News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

March 31, 2013

Season of Day 2s arrives

Challenge of spring: showing up the next time, and the next

TERRE HAUTE — Calendars in Cincinnati contain one extra holiday — Opening Day, traditionally the first Monday in April.

Only a few Cincinnatians circle the following Wednesday on their calendars.

In Ohio’s Queen City, the hometown Reds begin their season like no other Major League Baseball team. Downtown shopkeepers conduct the Findlay Market Parade, an old-school event dating back to 1920, featuring bright red pickup trucks and hot rods, high school bands, homemade floats and politicians on the morning of the season’s first game. Food, drink and revelry follows, and then most of the city heads to the stadium where the hometown Reds take on a visiting team. The ritual is unique. Cincinnati is the only big-league club that always opens its season at home.

It’s kind of a big deal there. A sellout crowd jams into the seats. Writers from several states chat with players and managers, optimistically thinking, “This could be our year.” Fans mull World Series potential. The playoffs await, just 162 games away.

I’ve experienced a decent amount of those Reds openers. One stands out, 1985. The Big Red Machine of the 1970s collapsed a few years earlier. Now, one of its most heralded members, Pete Rose, had returned to Cincy as the Reds player-manager. Four other Machine alums also were on the field at Riverfront Stadium that day — Reds shortstop Dave Concepcion and first baseman Tony Perez (in the twilight of their careers), Joe Morgan as a TV commentator, and Dan Driessen, an infielder for the opposing team, the Montreal Expos. Hope reigned, and 52,971 fans showed up.

According to tradition, the Reds always take Tuesday off, and play the Opening Day opponent again on Wednesday.

And, traditionally, the Game 2 crowd is a fraction of the Game 1 throng. The only media present are the work-a-day beat writers. There’s no parade. Fans willing to brave nasty weather for Opening Day are suddenly less inclined. True to form, just 10,491 seats were filled for that Wednesday night game in ’85.

As they say in Cincinnati, only the diehards show up on the second day.

Day 2 challenges our stick-to-itiveness in many aspects of American culture.

Today is Easter Sunday, celebrating the resurrection — the highlight of the Christian calendar. Church attendance peaks, as folks wearing new dresses and suits and flowers flow into the pews. It’s a time for new beginnings, of faith and the spring season. Ministers — relishing perhaps a one-time chance that newcomers will find a spiritual connection — welcome the new faces, and the return of faces not seen for awhile, and invite them to “please come back next Sunday.”

Next Sunday, the Sunday after Easter. That challenge has prompted some U.S. churches this spring to adopt a tradition of early Greek and Bavarian Christians, designating April 7 as “Risus Paschalis” or Humor Sunday, hoping the opportunity to share laughs will entice the Easter crowd to come back, according to online faith news sites.

The second day on the job often reveals a clearer picture of a new employee. After pouring energy and preparation into that first day, it’s tougher to report for duty 15 minutes early again on Day 2. The patience displayed by co-workers and supervisors on Day 1 dwindles, and the work begins to feel like work. The diehards keep showing up, ready, day after day, soldiering through in spite of aches and pains, disagreements with colleagues and demanding deadlines.

Workplace stick-to-itiveness is called a “soft skill,” a quality many Indiana employers and job trainers say is becoming too rare.

Organizations that rely on volunteers know the difficulty of retaining them. From 2009 to 2011 in Indiana, 67 percent of first-year volunteers returned for the following year, according to the Corporation for National and Community Service. The decline is understandable. The euphoria of a project’s potential fades as glitches occur and life interrupts. A car breaks down, a child at home gets sick, the paying day job gets complicated, energy saps, and something has to give.

The season of Day 2s is upon us. Major League Baseball teams open this week. Many employers, especially seasonal construction firms, begin hiring as the snow gives way to sunshine. Community service agencies launch springtime projects and begin preparations for warm-weather fundraisers, festivals and special events. Churches hope their Easter message inspires a once-a-year visitor to come back next Sunday.

In a commencement address last year at Lafayette College, award-winning movie and TV producer Garry Marshall reminded graduates of that Pennsylvania school of the importance of stick-to-itiveness to survive and get the most out of a meaningful life. “Woody Allen once said, ‘80 percent of [success] is just showing up.’ A lot of people don’t show up,” Marshall told them, according to a Washington Post story. “They get hurt, or it didn’t work out for them; they don’t come. Ya gotta be there. It’s important to be there.”

It’s kind of like circling tomorrow on our calendars every day.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Disc Jockeys

    I know this is going to sound a little like “sour grapes,” but it is not. I just passed my 61st anniversary of being involved in radio. I also spent some television time in Canada and did a local TV talk show. But, my main effort was in the good old USA in various radio markets.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Colonoscopy No. 5

    I just finished up my fifth colonoscopy last week. It had been seven years since my last one, and since my father and grandfather died of colon cancer I find it advisable to go through this procedure in attempting to live as long as I can.

    July 29, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Next century? Hope strikes out again for ‘our’ team

    It is a case of hope trumping experience that my Best Friend and I looked forward to the 2014 baseball season.

    July 28, 2014

  • baseballandnewspaper.jpg MARK BENNETT: Hall of Memories: Names, images of baseball greats trigger connections to our own past

    Baseball Hall of Famers are just people. Totally human. Still, for Americans who follow the national pastime, those players represent a nostalgic connection to summers gone by.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 2 Photos 4 Stories

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • MET071614band.jpg MARK BENNETT: Are you ready for some oom-pah along the banks of the Wabash?

    Any time I hear Curtis Mayfield’s “Superfly,” the sound transports me to 1973, when that classic song bubbled from my parents’ car radio on the drive to Sheridan Park for my youth football games.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit Raw: Deadly Taiwan Gas Leak Explosion Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine US, UN Announce Deal on Gaza Cease-Fire Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Family Dispute Cripples Northeast Grocery Chain LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site
NDN Video
Famous Internet Cats Help Big Cause With Viral Video Raw: Obama Gets Hug From Special Olympian Snoop Dogg Narrating Animal Footage Is Perfect Tigers Acquire David Price - @TheBuzzeronFOX Russell Brand Slams Sean Hannity Over Gaza Conflict Segment Chapter Two: Composing for a film in retirement Woman's Dive Goes Terribly Wrong Brian Williams Reports on Daughter Allison Williams' 'Peter Pan' Casting News Did Jimmy Fallon Look Up Heidi Klum's Dress? What Drama? Miranda Kerr Poses Topless Plane crashes in San Diego Costco parking lot Justin Bieber Takes To Instagram To Diss Orlando Bloom You Won't Believe the Celeb Cameos in "Sharknado 2" Pitch Invading Morons Cause Chaos - @TheBuzzeronFOX Orlando Bloom 'Takes a Swing' at Justin Bieber In Ibiza Sadie Doesn't Want Her Brother to Grow Up "Maxim" Hotness! See Jessica Alba's Sizzling Spread Two women barely avoid being hit by train Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Orlando Bloom and Justin Bieber Reportedly Came To Blows In Ibiza
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity