News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

May 19, 2013

Mark Bennett: High-profile mural connects historical dots from city to river

TERRE HAUTE — Cities aren’t like faces.

People long to stroll into their high school reunion and hear old classmates gush, “You haven’t changed a bit.”

Yet, if a traveler returns to a city after a long absence and says, “This place hasn’t changed a bit,” that community is probably dying. The better reaction would be, “Wow, I can’t believe they pulled that off here.”

Nowadays, downtown Terre Haute falls in the latter category, thank goodness. A visitor who last stopped in town a few decades ago could sense a strong pulse in the heart of the city today. Neglect still lingers in spots, but its acceptance is diminishing. And, the cultural and economic lifeblood of Terre Haute, from the city’s founding nearly two centuries ago, is no longer ignored; the 2013 Year of the River celebration is reacquainting Hauteans with their greatest natural resource — the Wabash.

A mural under way on the east side is wonderfully unconventional for Terre Haute.

It will be big — 96 feet wide and two stories tall, covering the west exterior wall of the Cox, Zwerner, Gambill and Sullivan Law Firm building at 511 Wabash Ave. Its imagery will turn heads, showing a bridge over the river, with scenes of historic moments displayed in three panels separated by the bridge piers. One depicts the devastating 1913 flood. The middle panel, the largest, features an idyllic Wabash on a perfect fishing day. The dry beach from last year’s drought — the worst on record — occupies the third panel.

The power, impact and value of the waterway will be evident.

The lives it touches will be represented, too. People ride canoes through the three river eras, from folks paddling through the floodwaters on the left, to recreational anglers in the center, to a family carrying their canoe over drought-scorched sand on the right. An eagle, a massive catfish and a bug-eyed frog oversee the activity. A map, subtle and in the background, charts the Wabash from Ohio to Illinois. Lettering on the bridge spells out The Year of the River, and 2013.

The painting will connect the dots in the community’s past, present and future as only art can do. Think of it — a mural of the Wabash River on Wabash Avenue. And, that’s the idea, to think of it — the river, the town, the people, the wildlife, then, now and beyond.

Artists Mike Neary and Amy MacLennan, a husband-and-wife team, drew the concept from the Year of the River theme. They view that phrase in a broader, more challenging way, though. “What it really means is, ‘The Year to Start Thinking About the River,’” Neary said, with speckles of paint and raindrops on his T-shirt, pants and ballcap, waiting out a cloudburst in the cab of their art supplies truck at the mural site on Wednesday.

For the mural organizers, that thinking intensified last fall as community arts groups began preparing Year of the River activities. The Wabash mural is funded through Indiana State University’s Energize Downtown initiative, and is the latest facet of the ongoing Gilbert Wilson Memorial Mural Project. Wilson, a WPA-era artist, created dramatic murals that dominate the interior walls of Woodrow Wilson Middle School, the Community Theatre, and the ISU Bayh College of Education. The memorial series of public artwork honoring Gilbert includes local murals at the Booker T. Washington Center, Boys and Girls Club, and the Terre Haute Children’s Museum.

“This is the biggest project we’ve had yet,” said Nancy Nichols-Pethick, who leads the Gilbert Memorial series with fellow ISU art faculty member Brad Venable.

Nichols-Pethick, an artist herself, and her ISU students are painting alongside Neary and MacLennan. All came to this city in different ways, just as most Hauteans do. Nichols-Pethick was born in Alaska and raised in Maine, and began teaching at ISU in 2003. MacLennan grew up in West Terre Haute and graduated from West Vigo High School and ISU. “I’m a country girl,” MacLennan said. She and Neary moved to St. Louis a few years ago, where she teaches art at nearby McKendree University. “We still kind of consider ourselves Hauteans,” MacLennan said.

A job as a billboard painter originally brought Neary — born in Bloomington, and raised in Maryland, New Orleans and a few other cities as his dad’s job with Boeing Aircraft kept the family moving — to Terre Haute in the early 1990s. His first impression was revealing.

“I said, ‘Wow, this town could really use a good coat of paint,’” Neary recalled, with a laugh. “It was kind of gray, but had great buildings.”

Besides his commercial billboards, including a caricature of basketball great Larry Bird, Neary began adding color to the insides of those buildings. His angular paintings enliven rooms in The Verve nightclub, The Coffee Grounds and Java Haute shops, Rose-Hulman and downtown art galleries. It was the demolition of the old Terre Haute House and construction of its replacement, the Terre Haute House/Hilton Garden Inn, in 2005 and ’06, though, that gave many Hauteans their first look at the man behind the art. Neary set up his easel downtown and painted images as the buildings fell and rose. Passers-by peeked over his shoulder.

Onlookers won’t have to peek during the next five weeks as Neary and MacLennan, along with Nichols-Pethick’s students, create the massive mural.

It will catch eyes. Rivers have always drawn MacLennan’s attention. As a youngster, she gazed at the water levels of the Wabash as her family drove over the Dreiser and Dresser bridges. She does the same thing now as she drives over the Mississippi River bridge from St. Louis to McKendree every day. “I always think of how it will affect people, that there’s life down there,” MacLennan said.

She wants the artwork to capture that fascination, and share it.

One of the assisting art students, Katerina King, came to ISU from Carmel. Now a 20-year-old senior, King got her first close look at the Wabash last month when the river levels rose into Fairbanks Park and she snapped a few photos. Eventually, she’ll move back to Carmel, in hopes of opening her own gallery. She’ll likely return to Terre Haute for a visit, and to check out the mural.

“It’s cool, because we get to make our mark on Terre Haute before we graduate, and come back and say, ‘I was part of that,’” King said.

And, if all goes well, she’ll find a few new surprises, too. The city will have changed, again, for the better.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Obamas Attend Easter Service Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Small Reactors Could Be Future of Nuclear Energy Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Miley Cyrus Still in Hospital, Cancels 2nd Show
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity