News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

March 31, 2013

Season of Day 2s arrives

Challenge of spring: showing up the next time, and the next

TERRE HAUTE — Calendars in Cincinnati contain one extra holiday — Opening Day, traditionally the first Monday in April.

Only a few Cincinnatians circle the following Wednesday on their calendars.

In Ohio’s Queen City, the hometown Reds begin their season like no other Major League Baseball team. Downtown shopkeepers conduct the Findlay Market Parade, an old-school event dating back to 1920, featuring bright red pickup trucks and hot rods, high school bands, homemade floats and politicians on the morning of the season’s first game. Food, drink and revelry follows, and then most of the city heads to the stadium where the hometown Reds take on a visiting team. The ritual is unique. Cincinnati is the only big-league club that always opens its season at home.

It’s kind of a big deal there. A sellout crowd jams into the seats. Writers from several states chat with players and managers, optimistically thinking, “This could be our year.” Fans mull World Series potential. The playoffs await, just 162 games away.

I’ve experienced a decent amount of those Reds openers. One stands out, 1985. The Big Red Machine of the 1970s collapsed a few years earlier. Now, one of its most heralded members, Pete Rose, had returned to Cincy as the Reds player-manager. Four other Machine alums also were on the field at Riverfront Stadium that day — Reds shortstop Dave Concepcion and first baseman Tony Perez (in the twilight of their careers), Joe Morgan as a TV commentator, and Dan Driessen, an infielder for the opposing team, the Montreal Expos. Hope reigned, and 52,971 fans showed up.

According to tradition, the Reds always take Tuesday off, and play the Opening Day opponent again on Wednesday.

And, traditionally, the Game 2 crowd is a fraction of the Game 1 throng. The only media present are the work-a-day beat writers. There’s no parade. Fans willing to brave nasty weather for Opening Day are suddenly less inclined. True to form, just 10,491 seats were filled for that Wednesday night game in ’85.

As they say in Cincinnati, only the diehards show up on the second day.

Day 2 challenges our stick-to-itiveness in many aspects of American culture.

Today is Easter Sunday, celebrating the resurrection — the highlight of the Christian calendar. Church attendance peaks, as folks wearing new dresses and suits and flowers flow into the pews. It’s a time for new beginnings, of faith and the spring season. Ministers — relishing perhaps a one-time chance that newcomers will find a spiritual connection — welcome the new faces, and the return of faces not seen for awhile, and invite them to “please come back next Sunday.”

Next Sunday, the Sunday after Easter. That challenge has prompted some U.S. churches this spring to adopt a tradition of early Greek and Bavarian Christians, designating April 7 as “Risus Paschalis” or Humor Sunday, hoping the opportunity to share laughs will entice the Easter crowd to come back, according to online faith news sites.

The second day on the job often reveals a clearer picture of a new employee. After pouring energy and preparation into that first day, it’s tougher to report for duty 15 minutes early again on Day 2. The patience displayed by co-workers and supervisors on Day 1 dwindles, and the work begins to feel like work. The diehards keep showing up, ready, day after day, soldiering through in spite of aches and pains, disagreements with colleagues and demanding deadlines.

Workplace stick-to-itiveness is called a “soft skill,” a quality many Indiana employers and job trainers say is becoming too rare.

Organizations that rely on volunteers know the difficulty of retaining them. From 2009 to 2011 in Indiana, 67 percent of first-year volunteers returned for the following year, according to the Corporation for National and Community Service. The decline is understandable. The euphoria of a project’s potential fades as glitches occur and life interrupts. A car breaks down, a child at home gets sick, the paying day job gets complicated, energy saps, and something has to give.

The season of Day 2s is upon us. Major League Baseball teams open this week. Many employers, especially seasonal construction firms, begin hiring as the snow gives way to sunshine. Community service agencies launch springtime projects and begin preparations for warm-weather fundraisers, festivals and special events. Churches hope their Easter message inspires a once-a-year visitor to come back next Sunday.

In a commencement address last year at Lafayette College, award-winning movie and TV producer Garry Marshall reminded graduates of that Pennsylvania school of the importance of stick-to-itiveness to survive and get the most out of a meaningful life. “Woody Allen once said, ‘80 percent of [success] is just showing up.’ A lot of people don’t show up,” Marshall told them, according to a Washington Post story. “They get hurt, or it didn’t work out for them; they don’t come. Ya gotta be there. It’s important to be there.”

It’s kind of like circling tomorrow on our calendars every day.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Small Reactors Could Be Future of Nuclear Energy New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Human Antidepressants Making Shrimp Too Calm Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Swiss Unveil New Solar Plane for Global Flight Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions NASA Releases Images of "graceful" Solar Flare
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity