News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

December 16, 2012

MARK BENNETT: For some people in the Wabash Valley, happy holidays require a little help

Picture yourself as a kid, not yet 5 years old, growing up in a small house in Terre Haute.

You’re not unusual. About 3,373 youngsters that age live in this city. That’s what the Census Bureau and its American Community Survey says. The faces you know, though, are Mom, your kid brother, the kids in the apartment next to yours, the daycare ladies and the kids there, and Grandma and Grandpa. You remember Daddy’s face. He brought you a Happy Meal and a toy truck on your birthday last summer. Your mom says you’ll see him more soon.

That’s not unusual. About 2,575 families have a single mom or single dad raising their kids at home, alone. That’s what the Census people say.

Your favorite time of the day is breakfast, when your mom lets you pour the Toasted Oats cereal, and then the milk. You’re brother is too little to do that; he’ll spill everything, she says. Some mornings, she eats with you and your brother.

Sometimes she doesn’t, and says she’s on a diet. When the clock numbers say 7:45, your mom zips up your Jimmie Johnson jacket — that’s your daddy’s favorite NASCAR driver — and walks you and your brother down the sidewalks to the daycare. Then she walks to work at the drive-thru restaurant.

That’s not unusual. About 3,782 people walk to work in Terre Haute, and about 2,883 have those kinds of jobs. That’s what the Census people say.

After Grandma picks up you and your brother, she waits in the drive-thru parking lot till your mom gets done working and drives you all home. Sometimes you leave your Jimmie Johnson jacket on, especially when your mom can’t push the button on the wall to make the house warmer, because “we can’t afford it this week.” But she starts the heater on the floor that glows (and smells a little funny), and that helps.

That’s not unusual. About 275 homes in the city heat with kerosene. The Census people figured that out.

Sometimes, your mom laughs when you or your brother talk about Christmas, and she tells the story about Grandma finding a bird’s nest in the Christmas tree after Grandpa brought it home from the tree farm and put it up in their house. Your tree doesn’t need water, like that one did. It’s pretty, though. It has ornaments with pictures of your mom when she was little, and some with you and your brother. One has her and your daddy on it. Sometimes, she cries about Christmas because “things are really tight,” though you don’t know what that means. She wants to get “a GED” and then go to college and be an accountant, because she loved her math classes in high school.

That’s not unusual. About 5,917 adults in Terre Haute don’t have a high school degree. Census people know that.

When Christmas finally gets really close — “Just a few days to go,” your mom says — she smiles a lot more. People from a church and some “club” helped “make sure we could have a good Christmas,” you hear her tell her friend on the phone.

A few days later, on the morning of Christmas Eve, three people carrying a big box of groceries ring the doorbell and hand your mom the food — ham, stuffing, pumpkin pies, bread, milk, potatoes, butter, rolls, noodles, macaroni and cheese, cans of vegetables and sweet potatoes, and even some Little Debbie snack cakes. They brought fun books, too, like one your mom remembers by a “Doctor Soos.” The people who carry the basket are all smiling, even though it’s still dark outside. They say, “Merry Christmas,” walk to their pickup truck and drive off.

Now your mom is doing both — smiling and crying. That’s not good, she says, because her “mascara runs” and she looks funny, and has to be at work in 30 minutes. She makes a crazy scary face, and you and your brother laugh. She puts the groceries in the fridge — it looks so full — and wipes her face with a tissue. Then she zips up your Jimmie Johnson jacket, bundles up your little brother, and all three of you walk down the steps to the sidewalk.

“Next Christmas will be better,” she says.

You don’t understand. You’re happy right now. Tomorrow is Christmas.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Shave

    I recently saw a television pitch man explain the virtues of the single blade in what appeared to be an old-fashioned safety razor. He was explaining we didn’t need three blades in a razor, or five, or six, and how many more are we going to get with the razor to get that perfect shave? He urged us to use only one.

    April 22, 2014

  • MET 081213 MILL TREES.jpg MARK BENNETT: Living the dream

    Earth Day receives its share of under-your-breath criticism.

    April 19, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Raw: Man Fatally Shot During Police Standoff Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Raw: Tesla Delivers First China Cars 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Raw: Sinkhole Swallows Part of Fla. Yard Raw: Royal Couple Tours Uluru in Australia Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: MN Lakes Still Frozen Before Fishing Opener Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting Hong Kong Residents Help Create Green Roofs Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
NDN Video
Viral: It's Not Pitbull - It's Amy Poehler! Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Jenna Dewan-Tatum Strips Down Rise of the Milkbots TRENDING: Brian Williams Raps 'Gin and Juice' on ‘Tonight Show’ Middle School heroes rescue students from burning bus WHOPPER OF FISHING STORY: Florida man catches massive Mako shark Maks Chmerkovskiy's "DWTS" Meltdown The many faces of Mike Woodson Ape Builds A Fire And Toasts Marshmallows In Amazing BBC Video Manchester Utd sack manager David Moyes "RHOA's" Dramatic Brawl High school, College Drug Ring Busted In Montgomery County High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Raw: Keflezighi, Jeptoo Win Boston Marathon Teen hitchhikes in wheel well of flight from California to Hawaii Lindsay Lohan's Jaw-Dropping Secret President Sends Message To Boston And Marathon Runners LA Pastor Attracts Churchgoers with Pot Lauren Stoner Shows Off Her Incredible Bikini Body
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity