News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

November 30, 2013

MARK BENNETT: ABA’s record proves Bobby Leonard’s a legit Hall of Famer

TERRE HAUTE — Bobby Leonard symbolized the feisty competitive flair of the old ABA.

His spirited coaching turned the Indiana Pacers into that innovative, long-lost league’s one true dynasty. Because the ABA lacked a national TV contract, much of America never saw “Slick” swirling in his loud sports jackets on the sidelines, hollering directions to talented players such as Mel Daniels, Roger Brown, Bob Netolicky, George McGinnis, Freddie Lewis and Billy Keller. As a kid, I listened to Pacers broadcasts, night after night, on transistor radio. Occasionally, they would play “home games” away from their regular court in Indianapolis — the State Fairgrounds Coliseum and then Market Square Arena — and I got to see them in person in Hulman Center, including a matchup with Julius “Dr. J” Erving and the New York Nets.

Those who left the ABA off their radar missed something special.

For the life of me, I can’t understand why the red-white-and-blue league got disrespected so much for so long, compared to the establishment NBA. The ABA guys could go toe-to-toe with the NBA’s best. In fact, they did. In preseason NBA-ABA exhibition games played from 1971 until the two leagues merged in 1976, ABA teams won 79 games, compared to 76 by the NBA teams. That includes a 118-115 Pacer victory over Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and the Milwaukee Bucks in ’74.

Leonard led Indiana to three ABA championships.

He belongs in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame at Springfield, Mass. Every NBA coach with more than two titles is in the Hall. Slick should be, too. Not only did he win those championships in a star-studded league — the ABA roster included Dr. J, Moses Malone, George Gervin, Rick Barry, Spencer Haywood, Connie Hawkins, Artis Gilmore, Dan Issel, Billy Cunningham and the aforementioned Pacer greats — Leonard also guided the franchise through the biased merger with NBA that nearly put the Pacers and the three other ABA surviving teams in long-term financial straits.

Again, Slick should be in the Hall.

The Terre Haute native offers some vivid recollections of those days in his new book, “Boom Baby! My Basketball Life in Indiana.” Some of his most colorful stories revolve around the rivalry between the NBA and the upstart league. Particularly, with former Boston Celtics coach and front-office exec Red Auerbach. There was no love loss between them. In “Boom,” Leonard recalls coaching Baltimore in the NBA against Auerbach’s Celtics. After Auerbach sent an enforcer into the game to rough up Baltimore standout Terry Dischinger (also a Terre Haute native), Leonard said he strode up to the Boston bench and told Red to “get [Jim Loscutoff] off of Dischinger or I’m going to beat your butt.”

Years later after Leonard enjoyed championship success on the Pacers sidelines, Auerbach dissed him in a Sports Illustrated story, calling him a “bad coach.” Their personal rivalry lingers, even seven years after Auerbach died. “He and I had our shots at each other when he was coaching in the NBA and when I was playing in the NBA,” Leonard said in a telephone interview earlier this month, concerning his autobiography. “So I probably have the same opinion of Red Auerbach as he had of me.”

As Leonard said, his career resume includes several years of coaching and playing in the NBA, so he knows the distinctions between the two leagues. Any lingering skepticism about the ABA’s quality can be answered by those head-to-head matchups. Not only did the ABA hold an edge in those games, but it posted a 31-17 advantage in 1975-76 — its final season before the merger.

“If you look at the record, we overwhelmed ’em,” Leonard said.

The Naismith Hall of Fame has taken notice of the ABA, which lasted from 1967-76. In 2011, its Election Review Committee created a new “direct-elect” category which focused attention on players who spent their best — or all — of their years in the ABA. Since that change, Pacers icons Daniels and Brown, along with Kentucky Colonels center Artis Gilmore earned long overdue Hall inductions. Leonard also appeared on the ballot as a coach in 2011, 2012 and 2013, but wasn’t chosen. He’ll be on the ballot again this month, confirmed Matt Zeysing of the Hall of Fame staff. The induction Class of 2014 will be announced during the NBA All-Star Game Weekend in mid-February, Zeysing added.

Each of the past three years, Hall voters have been apprised of Leonard’s career resume, stretching from his college years with the NCAA champion Indiana Hoosiers to his NBA playing and coaching career, his 529 victories with the Pacers in the ABA and NBA, and his quarter-century in the broadcast booth with the Pacers.

In this month’s interview, Leonard insisted he won’t fret if the Hall of Fame never calls his name, emphasizing, “I wasn’t a fair-haired boy, when it came to coaching.” His aggressive style was an offshoot of one particular desire, which mattered more to him than honors.

“I’ve had so many honors and everything in my career that [Hall of Fame induction] really isn’t a priority with me,” Leonard said. “It doesn’t bother me one way or the other, and I really don’t care. And I was like that as a coach. I wasn’t one of those coaches that was shaking hands all the time with the opposing coach. I went out there for one reason, and that was to win.”

And he did, at what any objective observer would say was the game’s highest level. For that, Leonard deserves a plaque in Springfield alongside pro basketball’s other former coaches with three or more championships — Phil Jackson, John Kundla, Pat Riley and, yes, Red Auerbach.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Disc Jockeys

    I know this is going to sound a little like “sour grapes,” but it is not. I just passed my 61st anniversary of being involved in radio. I also spent some television time in Canada and did a local TV talk show. But, my main effort was in the good old USA in various radio markets.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Colonoscopy No. 5

    I just finished up my fifth colonoscopy last week. It had been seven years since my last one, and since my father and grandfather died of colon cancer I find it advisable to go through this procedure in attempting to live as long as I can.

    July 29, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Next century? Hope strikes out again for ‘our’ team

    It is a case of hope trumping experience that my Best Friend and I looked forward to the 2014 baseball season.

    July 28, 2014

  • baseballandnewspaper.jpg MARK BENNETT: Hall of Memories: Names, images of baseball greats trigger connections to our own past

    Baseball Hall of Famers are just people. Totally human. Still, for Americans who follow the national pastime, those players represent a nostalgic connection to summers gone by.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 2 Photos 4 Stories

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • MET071614band.jpg MARK BENNETT: Are you ready for some oom-pah along the banks of the Wabash?

    Any time I hear Curtis Mayfield’s “Superfly,” the sound transports me to 1973, when that classic song bubbled from my parents’ car radio on the drive to Sheridan Park for my youth football games.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Visitors Feel Part of the Pack at Wolf Preserve 3 People Killed, Deputies Wounded in NC Shootout Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: 16 Killed in Gaza Market Strike 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit Raw: Smoke, Explosions Fill Gaza Skyline Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Plane Lands on New York Highway
NDN Video
Famous Internet Cats Help Big Cause With Viral Video Did Jimmy Fallon Look Up Heidi Klum's Dress? Chapter Two: Composing for a film in retirement What Drama? Miranda Kerr Poses Topless Woman's Dive Goes Terribly Wrong Plane crashes in San Diego Costco parking lot Justin Bieber Takes To Instagram To Diss Orlando Bloom You Won't Believe the Celeb Cameos in "Sharknado 2" Pitch Invading Morons Cause Chaos - @TheBuzzeronFOX Orlando Bloom 'Takes a Swing' at Justin Bieber In Ibiza Sadie Doesn't Want Her Brother to Grow Up "Maxim" Hotness! See Jessica Alba's Sizzling Spread Two women barely avoid being hit by train Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Orlando Bloom and Justin Bieber Reportedly Came To Blows In Ibiza Meet the Man Behind Dumb Starbucks Chris Pratt Adorably Surprises Kids at a 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Screening NOW TRENDING: Peyton Manning dancing at practice "The Bachelorette" Makes Her Decision Thieves pick the wrong gas station to rob
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity