High School
College
UK_Mizzou_4-11-14_27_cw.JPG

A.J. Reed The University of Kentucky baseball team falls to Missouri 8-7 on Friday, April 11, 2014, at Cliff Hagan Stadium in Lexington, Ky. Photo by Chet White | UK Athletics

  • Immense power: A leaner A.J. Reed making play as elite prospect

    Reed took his talents to Kentucky and the Southeastern Conference in 2011 and hasn’t looked back in the baseball sense. After a standout career at Terre Haute South — he was Indiana’s Player of the Year in 2011 — area fans had an idea of the wind Kentucky was sowing when it coaxed Reed to Lexington, Ky.

    April 20, 2014 3 Photos

  • METRO ROUNDUP: Odum shines in Portsmouth Invitational

    Former Indiana State guard Jake Odum had a productive first night at the Portsmouth Invitational late Thursday.
    The Terre Haute native scored 16 points, had six assists and three steals for the Portsmouth Partnership team in its 88-81 victory over Cherry Bekaert.

    April 19, 2014

  • ISU falls to Canisius in first of three-game road series

    The Indiana State baseball team fell behind early and never could get the lead as host Canisius posted a 3-1 victory in the opener of a three-game series Friday at Demske Sports Complex.
    The Sycamores (24-11) and Griffins (21-13) will meet again at 2 p.m. today, but the venue will switch to Dwyer Stadium in Batavia, N.Y. The same two teams also will play Sunday back at Demske Sports Complex in a noon start.

    April 19, 2014

  • SPT041614 SMWC jordan.jpg Saint Mary-of-the-Woods sweeps doubleheader over Rose-Hulman

    Over the years, defeating its crosstown rival has not usually been easy for Saint Mary-of-the-Woods or Rose-Hulman when they’ve met in college softball.
    But on Wednesday afternoon at The Woods, the home team made its doubleheader sweep look easy to first-year coach Mark Feller with five-inning decisions of 10-0 and 11-1.

    April 16, 2014 3 Photos

  • SPT 030714 ODUM 02O'LEARY.jpg Terre Haute North grad O'Leary to transfer from Loyola

    Matt O’Leary is one of three men's basketball players at Loyola recently granted a release from his scholarship from the Missouri Valley Conference school.
    The former Terre Haute North standout told the Tribune-Star he doesn’t yet know his next move.

    April 16, 2014 3 Photos

Sports Columns
Pro Sports
Terre Haute Rex
SPT 041614 ROSSELLI REX.jpg

Tribune-Star/Joseph C. Garza Expanding the fan base: Bruce Rosselli, manager of the Terre Haute Rex, displays the team's new slogan, Wabash Valley's Own, during a press conference on Wednesday at Clabber Girl.

Colts
Auto Racing
bb8991b19af8b067e44478c_.jpg

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Raw: Obamas Attend Easter Service Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Small Reactors Could Be Future of Nuclear Energy Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity
Real Estate News