News From Terre Haute, Indiana

March 10, 2010

Illinois students excel in James Jones essay contest

Special to the Tribune-Star

MARSHALL, Ill. — Each year, the James Jones Literary Society, an international organization, sponsors a contest for seniors from Crawford County high schools and Marshall High School. Students write an essay on the short story “The Valentine” by Marshall’s Handy Colony founder James Jones. Participating schools this year are Marshall, Palestine and Robinson high schools.

First place winners are awarded $75, second place receives $50 and third place receives $25. Two honorable mention winners complete the top five of each school. Winners are also presented with a certificate denoting their placement. Contest chairperson and finals judge is Diane Reed of Robinson. Nancy Claypool, Jones Society Board Member and director of Marshall Public Library, recently awarded the prizes to the Marshall High School winners.

Marshall’s winners are: first place, Adrienne M. Strohm; second place, Sienna Youngblood; third place, Gabrielle Kuhn; and Honorable Mention, Bobbi Jo Kendall and Cody Martin. Robinson’s winners are: first place, Paisley Mitchell; second place, Devin Kearns; third place, Rachel Vermilya; and Honorable Mention, Bailey Knust, Chris Emken, and Peri Tullock. Palestine’s winners are: first place, Shelby Clements; second place, Rachel Stout; third place, Jenson Martin; and honorable mention, Stephen Beatty and Austin Moraga.

For more information about the James Jones Literary Society or The Valentine essay contest, please contact Nancy Claypool at Marshall Public Library or go to