News From Terre Haute, Indiana

February 21, 2013

Goals, Pride & Achievements

News Release

TERRE HAUTE — Indiana State University student Cody Eslick, a senior construction management major from Terre Haute, was awarded a $500 scholarship from the Asphalt Pavement Association of Indiana.

The not-for-profit organization represents the asphalt paving industry in the state. The organization includes 75 contractors, asphalt services providers and other firms as members.

“The Asphalt Pavement Association of Indiana has recognized the accomplishments of our students, and it is an honor for our students to receive these awards from a professional trade organization such as APAI,” said Bradford Sims, dean of the College of Technology at Indiana State. “These awards reflect the strength of the students we have graduating from our technology programs at Indiana State.”

Eslick was one of six Indiana State students to receive a scholarship from the organization. They were recognized at APAI’s Annual Hall of Fame and Scholarship Banquet during the organization’s winter conference.

“Our students are immediately ready to contribute to the industry once they graduate,” Sims said. “These awards are indicative that organizations and employers in the industry are extremely supportive of our professional programs.”


Stephanie Jeanette Fogel-Culp of Terre Haute recently made the Academic Achievement List for the 2012 fall semester at Siena Heights University in Adrian, Mich.

To make the list, students must achieve a minimum 3.5 grade-point average out of a possible 4.0. The academic achievement list is for part-time student with at least six and no more than 11 credit hours.

Siena Heights University is a Catholic university founded and sponsored by the Adrian Dominican Sisters.

Siena Heights is a coeducational North Central accredited institution founded in the liberal arts tradition with degree completion centers in Southfield, Benton Harbor, Monroe, Battle Creek, Lansing, Jackson and online.


Anderson University has announced its dean’s list for the fall semester of 2012-2013 academic year. Students included in the dean’s list are Hing Sing Chan, Aaron Joseph Hoff and Sarah Marie Russell, all of Terre Haute.


Grace Callahan of Terre Haute was named to the University of Dayton dean’s list for the fall semester of the 2012-13 academic year. To be named to the dean’s list at UD in Ohio, a student must achieve a superior academic record, which is a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.


Terre Haute student Adam Austin has been honored at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tenn., for academic achievement during the fall semester 2012.

Austin, a Terre Haute South Vigo High School graduate and marketing major, has been placed on the honor roll.

At the end of each semester, students who achieve a grade average of 3.5 to 3.99 are named to the honor roll.