News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

September 8, 2013

MARK BENNETT: This Little Light: Remote chapel keeps a light shining on story of Flight 93

SHANKSVILLE, Pa. — Father Al explained the meaning of the lamp. He asked me to light it.

The reverence in his voice offset the raspiness, left by his latest battle with cancer. Clearly, he saw this place as special.

He began building the Flight 93 Memorial Chapel just weeks after a courageous uprising by passengers and crew members foiled terrorists’ plans to crash one more hijacked airliner into a symbolic American target, the U.S. Capitol Building in Washington, D.C. Through discreet, back-of-the-plane phone calls to loved ones and emergency operators, the flight attendants and travelers learned other suicide hijackers had already crashed airliners into the Twin Towers in New York and the Pentagon in Washington. With the pilot and co-pilot already killed or incapacitated, the survivors decided to fight back, rushed the cockpit and battled the terrorists for control of the plane. The passengers’ determination forced the criminals to crash United Airlines Flight 93 into a sparse, grassy field in western Pennsylvania, 20 minutes short of al-Qaeda’s goal — the Capitol, the “People’s House,” the hub of the United States’ government.

That story motivated the Rev. Alphonse Mascherino for the rest of his life.

Wednesday marks the 12th anniversary of the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks that killed 2,977 people.

Each year, in different ways, Americans remember those who died that day. Through the Flight 93 Memorial Chapel, Mascherino remembered the 40 aboard — pilots, flight attendants and passengers — in a lasting way.

This week’s 9/11 observance will be the first without Father Al presiding over a ceremony in the small nondenominational chapel on a country highway, down the road from the crash site near Shanksville, Pa. Cancer claimed his life on Feb. 15 at age 69.

His modest idea to create a place to honor those 40 heroes filled an important corner in the nation’s collective memories. Mascherino took out a loan and sold his coin and antiques collection to buy an abandoned Lutheran church and turn it into a shrine. A lumber company owner donated building materials and labor, and it opened in March 2002. Families of the crew and passengers donated loved ones’ personal items. Visitors contributed military and religious symbols, and keepsakes connected to 9/11. A blacksmith, a friend of Father Al’s, made the lamp, representing the loss, sacrifice and freedom linked to Flight 93.

“The flame that burns within represents liberty and freedom that God gave to us when he created us; we hold these truths self-evident,” Mascherino told me on a warm afternoon in the summer of 2011, when I visited the 9/11 crash sites with my wife and daughter. “The light has been handed over to us, protected by the heroes, preserved and handed over to us, and now we have to keep it lit to pass it on to those who come after us.

“Since May of 2002, people from all over the world have lit that light,” he added, before cranking down the lamp and handing me the lighting candle.

Indeed, as the country approached the high-profile 10th anniversary in 2011, more than 300,000 people had visited the chapel, usually on their way to the actual crash site, now the Flight 93 National Memorial, a national park. The chapel has no official link to the memorial, overseen by National Park Service rangers and a team of volunteer local tour guides known as the Ambassadors. And though a few disagreements have arisen — such as a plan by Father Al and a Pittsburgh architect to move the chapel closer to the memorial and seek donations for a $10-million expansion — the chapel and the national park complement each other in telling the Flight 93 story. As Mascherino’s health faded, he passed guardianship of the chapel to Archbishop Ramzi Musallam of the Catholic Church of the East, according to the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review. Last month, Musallam told the Somerset Daily American he’ll keep the chapel right where it is.

With all due respect to Father Al’s plan, the chapel fits in its place.

It fits in a place some would call “out in the sticks,” at the corner of Stutzmantown and Coleman Station roads, 2.6 miles from Shanksville. The harrowing struggle unfolding inside a jetliner on a quiet Tuesday morning in September ended in a field over the hilly ridges to the north. Forty average people, most of whom did not know each other, who thought they were on their way to sunny California, used the final minutes of their lives to prevent a yet more grave disaster.

Al Mascherino decided to devote his life to telling their story, honoring their bravery, and remembering its potential good.

As a man of faith who experienced his own conflicts with his church hierarchy, he saw something significantly open-hearted in those heroes’ actions. Within days after 9/11, he recalled in 2011, “We heard they had prayed onboard Flight 93. They prayed before they rose up against the attackers. They also prayed with one of the 911 operators. I think they prayed the Lord’s Prayer. They didn’t have time to say to each other, ‘What church do you belong to?’ They prayed together. And that expression of faith, to me, was inspirational. That’s where they got the courage and strength to do what they had to do.”

The chapel is a reminder of that, Mascherino said, “like a continual regeneration of the story of Flight 93.”

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: We’re not only ones ready for springtime

    During the most recent of our numerous descents into polar temperatures, I was astounded to see a dozen or more robins up to their ankles in snow. They were fluffed out to about twice their normal size. I suppose that was an effort to provide a bit of feathered insulation against the cold.

    March 10, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Miley Cyrus Still in Hospital, Cancels 2nd Show Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Raw: Urinator Causes Portland to Flush Reservoir New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Small Reactors Could Be Future of Nuclear Energy Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence
NDN Video
Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Don't Be A Tattletale: Bad Bullying Tips For Students Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday The trillest thoughts on marijuana "RHOA" Star Charged With Battery Grizzly Bears Get Snowy Birthday Party Weatherman draws forecast when another technical glitch strikes WGN Elizabeth Olsen's Sexy Shoot Bay Area Teen Gets Prom Date With Help From 'Breaking Bad' Star Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Behind The Tanlines Jersey Strong Part 1 WATCH: Women Fight To Marry Prince Harry! Jenny McCarthy Engaged to "New Kid" Kate and Will Land in Oz O’Reilly Launches Preemptive Strike Against CBS Pixar Unveils Easter Eggs From its Biggest Movies Baby Sloths Squeak for Their Cuddle Partners in Adorable Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity