News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

November 29, 2012

RONN MOTT: Christmas is a’ coming

As I glide through the September of my years, Christmas doesn’t mean as much to me, personally, as it used to. But I’m one grouchy old man who loves the holiday, even the things about it that are not true.

Jesus, of course, was not born in December … I think by now everybody knows that. It was Christianizing an old Roman holiday and making it the celebration of Christ’s birth. But I don’t care. The holiday is so huge all over the world that if it brings a little joy to a dark spot, to quote Charles Dickens, “Merry Christmas.”

Some Christmases stand out in my mind, almost all of them when I was a small boy. One year I wanted to leave cookies for Santa and my mother told me she didn’t have any cookies, maybe I would like to leave Santa a half-grapefruit. So, I did. Christmas morning Santa had left me a note which was read to me (I was about three) by an older cousin. The note said, “Ronnie, I hope you enjoy all the toys Santa left for you. You have been a good boy and I hope you will be a good boy next year as well. Sincerely, Santa Claus. P.S. Santa doesn’t like grapefruit.” (It would be years before they would get me to eat grapefruit after the denial from Santa Claus. It would also be years later when I would learn my parents had been having a little fun-filled spat and this was Mother’s trick on Father with the help of her young son.)

About that same time, I must have been near five so it would be the Christmas when I was four and a half, everybody who asked me what I wanted, I said, “drums.” And at least three people gave me bass drums. I was very noisy in the yard, in the house, pounding on my new drums. In the next six months, we moved from Newport to Clinton and one of the drums developed a slit in the drumhead and the other two fell off the truck in the move, or at least that’s what I was told. No one ever mentioned the missing drums, and no one ever bought me another drum.

It was the Christmas of 1945 that all of my relatives bought me toy soldiers. (I was famous amongst my family for collecting many toy soldiers, and that Christmas somebody even bought me German soldiers for my large contingent to have an enemy. That was also the Christmas when I got my first bicycle, and that sense of freedom a bicycle gives you was just as great at age nine that driving a car gives you at age 16.

One Christmas that could have been a disaster was saved by a few hockey players. It was the  Christmas that my two daughters had collectively decided Santa was a fantasy and I didn’t have to do it anymore. The wife and I decided to keep the mystery alive … everything would be wrapped and only I, Father Christmas, would know what presents went to what person.

At the time, among other things, I was the voice of the Sioux City hockey team. And the weekend before Christmas, the holiday was on a Wednesday, I would be with the team broadcasting their games in Green Bay, Wisconsin, Calumet, and Marquette, Michigan.

The hockey club flew the team and its broadcaster in its C47, a type of plane that would later become infamous for going down with the entire University of Evansville basketball team. Coming out of Marquette, Michigan, we learned of a huge winter storm that was many miles wide and many miles high. It was too far to fly around and too high to fly over. So, we set down in Minneapolis and were sequestered at a local Holiday Inn.

For the guys who were single, which was the majority of the hockey team, it was fine. But some of us needed to get back to Sioux City before Christmas Day. After the storm had passed and buried us in snow, five of us rented a car and headed home. It was a difficult drive back. At 5:10 Christmas morning, we pulled up in front of my house and when my foot hit the front porch steps, the light in my daughters’ bedroom went on. By less than minutes, I had made it back so I could hand out the gifts that only I knew to whom they belonged. That was a rather fulfilling Christmas even though I made it by the hair on my chinny-chin-chin.

I look forward to the decorations, I look forward to the music, which I have always loved, and while we celebrate the birth of the Christ Child and peace on earth, even though we rarely get to celebrate a full peace, it’s still something to look forward to.  

We know it won’t be this year, but maybe next. Maybe.

Ronn Mott, a longtime radio personality in Terre Haute, writes commentaries for the Tribune-Star. His pieces are published online Tuesday and Thursday on Tribstar.com, and in the print and online editions on Saturday.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Shave

    I recently saw a television pitch man explain the virtues of the single blade in what appeared to be an old-fashioned safety razor. He was explaining we didn’t need three blades in a razor, or five, or six, and how many more are we going to get with the razor to get that perfect shave? He urged us to use only one.

    April 22, 2014

  • MET 081213 MILL TREES.jpg MARK BENNETT: Living the dream

    Earth Day receives its share of under-your-breath criticism.

    April 19, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Raw: Man Fatally Shot During Police Standoff New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Raw: Royal Couple Tours Uluru in Australia Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Raw: Tesla Delivers First China Cars Raw: MN Lakes Still Frozen Before Fishing Opener
NDN Video
Lupita Nyong'o Named People's 'Most Beautiful' Stephen Colbert Tells David Letterman His Plan for 'Late Show' Georgetown police officer filmed tripping students Viral: It's Not Pitbull - It's Amy Poehler! Recycling Highlights for Earth Day Peeps Launched into Outer Space NYPD's Twitter Request For Photos Backfires New HBO Go Commercials Capture Awkward Family TV Watching Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Rise of the Milkbots Jenna Dewan-Tatum Strips Down TRENDING: Brian Williams Raps 'Gin and Juice' on ‘Tonight Show’ Middle School heroes rescue students from burning bus WHOPPER OF FISHING STORY: Florida man catches massive Mako shark Maks Chmerkovskiy's "DWTS" Meltdown The many faces of Mike Woodson Ape Builds A Fire And Toasts Marshmallows In Amazing BBC Video Manchester Utd sack manager David Moyes "RHOA's" Dramatic Brawl High school, College Drug Ring Busted In Montgomery County
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity