News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

October 27, 2013

MARK BENNETT: Next chapter set to begin

Mayor seeks volunteers as Crow Patrol torch passes to new coordinators

TERRE HAUTE — Use the classic Tommy Tutone song to memorize the following number …

244-2709.

Forget the original “867-5309” chorus and the “Jenny, Jenny who can I turn to?” verse.

Change it to “244-2709” and “Terre Haute, how can I help you?”

The community needs help in the never-ending battle to scatter the annual invasion of crows. Since the 1990s, crows have wintered in Terre Haute by the tens of thousands — ranging from 30,000 in some years to 90,000 in others, according to various local counts.

The influx is among the largest in the nation. By next month, the 2013-14 crow population here will reach full scale. Left to their own devices, massive murders (the ironic name for flocks of the hefty black critters) of crows fill trees and large rooftops, cawing all night long, breaking branches on trees, breaking bread with each other (actually, their entree is typically littered fast-food leftovers), and defecating on sidewalks, windows, porches and cars. It isn’t pretty.

Strategic counter-measures lessen the costly, ugly mess they leave behind. The tactics require people to carry them out. The City of Terre Haute needs volunteers to serve on the Crow Patrol, for one day, a few or several, beginning Monday.

Volunteers will gather in the City Hall parking lot, receive a training session from one of the city’s patrol coordinators, travel to key locations in town, and fire pyrotechnics to scare crows and disburse them away from their favorite hangouts. The outings will last an hour to 90 minutes, Mayor Duke Bennett explained Friday.

To volunteer, dial the city’s official Crow Hotline at 244-2709 or 244-CROW. (The area code is 812.)

Some may doubt their own ability to handle a shift, or try to call but lose their nerve.

They can draw inspiration from Joy Sacopulos and a handful of fellow civic-minded volunteers who led the Crow Patrol through the past three winters. Now 74 years old, Sacopulos and Mary Harris — the volunteer duo who went out two, three or four evenings a week from October to March the past three winters — have decided to step down. They led fundraising efforts, getting donations from various business and civic contributors for pyrotechnic supplies, repairs and professional assistance from a local wildlife control firm led by Matt and Bridget Christie, organized the daily Crow Patrol shifts, and personally served dozens and dozens of those shifts. The Terre Haute Crow Committee became a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization three winters ago.

But the Christies have since moved elsewhere, Sacopulos said, and she and Harris felt they could no longer manage the process. The women welcomed an offer by the mayor to have the city coordinate the Crow Patrol. “I admire him for it,” she said. So, the torch will pass from the all-volunteer crew to a municipally steered team.

“I hope that they’ll start right away, so [the crows] will remember that they can’t stay the night in downtown Terre Haute, and that [the city] will be successful in whatever they choose to do,” Sacopulos said.

Bennett hopes to start this season’s Crow Patrol work Monday. The pyrotechnic launch pistols and equipment have been tested by the city and are ready, he said. He will appoint one or two coordinators to schedule and guide the daily crow-scattering missions. The city will fund the pyrotechnic replacement ammo and equipment repairs.

“We’re going to pick this up and go with this, because it’s an important thing,” Bennett said.

He rightly praised Sacopulos and Harris, backed by their committee. “They did a lot of work on behalf of the city as volunteers,” Bennett said, “and that was greatly appreciated.”

Leading that cause was an adventure, Sacopulos explained. Crows are among the planet’s smartest animals, and strategies had to evolve when the birds caught on to their human opponents’ plans. “They could tell who both of us were, in or out of our cars,” Sacopulos said of herself and Harris. Weather could turn cold and nasty. Volunteers sometimes didn’t show up. Residents who had tried to scare off crows themselves were usually grateful, while others complained about the pyrotechnics’ startling noise.

The patrollers’ perseverance is beyond admirable. The community benefits from such selfless, hard-working folks.

Why volunteer for such a task? “I think it just makes the community cleaner, nicer, fresher,” Sacopulos said, adding, “I think it’s a matter of community pride.”

The Crow Patrol can’t stop the birds from roosting here, but it can disperse them to less-populated rural settings around the city. Doing so prevents widespread, chronic crow-dropping onslaughts at the local hospitals, schools, Indiana State University, churches and businesses. That result makes the work worthwhile, she said. “I think we were successful, given what we’re dealing with.”

Now, it’s time for others to inherit those Crow Patrol vests.

Just call the number, “and we’ll plug you in,” the mayor said.

244-2709. Got it?

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Small Reactors Could Be Future of Nuclear Energy New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Swiss Unveil New Solar Plane for Global Flight Human Antidepressants Making Shrimp Too Calm Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity