News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

Opinion Columns
  • LIZ CIANCONE: Nothing like the silence of a winter snowfall

    I’m not a big fan of cold and snow, but …

    December 16, 2013

  • MET 121313 01WORKOUT.jpg Raising the bar

    Around coffeeshops, kitchen tables and office watercoolers, Hoosiers have cussed and discussed the federal health care law.

    December 14, 2013 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Thanks to those who go ‘extra’ mile

    Many an old movie will show you a newsboy … he’s standing on a corner or in the middle of a block yelling, “Extra, extra, read all about it!”

    December 13, 2013

  • RONN MOTT: Christmas 2013

    Sitting on the front porch in my favorite chair, I began to count the buds and flowers on the Christmas cactus that is on the porch all year. The legend is it will bloom for Christmas and true to the legend this cactus has bloomed consistently around the Christmas season. I counted 40 buds and flowers and I stopped when I reached 40 with more left on the plant. I guess without hesitation that means Christmas is for sure about to arrive.

    December 12, 2013

  • RONN MOTT: Seeds from the same tree

    Mahatma Gandhi, who was born in India before the turn of the 20th Century, went to England to study law and decided to settle in South Africa, and he did for 20 years. His work in South Africa was involved in the right of his Indian neighbors to have equal access to civil rights. He also worked for the indigenous people as well. When the people of India became restive during the early days of World War I, Gandhi came home.

    December 10, 2013

  • MS. TAKES: Important date passes by without much notice

    Recently we were asked to share our memories of the Kennedy assassination. Folks were interviewed for television or radio, or were asked to recall exactly what they were doing when they got word that our president had been murdered.

    December 9, 2013

  • RONN MOTT: A friend celebrates his 90th

    I went to Charlie Fox’s 90th birthday party Sunday last. He was standing greeting people as they came in the door. I never saw him sit down even one time. He looked more like a man celebrating his 60th rather than his 90th.

    December 6, 2013

  • RONN MOTT: Cigars

    Leaving Baesler’s Market the other day, making my round of errands, I started to re-light my cigar. It was left over from the day before and I did not place it in the humidor. It had gotten too dry, so I threw it into my garbage sack asking myself the question, “Why do I do this?” Well, I do it because I enjoy it.

    December 5, 2013

  • MARK BENNETT: Walk of Fame inductee would stand tall in any era

    Unlike most of us, Amory Kinney didn’t let the wall around his comfort zone grow taller as time passed.

    December 4, 2013

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats, Inc.

    I suppose we should give her a cake and a candle, but she would be happier with a handful of “treats” you can find wherever you shop for groceries. I’m talking about the two-year anniversary of the first cat we adopted. If we had known there were going to be more, her name probably would have been different. She was Orange Crush, a small, bedraggled, starving, Golden Tabby female that wandered into our yard a little after Thanksgiving. She had been badly maltreated.

    December 3, 2013 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Plenty of downsides to tree with candlelight

    I had been spinning my wheels over Thanksgiving preparations the other day, so my Best Friend took me out for breakfast — a little luxury I never tire of. Our friend, Bill, stopped by our table to offer holiday felicitations and the conversation turned, as it often does this time of year, to Christmas.

    December 3, 2013

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Plenty of downsides to tree with candlelight

    I had been spinning my wheels over Thanksgiving preparations the other day, so my Best Friend took me out for breakfast — a little luxury I never tire of.

    December 2, 2013

  • slick3.jpg MARK BENNETT: ABA’s record proves Bobby Leonard’s a legit Hall of Famer

    Bobby Leonard symbolized the feisty competitive flair of the old ABA.

    November 30, 2013 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park Christmas Walk always a special event

    Since I live right across the street from Collett Park, I enjoy very much this particular neighborhood. And since I have walked around it a few times, I’m familiar with the 0.8 of a mile it takes to walk around the park. The Christmas Walk is a walk around the neighborhood. There were approximately 15 homes involved and open to the public this year

    November 29, 2013

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Rule Changes

    Watching the beginning of a new basketball season reminds me of my attempt to play basketball in high school. On the B-team, at a township high school my freshman and sophomore years, I fouled out of a great many basketball games.

    November 28, 2013 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: A Hornet’s Nest

    I seem to have kicked over a hornet’s nest in my criticism of the American health care system.  
    The basic fact of the matter is this: We do not have, in America, the highest-rated health care system. We are not in the top 10, nor top 20, but somewhere in the middle 30s. Yet we pay more for our health care than any other nation in the world.

    November 26, 2013 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Mourning a death is a personal exercise

    One does not properly “celebrate” an assassination, but it certainly doesn’t hurt to be reminded that there are a lot of nuts out there. Coverage this past week of the anniversary of the Kennedy assassination still has the power to disturb, but all the theories won’t undo the facts.

    November 26, 2013

  • MARK BENNETT: Letter from coach’s young daughter put pro sports, Christmas in perspective

    Most of us sympathize with people forced to work on Thanksgiving and Christmas.
    That list is growing, now that Black Friday has morphed into Black Thursday, causing retail employees to join doctors, nurses, hospital staffers, police, firefighters, emergency responders, military members, convenience store clerks, road crews and media to spend holidays at work. Ideally, we’ll feel gratitude when we require their services on those special days. Too often, their sacrificed time gets taken for granted.
    Terry Leonard wanted the executives to remember her dad, and their family, at Christmastime.
    And, amazingly, they listened.

    November 23, 2013

  • THOMAS L. STEIGER: Cultural tendencies are what unite and divide us

    For the last 10 days a story has been circulating on the Internet adapted from the original source in Tufts Magazine.

    November 23, 2013

  • Ronn Mott: Memories of long ago Thanksgivings

    Like many youngsters growing up in this part of Indiana, the holidays were always something full of good times and, of course, going to Grandma’s house.

    November 23, 2013

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: I remember

    Someone said the other day everyone remembers where they were the day John Kennedy was shot. I certainly do.

    November 21, 2013 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Too Much

    I’ve been very fortunate, so far, in my lifetime. I’ve not been hit with any major disease that could, ultimately, kill me. I’ve only been under the knife twice and neither operation was life threatening … tonsils and a kidney stone too large to extract in a normal way.

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: The greatest invention ever? Frozen orange juice

    We were talking the other day and someone posed the question: “What do you think has been the greatest invention of all time?”

    November 19, 2013

  • MET 110913 BIRD CONF.jpg Larry’s Lessons: On a beautiful fall day at Hulman Center

    I attended the unveiling of the Larry Bird statue on Saturday, Nov. 9, and found the proceedings to be wonderful.

    November 17, 2013 3 Photos

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: 95th

    Nov. 7, 1918, was a few days before the war to end all wars actually ended. It was 95 years ago. The last veteran who fought in that war has passed away. The growth America took after that war also has passed away and so did Prohibition, ending the sale of alcoholic drinks and giving birth to what became known as “organized crime.”

    November 14, 2013 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: The Bully

    The mess the Miami Dolphins find themselves in is a simple case of bullying. The man who would like to be rather “incognito,” Richie Incognito, is not. The entire world knows about him now and his bullying may have been sanctioned by his Miami Dolphins’ football team.

    November 12, 2013

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Even mild forecast can give you the shivers

    The local weather report the other evening included a bit of folklore. Our weather guru said that the story is that if snakes have not crawled off to winter quarters by late October, we were in for a mild winter.

    November 12, 2013

  • 79 west vigo baseball.jpg MARK BENNETT: A degree of success

    Determination to get that diploma Larry Bird’s deepest bond with fellow ISU alums, students

    November 9, 2013 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Obama ‘stubs toe’ — and worse — so far on Affordable Care Act

    Abraham Lincoln, after losing the race for the available Senate seat (National Senate), was asked by a reporter how it felt. Mr. Lincoln said, “I feel like a sixteen-year-old boy who has just run across a field and stubbed his toe on a rock. It hurts too much to laugh and I’m too old to cry.” President Obama has run into a similar situation. He certainly has stubbed his toe on the rock of his administration, The Affordable Care Act.

    November 8, 2013

  • RONN MOTT: ‘My team lost’

    My team lost. The team I have been a fan of since 1946 lost the World Series.  
    I’m surprised they did as well as they did. The St. Louis Cardinals limped into the final seven games of baseball this year with perhaps the best young pitching staff, but everything else fell rather flat. Two power hitters and one was hurt early in the Series, which left only one power hitter … not enough to beat the booming Bosox.

    November 7, 2013

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Miley Cyrus Still in Hospital, Cancels 2nd Show Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Raw: Urinator Causes Portland to Flush Reservoir Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Raw: Three Rare White Tiger Cubs Debut at Zoo Hoax Bomb Raises Anxiety in Boston Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Today in History for April 17th Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast
NDN Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity