News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

August 12, 2012

MARK BENNETT: Seasons of Change

Early start of classes here looks old-school compared to ‘balanced calendars’

TERRE HAUTE — Calendars, seasons and traditions aren’t so tightly bound these days.

Major League Baseball finished its World Series in November twice in the past three seasons. If that happened in the 1970s, Reggie Jackson may have been called “Mr. October-November.” Presidential election cycles begin the day after the inauguration. Christmas displays hit stores the day after Halloween. Black Friday now begins on Thursday.

Does anybody really know what time it is?

Speaking of time, it may be time for the Webster’s Dictionary review panel to adopt a new word that embraces the seasonal blending …

Sumautumn.

“Summer” vacation ends Tuesday for many Indiana school kids, including those in Vigo County. The Aug. 14 start date for classes is the earliest locally since at least 1975, and maybe ever. The doors open 40 days before summer officially turns into fall on Sept. 22.

Early as that seems, a growing number of school districts around the state are already in session, part of a trend toward “balanced calendars.”

Such schedules involve summer breaks of seven or eight weeks, with two-week breaks in the fall, winter and spring. The wave has hit numerous school systems in central and southern Indiana. Those include parts of Indianapolis and Marion County, Brownsburg, Franklin Township, Milan, South Dearborn, Brown County, New Castle, Avon, Lanesville, Southern Hancock and New Albany-Floyd County. (The Indiana Department of Education no longer tracks school calendar formats, so a comprehensive list is unavailable.)

The trend “is kind of gaining some steam,” said Steve Morris, a former Terre Haute resident and now superintendent of Lanesville Community Schools, which has used balanced calendars for the past nine years. The first bell rang there on July 26. Other “balanced” schools began classes the first week of August.

The cause of that momentum remains murky.

“For the life of me, I don’t know why,” said Terry Spradlin of the Center for Evaluation and Education Policy (CEEP) at Indiana University in Bloomington. “There doesn’t seem to be any new research.”

Indeed, the concept of “year-round” schooling (as balanced calendars were once called) began in California but has since waned there. Those schedules are used in various parts of the country, and as recently as 2008, 30 states had one or more balanced districts. The virtues cited by its proponents include less lost learning over the shorter summer vacation, improved student and teacher attendance, more opportunities for structured remediation, and less expensive travel dates for working families.

Balanced calendars “certainly seem like something that has become very popular, but the reasons vary by district,” said Maggie Hoernemann, superintendent of Avon Community School Corp.

Watching the

neighbors

The popularity in Indiana appears to involve a domino effect. When one school district adopts a balanced calendar, neighboring school corporations feel the impact. Bordering school systems often share resources in cooperative programs, such as vocational or special education. Families with children participating in those programs outside their home district face a difficult choice when districts’ calendars no longer align — transfer, or go without those unique courses.

Such border pressure merely tips the scales, though, for districts leaning toward a balanced calendar.

The Community School Corp. of Southern Hancock County shared vocational-ed and special-ed programs with neighbors who recently changed to balanced schedules. So, Southern Hancock changed, too, starting this fall. Still, Superintendent James Halik sees crucial advantages to the new calendar beyond uniformity with surrounding schools.

Near the top of his list is improved attendance.

In the past, teachers and students often took off the Friday prior to Southern Hancock’s traditional one-week spring break, Halik said. As that routine became entrenched, the district added that Friday as a day off. Students and teachers then began taking Thursday off before the break. “Now, they’ve got two full weeks at spring break, and it will help our attendance, and we’re graded on our attendance,” Halik said, referring to state school accountability ratings.

Better attendance “is crucial,” Hoernemann confirmed.

“We have wonderful substitute teachers who do a great job,” she added, “but it is not the same as a teacher assigned to those young people.”

In terms of student attendance, CEEP released a study last month showing that barely 25 percent of pupils in grades 6-8 who missed 18 school days or more per year ended up graduating from high school. As Woody Allen once said, 90 percent of success is just showing up.

Getaways refresh

The two-week breaks at fall, winter and spring offer additional pluses, according to the balanced-calendar districts.

Extended breaks reduce teacher burnout, they contend. Hoernemann hopes her staff utilizes the time off. “This fall, I’d really like our teachers and our principals to take that two-week break,” she said.

“I can say it’s been wonderful to go on vacation in October,” said Morris, in his ninth year at Lanesville. “The weather is great, and the rates are really reasonable.”

Those non-peak travel seasons in fall, winter and spring also allow working parents of students cheaper options for family getaways. Many employers’ prime production months occur in summer, such as construction companies, and limit the number of employee vacations during those slots, Halik said. “This is more applicable to real-world, everyday life,” Halik added. “If we don’t change and shift with the times, we’re just not going to make it, and a balanced calendar definitely fits to the working mom and dad.”

The two-week breaks — known as intercessions — give districts a chance to provide immediate remedial classes for at-risk kids. Many use the first week of those breaks for half-day remediation. Teachers volunteer to work those shifts, but get paid fully, Morris said. Of course, the down side is that everyone participating in those extra-time classes misses out on time off.

“That’s really the only negative [of balanced scheduling] I’ve been able to see,” Morris said, “and that’s not really insurmountable.”

High-schoolers taking spring Advanced Placement tests could lose break time, too. With AP tests looming in May, they may need to study through that two-week “vacation.” “It’s very conceivable those students are going to be working through their spring breaks,” Hoernemann said.

Despite the quirks, balanced calendars got solid support in parent surveys, Halik and Hoernemann explained. Faculty and students favored the move, too. “They love our balanced calendar,” Halik said.

Tradition still favored

Not everyone is convinced, though.

Another movement seeks to expand, not reduce, Indiana schools’ summer breaks. Save Indiana Summers wants school start dates to stop creeping earlier and earlier into August. In addition to losing be-a-kid time in summer, the organization sees other negatives from shorter summer breaks — lost opportunities for teens to get jobs, and child-care complications. Recent attempts to get state legislators to enforce a later start have failed. Save Indiana Summers spokeswoman Tina Bruno said the group has amended its call for a post-Labor Day start of classes, and now targets the fourth Monday in August.

If that happened in the 2012-2013 school year, the 180-day calendar could end on June 7.

Instead, students in Vigo County begin classes Tuesday and keep at it until May 30, 2013. In between, they’ll have multiple holidays and breaks on a calendar similar to those of previous years. A four-day weekend in October. Three days at Thanksgiving. Two weeks at Christmas. A week for spring break. Three Fridays off in May, if snow days aren’t used.

The topic of a balanced schedule has come up, said Ray Azar, Vigo County School Corp. director of student services, “but it’s never gone beyond a discussion stage.” With passionate opinions on both sides, he added, “We’ve tried to have a happy medium, and that’s where we are.”

Thus, the 74 days of summer vacation are about to come to an end, kids. Any way you slice it, the school year has 180 days. Use it wisely.

Mark Bennett can be reached at (812) 231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Today in History for April 18th Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity