News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

August 12, 2012

MARK BENNETT: Seasons of Change

Early start of classes here looks old-school compared to ‘balanced calendars’

TERRE HAUTE — Calendars, seasons and traditions aren’t so tightly bound these days.

Major League Baseball finished its World Series in November twice in the past three seasons. If that happened in the 1970s, Reggie Jackson may have been called “Mr. October-November.” Presidential election cycles begin the day after the inauguration. Christmas displays hit stores the day after Halloween. Black Friday now begins on Thursday.

Does anybody really know what time it is?

Speaking of time, it may be time for the Webster’s Dictionary review panel to adopt a new word that embraces the seasonal blending …

Sumautumn.

“Summer” vacation ends Tuesday for many Indiana school kids, including those in Vigo County. The Aug. 14 start date for classes is the earliest locally since at least 1975, and maybe ever. The doors open 40 days before summer officially turns into fall on Sept. 22.

Early as that seems, a growing number of school districts around the state are already in session, part of a trend toward “balanced calendars.”

Such schedules involve summer breaks of seven or eight weeks, with two-week breaks in the fall, winter and spring. The wave has hit numerous school systems in central and southern Indiana. Those include parts of Indianapolis and Marion County, Brownsburg, Franklin Township, Milan, South Dearborn, Brown County, New Castle, Avon, Lanesville, Southern Hancock and New Albany-Floyd County. (The Indiana Department of Education no longer tracks school calendar formats, so a comprehensive list is unavailable.)

The trend “is kind of gaining some steam,” said Steve Morris, a former Terre Haute resident and now superintendent of Lanesville Community Schools, which has used balanced calendars for the past nine years. The first bell rang there on July 26. Other “balanced” schools began classes the first week of August.

The cause of that momentum remains murky.

“For the life of me, I don’t know why,” said Terry Spradlin of the Center for Evaluation and Education Policy (CEEP) at Indiana University in Bloomington. “There doesn’t seem to be any new research.”

Indeed, the concept of “year-round” schooling (as balanced calendars were once called) began in California but has since waned there. Those schedules are used in various parts of the country, and as recently as 2008, 30 states had one or more balanced districts. The virtues cited by its proponents include less lost learning over the shorter summer vacation, improved student and teacher attendance, more opportunities for structured remediation, and less expensive travel dates for working families.

Balanced calendars “certainly seem like something that has become very popular, but the reasons vary by district,” said Maggie Hoernemann, superintendent of Avon Community School Corp.

Watching the

neighbors

The popularity in Indiana appears to involve a domino effect. When one school district adopts a balanced calendar, neighboring school corporations feel the impact. Bordering school systems often share resources in cooperative programs, such as vocational or special education. Families with children participating in those programs outside their home district face a difficult choice when districts’ calendars no longer align — transfer, or go without those unique courses.

Such border pressure merely tips the scales, though, for districts leaning toward a balanced calendar.

The Community School Corp. of Southern Hancock County shared vocational-ed and special-ed programs with neighbors who recently changed to balanced schedules. So, Southern Hancock changed, too, starting this fall. Still, Superintendent James Halik sees crucial advantages to the new calendar beyond uniformity with surrounding schools.

Near the top of his list is improved attendance.

In the past, teachers and students often took off the Friday prior to Southern Hancock’s traditional one-week spring break, Halik said. As that routine became entrenched, the district added that Friday as a day off. Students and teachers then began taking Thursday off before the break. “Now, they’ve got two full weeks at spring break, and it will help our attendance, and we’re graded on our attendance,” Halik said, referring to state school accountability ratings.

Better attendance “is crucial,” Hoernemann confirmed.

“We have wonderful substitute teachers who do a great job,” she added, “but it is not the same as a teacher assigned to those young people.”

In terms of student attendance, CEEP released a study last month showing that barely 25 percent of pupils in grades 6-8 who missed 18 school days or more per year ended up graduating from high school. As Woody Allen once said, 90 percent of success is just showing up.

Getaways refresh

The two-week breaks at fall, winter and spring offer additional pluses, according to the balanced-calendar districts.

Extended breaks reduce teacher burnout, they contend. Hoernemann hopes her staff utilizes the time off. “This fall, I’d really like our teachers and our principals to take that two-week break,” she said.

“I can say it’s been wonderful to go on vacation in October,” said Morris, in his ninth year at Lanesville. “The weather is great, and the rates are really reasonable.”

Those non-peak travel seasons in fall, winter and spring also allow working parents of students cheaper options for family getaways. Many employers’ prime production months occur in summer, such as construction companies, and limit the number of employee vacations during those slots, Halik said. “This is more applicable to real-world, everyday life,” Halik added. “If we don’t change and shift with the times, we’re just not going to make it, and a balanced calendar definitely fits to the working mom and dad.”

The two-week breaks — known as intercessions — give districts a chance to provide immediate remedial classes for at-risk kids. Many use the first week of those breaks for half-day remediation. Teachers volunteer to work those shifts, but get paid fully, Morris said. Of course, the down side is that everyone participating in those extra-time classes misses out on time off.

“That’s really the only negative [of balanced scheduling] I’ve been able to see,” Morris said, “and that’s not really insurmountable.”

High-schoolers taking spring Advanced Placement tests could lose break time, too. With AP tests looming in May, they may need to study through that two-week “vacation.” “It’s very conceivable those students are going to be working through their spring breaks,” Hoernemann said.

Despite the quirks, balanced calendars got solid support in parent surveys, Halik and Hoernemann explained. Faculty and students favored the move, too. “They love our balanced calendar,” Halik said.

Tradition still favored

Not everyone is convinced, though.

Another movement seeks to expand, not reduce, Indiana schools’ summer breaks. Save Indiana Summers wants school start dates to stop creeping earlier and earlier into August. In addition to losing be-a-kid time in summer, the organization sees other negatives from shorter summer breaks — lost opportunities for teens to get jobs, and child-care complications. Recent attempts to get state legislators to enforce a later start have failed. Save Indiana Summers spokeswoman Tina Bruno said the group has amended its call for a post-Labor Day start of classes, and now targets the fourth Monday in August.

If that happened in the 2012-2013 school year, the 180-day calendar could end on June 7.

Instead, students in Vigo County begin classes Tuesday and keep at it until May 30, 2013. In between, they’ll have multiple holidays and breaks on a calendar similar to those of previous years. A four-day weekend in October. Three days at Thanksgiving. Two weeks at Christmas. A week for spring break. Three Fridays off in May, if snow days aren’t used.

The topic of a balanced schedule has come up, said Ray Azar, Vigo County School Corp. director of student services, “but it’s never gone beyond a discussion stage.” With passionate opinions on both sides, he added, “We’ve tried to have a happy medium, and that’s where we are.”

Thus, the 74 days of summer vacation are about to come to an end, kids. Any way you slice it, the school year has 180 days. Use it wisely.

Mark Bennett can be reached at (812) 231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • MET071614band.jpg MARK BENNETT: Are you ready for some oom-pah along the banks of the Wabash?

    Any time I hear Curtis Mayfield’s “Superfly,” the sound transports me to 1973, when that classic song bubbled from my parents’ car radio on the drive to Sheridan Park for my youth football games.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Son has a knack for rescuing lost birds

    I think the excitement of last week is over — for now. It all began when Number One son opened the door to a storage area and found a small bird, very much alive. Because my family likes to talk in a soothing voice to all animals, Number One assured the little guy that he was not to worry. “I’ll take you back outside so you can find your family.” Oddly enough, the little bird calmed down and sat quietly in our son’s hand until he put it down outside.

    June 17, 2014

  • tsBennett MARK BENNETT: Dad-to-dad advice

    Giving unsolicited advice is like offering somebody else your toothbrush, because it’s worked so well for you.

    June 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Looking back on yet another birthday

    I have a birthday this week. And, I suppose that like some of you, I tend to look back over the lifespan to reflect on how it has been going.

    June 13, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Tony Awards

    The opening of the Tony Awards saw Hugh Jackman hopping down Broadway, into the theatre, down the aisle, a big leap onto the stage, then back stage and back out to start the show … all the time hopping like the Wolverine that he is.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: An American Soldier

    The cover of Time magazine this past week had a picture of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl, and emblazoned under the picture were the words, “WAS HE WORTH IT?” And the answer is … YES!

    June 10, 2014 1 Photo

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Raw: Massive Explosion in Gaza City US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Bodies of Malaysia Jet Victims Leave Ukraine New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence
NDN Video
CDC Director Warns Of A World Where Antibiotics No Longer Work Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad Jimmy Kimmel Introduces His Baby Girl Swim Daily, Nina Agdal in the Cook Islands Guilty Dog Apologizes to Baby for Stealing Her Toy Prince George Turns 1 and is Already a Trendsetter Train Collides With Semi Truck Carrying Lighter Fluid Kanye West Tells-All on Wedding in "GQ" Interview Tony Dungy Weighs in on Michael Sam Scarlett Johansson Set To Marry In August New Star Wars Episode XII X-Wing Revealed Obama: Putin must push separatists to aid MH17 probe Michigan inmates no longer allowed to wear orange due to 'OITNB'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity