News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

October 14, 2012

MARK BENNETT: On Election Day, as Vigo County goes, so goes the United States

TERRE HAUTE — Hempstead sounds like a fine place.

Founded in 1644 by European settlers, some say they named the town after its primary farm crop — hemp. Today, Hempstead houses the headquarters of Swiss International and Lufthansa airlines. Hofstra University calls that New York community its home. So did Dr. J, as a kid, for a couple of years.

No offense to Hempstead, but the ideal setting for Tuesday’s town hall style presidential debate is not the Hofstra campus, where it will indeed occur.

Terre Haute would be the perfect location.

In fact, Terre Haute should host one of the debates every four years. The leaders of the local four-year colleges — Indiana State University, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College — would do America a favor by coordinating efforts to bring a 2016 presidential debate to one of their scenic campuses. No place serves as a better barometer of the nation’s desires in the presidential selection process than Vigo County and its county seat, Terre Haute.

As Vigo County goes, so goes the United States, at least on Election Day.

The county’s status as an electoral bellwether is amazing. Since 1888, the majority of Vigo Countians have voted for the winning presidential candidate in every election except two — 1908 and 1952 — and those two misses came by razor-thin margins, according to statistics compiled by election historian Dave Leip. In ’52, Adlai Stevenson of neighboring Illinois carried Vigo County by 35 votes over Republican Dwight Eisenhower, who won the presidency in a landslide. Just 18 voting switches to Ike would’ve kept the county’s record perfect going back to 1908. In that election, Vigo voters gave loquacious Democrat William Jennings Bryan a 462-vote edge over William Howard Taft. (Full names were in vogue that year.) Like Eisenhower, Taft routed Bryan in the national balloting.

Aside from those two aberrations, Vigo County has mirrored America, including historic 2008. No other county comes close.

“Vigo is a standout,” Leip said in an email response last week.

As a result, national, and even international, journalists have journeyed to Terre Haute in advance of presidential elections, hoping to find the formula inside the local crystal ball, especially in 2008. The Italian daily newspaper Il Sole 24 Ore sent correspondent Mario Margiocco to Vigo County in late October. The eyes of an outsider often reveal realities overlooked by locals.

“In the United States, there are many nice places,” he said in a visit to the Tribune-Star newsroom, “and the Midwest might not be the nicest one, but it is the more interesting one; the real heart of the country. If I can, I want to feel the mood.”

By contrast, Margiocco noted that voters in Manhattan in New York have backed the losing candidate in 60 percent of the elections. “Since 1928, Manhattan has always voted for [what] we call ‘progressive’ [candidates], because they never change their opinion,” he said, “but you do here.”

That’s the secret — Vigo Countians are open-minded. Who knew?

Of course, that suggestion might come as a shock to former residents who left this community because “Terre Haute never changes.” And, they have a point. Lord knows, resistance to the C-word here is legendary, in some respects. The Terre Haute House decayed before our eyes for nearly 40 years, at the very heart of the city, but eventually, positive change happened.

Vigo County should celebrate its reputation for political open-mindedness and accuracy.

The 2008 election exemplifies the community’s unique outlook. That year, 52.9 percent of American voters chose Democrat Barack Obama over Republican John McCain, and Obama’s Electoral College edge was 365 to 173. He picked up Indiana’s 11 Electoral votes by narrowly winning the state, 49.9 percent to McCain’s 48.9 — the first Democrat to take the Hoosier state since LBJ in 1964. Only 15 Hoosier counties favored Obama, but most were in the metropolitan and college communities. Of those, only five were south of Interstate 70 — Vigo, Monroe, Vanderburgh, Spencer and Perry.

Even though Obama led national polls late in that campaign, some political insiders wondered whether Vigo County’s bellwether string would end. Obama, the first major-party black candidate, would need lots of support from white voters to carry the county — a place that’s not immune to, or devoid of, pockets of racism, not unlike many small American cities.

The county proved its bellwether mettle again.

Obama took Vigo County by a 15.8-percent margin, receiving 57 percent of the vote here, exceeding both the national and statewide spreads. His two visits to Terre Haute won over voters who might otherwise have backed his rival. “He spent a lot of time here, and that mattered,” said Tom Steiger, a sociology professor at Indiana State University, who has conducted polls of local voters in past elections.

Vigo’s bellwether label will be sternly tested again this November. The president and Republican challenger Mitt Romney stand basically even in the national polls going into their town hall debate Tuesday night at Hempstead. Though economic signs are improving, with the unemployment rate and claims for jobless benefits at four-year lows, Vigo County’s unemployment rate of 9.8 percent tops the state and national levels. If voters here blame Obama for the bleak local numbers, he could lose the county even if he retains the presidency nationally.

Vigo, though, also contains the mix of labor and working-class people, alongside the college communities, several minorities and ethnic groups, rural and urban, and the poverty-stricken and middle-class, as well as some wealthy. Thus, as the record indicates, predicting the county’s presidential voting is never as simple as a single statistic. In fact, until Romney surprised Obama with an aggressive performance in their first debate on Oct. 3, the president appeared to have the upperhand here, said Joe Anderson, a Terre Haute attorney, longtime political observer and Democratic Party insider.

“If we had the election the day before the debate, I think Obama would’ve won this county,” Anderson said.

Ten days later, the forecast is less clear. The upcoming debates, on Tuesday and Oct. 22 at Lynn University in Boca Raton, Fla., may tip wavering local independents. And they are swayable, more so than any other town in the US of A.

“Vigo County resembles, in a microcosm, America, a little better,” Steiger said.

Looking even broader, “Desiderata” poet Max Ehrmann called Terre Haute “the world in miniature.”

The world should come to America’s microcosm in 2016 with a presidential debate.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • MS. TAKES: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • MET071614band.jpg MARK BENNETT: Are you ready for some oom-pah along the banks of the Wabash?

    Any time I hear Curtis Mayfield’s “Superfly,” the sound transports me to 1973, when that classic song bubbled from my parents’ car radio on the drive to Sheridan Park for my youth football games.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Son has a knack for rescuing lost birds

    I think the excitement of last week is over — for now. It all began when Number One son opened the door to a storage area and found a small bird, very much alive. Because my family likes to talk in a soothing voice to all animals, Number One assured the little guy that he was not to worry. “I’ll take you back outside so you can find your family.” Oddly enough, the little bird calmed down and sat quietly in our son’s hand until he put it down outside.

    June 17, 2014

  • tsBennett MARK BENNETT: Dad-to-dad advice

    Giving unsolicited advice is like offering somebody else your toothbrush, because it’s worked so well for you.

    June 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Looking back on yet another birthday

    I have a birthday this week. And, I suppose that like some of you, I tend to look back over the lifespan to reflect on how it has been going.

    June 13, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Tony Awards

    The opening of the Tony Awards saw Hugh Jackman hopping down Broadway, into the theatre, down the aisle, a big leap onto the stage, then back stage and back out to start the show … all the time hopping like the Wolverine that he is.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: An American Soldier

    The cover of Time magazine this past week had a picture of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl, and emblazoned under the picture were the words, “WAS HE WORTH IT?” And the answer is … YES!

    June 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Liz Ciancone.jpg LIZ CIANCONE: Dental gains came with far less pain

    Sometimes I wonder if the “good old days” were all they are cracked up to be. I’ll give you the “old” but the jury is still out on “good.”

    June 9, 2014 1 Photo

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Raw: Plane Lands on New York Highway Recording May Show Attempt at Crash Cover-up AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Shark Sightings a Big Catch for Cape Tourism Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: Gaza City Shelling Attack 45 Years Later, Buzz Aldrin on Walking on Moon Wisc. Twins Celebrate a Century of Laughter Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast
NDN Video
Obama: Putin must push separatists to aid MH17 probe Michigan inmates no longer allowed to wear orange due to 'OITNB' Adam Levine Ties the Knot Sebastian The Ibis Walks Beautiful Bride Down The Aisle | ACC Must See Moment NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Faces of Souls Lost in Malaysian Plane Crash 105-year-old woman throws first pitch Man Creates Spreadsheet of Wife's Reasons for Turning Down Sex 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success Rory McIlroy struggles, surges, wins British Open NOW TRENDING: Real life Pac-Man Explosions as hot air balloon crashes in Clinton DUI Driver Dragged to Safety by Officer After Walking Onto Busy Freeway Celebrities That We'd Like to Send to the Moon Spectacular lightning storm hits London Malaysian Flight Victim Was South Florida Grad Rory McIlroy on pace to break British Open records Officials Fear MH17 Site Now Tampered by Rebels Lowes employees repair Vietnam vet's wheelchair Widow of Staten Island man who died after NYPD takedown says he was unjustifiably targeted
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity