News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

November 2, 2013

MARK BENNETT: Brad Fenton and friends set dominos in motion to make Larry Bird statue a reality

TERRE HAUTE — The idea has been out there for awhile, floating.

Locals in the 1980s, ’90s and 2000s would say, “They need to put up a statue of Larry Bird. I mean, one of the all-time greatest basketball players played right here in Terre Haute at Indiana State University.”

The identity of “they” seldom gets clarified in such declarations. “They” — a nebulous cluster of apparently powerful people, at least in the eyes of coffeeshop debaters — never seem to materialize.

Yet, in this case, “they” did.

In November 2003, in a tunnel leading to the upper concourse of Breslin Center on the Michigan State University campus in East Lansing, Magic Johnson — of all people — validated the notion that Terre Haute and ISU should honor his longtime rival, Larry Bird, in bronze. The four schools that participated in that historic 1979 NCAA Final Four — champion Michigan State, runner-up ISU, DePaul and Penn — had placed their current teams in a reunion tourney in the Spartans’ home arena. Just a few weeks earlier, MSU had unveiled a striking, 12-foot-tall, bronze statue of Johnson right outside the Breslin Center entrance.

I asked Johnson if Bird’s alma mater should do the same thing outside Hulman Center.

“Without a doubt,” Magic said, quickly. “I’m really shocked that he doesn’t have one already. I mean, you’re never gonna get that much excitement [at Indiana State] and how it felt to go to the Final Four. The college basketball Player of the Year, one of the greatest four or five players that have ever played, and he played at your school. I mean, come on, he should have two or three statues.”

His words ran in the Tribune-Star, and a few months later, they bubbled up again. On Feb. 29, 2004, ISU retired Bird’s No. 33 jersey, along with that of another former Sycamore great, Duane Kleuh’s No. 54, in a ceremony at Hulman Center. In a news conference afterward, I relayed Johnson’s comment and asked if Bird liked the idea. In classic Larry Bird deadpan style, he said, “I don’t want a statue. Magic’s got more statues than Saddam Hussein.”

(Just two weeks earlier, the Los Angeles Lakers had erected another Magic statue at the Staples Center in L.A.)

So, given Larry’s reserved nature, any effort to create a lasting monument to his exploits as a Sycamore would have to win Mr. Bird’s heart. “They” would need to be a grassroots collection of people, folks with whom Larry could identify.

It took a few years, but “they” emerged. “They” turned out to be ISU student Brad Fenton and six of his young friends, a marvelously industrious bunch of guys who decided to turn the concept into reality.

The idea came to Fenton in 2006. A Notre Dame football fan, he had trekked to East Lansing to watch the Fighting Irish play the Spartans. While walking across the MSU campus, he saw the Magic statue. The Sycamore passion quickly kicked in for Fenton, whose mother was an ISU student during the Bird years and whose dad avidly followed Bird into his Boston Celtics career. Fenton figured Bird deserved a statue, too. A bigger statue.

Back in Terre Haute, Fenton sought out local sculptor Bill Wolfe, who shared Fenton’s motivation.

“The first person that listened to anything I had to say was Bill Wolfe,” Fenton, now 28, recalled by telephone last week from Indianapolis, where he lives and works as a branch manager of a bank.

The idea brewed for a few years. Fenton and six friends from Terre Haute and ISU — Matt Foster, Geoff Haynes, Ryan Royer, Zack Hurst, Nick Ferrell and Luke Jones — eventually formed the Larry Legend Foundation. With a goal of raising $135,000 for a 13-foot-tall statue, sculpted by Wolfe, and perpetual scholarship in Bird’s honor, they eventually surveyed students and locals about the plan. “Almost every single person I talked to was for it,” Fenton said.

“Once I saw people’s reaction, I said, ‘We can make this happen,’” Fenton added. “But now that it’s actually happening, I can’t believe it’s actually happening.”

ISU will unveil a bronze statue of Bird on Saturday morning, as part of a weekend celebrating the legacy left by Bird and his teammates in the 1976-79 era. Lots of dominos had to fall, right in line, to make that possible. Fenton and his friends set those dominos in motion. They formally launched the Larry Legend Foundation in September 2009, debuted the Larry

LegendFoundation.com website, and started the fundraising with sales of “Everybody Loves a Legend” T-shirts at ISU basketball games. They enlisted the ISU Foundation as a steward of the fundraising effort, which led to a generous contribution from an anonymous donor a couple years later. An initial disagreement over the choice of a sculptor was ironed out, the funds were secured to craft an even taller statue (15 feet, at $153,000), and Wolfe began creating the art piece in 2012.

“It was a long journey, but I wouldn’t have wanted it to turn out any other way. I’m glad Bill’s doing it,” Fenton said. The assistance and expertise of the ISU Foundation proved essential. “When we realized it was bigger than us, that’s when we handed it to the ISU Foundation,” Fenton explained.

Still, the fact that ISU students and local young people initiated the drive captured Bird’s interest.

“It was the total impetus behind it,” said Phil Ness, the ISU Foundation associate vice president of development for athletics. “It’s what got Larry excited about it. I think Larry was really touched that a group of kids, who were born after he graduated, were the ones who got this going. I don’t think it could’ve happened without them.”

Fenton was born in 1985, six years after Bird and the Sycamores stunned America by rolling into the NCAA Final against Michigan State with a perfect 33-0 record and a No. 1 ranking in the polls. In the years since that season, ISU suffered through a 17-year stretch of sub-.500 seasons, seven coaching changes, and some hard feelings, for various reasons, among basketball alums.

Fenton and the Larry Legend Foundation crew focused on the goal, not past baggage. “Those guys didn’t know any better, and so they just went out and did it,” Ness said, with admiration.

“They” just went out and did it, despite the odds. No wonder “they” impressed Larry.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Small Reactors Could Be Future of Nuclear Energy Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Human Antidepressants Making Shrimp Too Calm Swiss Unveil New Solar Plane for Global Flight Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions NASA Releases Images of "graceful" Solar Flare Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War"
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity