News From Terre Haute, Indiana

November 23, 2012

Turkey Run High School honors fall athletes


---- — The Turkey Run High School Fall Sports Banquet was Oct. 30 in the cafeteria. Athletes from the fall sports of cross country, football, volleyball, tennis, dance and cheerleading were recognized.

Athletic director Grant McVay opened the program and then introduced the cross country team members. This is the first time since the 1980s that Turkey Run has had a cross country team. Runners were Ellie Ashley and Luke Gill.

Special honors for volleyball were presented by Sondra Clendenin to Linda McFarland (coach’s award) and Kendall Davies (Most Valuable Player award). Davies was also named to the All-Wabash River Conference team.

Also on the volleyball squad were Kaleigh Basan, Chelsie Wood, Jessica Paddock, Shelby Crum, Kelcie Basan, Jordan Goddard, Abby Lutz and Adessa Fox.

Sara Stumpf earned the Mental Attitude Award for the junior varsity volleyball squad. Other members of the squad included Hannah Stumpf, Abby Awbrey, Courtney Jones, Ashley Blacketer, Tayler Crowder, Alex Emery, Morgan Harbison, Angie McFarland and Baily Pribble. The junior varsity team was coached by Kori Leatherman.

Members of the Dance Team were introduced by coach Anita Delp. They are Chelsie Wood, Hannah Smith, Hannah Delp, Liz Shaffer, Linda McFarland, Louise Corselli, Morgan Sliz, Cassidy Stevens, Chaylee Chaplain, Tiffany Land, Tayler Crowder, Angie McFarland, Ashley Smith, Becca Brand and Courtney Jones.

Cheerleaders recognized were Linda McFarland, Becca Brand, Morgan Harbison, Tayler Crowder, Angie McFarland, MacKenzie Whitlow, Ashley Smith, Courtney Jones, Tiffany Anderson and Abby Lutz. They are coached by Tina Jacks.

Football coach Steve Stewart presented the Warrior Award to the senior players Jeff Woods, Jeff Girdler, Riley Sunderman, Cody Jones, David Catterson and Dallas Thomas.  Woods and Girdler were all named all-conference. Sunderman and Thomas earned honorable mention all-conference honors.

There were 10 freshmen on this year’s squad. They are Nate Hagele, Chayne Bollinger, Jacob Pefley, Tyler Davis, Jacob Budd, Dean Bunting, Donivan Fale, Walker Uplinger, Jacob Ferguson and Drew Ferguson.

Sophomore team members were Rodney Carver, Dakota York, Mat Cory, Noah Nevins and Tyler Girdler. Tyler Linthicum, Garret Wittenmyer, Alexander Harbison and Howie Hix were the juniors. The managers were Madison Galey, Dakota Zelonis, Katie Kooinga and Bobbie Jones.

The banquet was sponsored by the Turkey Run Booster Club.