News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion Columns

March 22, 2014

MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

25 years later, ‘influentials’ assess long road of progress for women

TERRE HAUTE — In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

She was one of just two female students in the room. The speaker looked at the women and said, “I just want you to know, there isn’t an accounting firm in the city of Chicago that will hire you.”

Forty years later, the Tribune-Star chose Jerse and nine other “influential” Terre Haute women to profile in its 1989 “Women and Power” series. Newspaper staffers surveyed 62 “local movers and shakers” — 26 men, 36 women — asking them to name the “10 most powerful women” in the community. Women “who could pick up the phone, call someone and get things done.” Some chosen preferred the term “influential” instead of “powerful.” A secondary headline above the series’ initial story emphasized that distinction and added, “Decision-making, to some, still male domain.”

A quarter-century later, five of those women reunited in a downtown coffeeshop. They see progress in this community — in varying degrees — and broader acceptance of women in leadership roles. Retired now, but active as volunteers, they see fewer barriers for women of subsequent generations here. “The positions that women have come into in the last 25 years is unbelievable, not politically, but elsewhere,” Jerse said as the women gathered in The Corner Grind at Seventh and Wabash, in the heart of a city all speak of fondly.

“It’s changed. A lot,” Jerse said. “We’ve come a long, long way.”

Awareness about the contributions made by women to the community has improved. Congress enacted Women’s History Month in 1987.

Twenty-five years later, the United Way of the Wabash Valley began its annual Wabash Valley Women of Influence program, recognizing female leaders in Vigo and five surrounding counties. Now in its third year, the event will recognize 2014 honorees at a breakfast April 10.

A 2012 Woman of Influence, Corner Grind proprietor Boo Lloyd, chatted with the five women from the Trib-Star’s 1989 “Women and Power” group as they shared coffee and conversation. Lloyd praised the pioneerism of the women assembled in her restaurant — Betty Martin (former Vigo County Public Library director), Judy Anderson (former Terre Haute mayor and Vigo County recorder), Pat Mansard (former Vigo County clerk), Sister Barbara Doherty (former Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College president), and Jerse (former YWCA executive director).

The others selected in ’89 were Linda Burger (former Chrysler dealership owner), Mary Hulman (matriarch of Hulman family), Marla Keller (former WTHI anchor), Alane Meis (former Indiana Arts Commission chair) and Rosemary Travis (former Terre Haute Regional Hospital assistant administrator for community affairs).

As Martin put it last week, “None of us [in ’89] really thought of ourselves as powerful or influential.” Instead, she added, “most of us, in our professions, paid our dues.”

The number of women in various professions has grown since then. Nationally, the percentage of pharmacists who are female increased to 51.7 percent in 2000 and 53.7 in 2012 from 29.8 percent in 1985, according to the U.S. Department of Labor. In ’85, just 18 percent of lawyers were women, yet today, more than half are female. Women have more career options. “When I was in high school,” Anderson said, “you could be a nurse, you could be a teacher, [or] you could be a wife.”

Vigo County trails the nation in some aspects of female presence in the workplace. In 2007, the most recent numbers available, 35.9 percent of U.S. businesses were owned by women, compared to 23 percent in Vigo County. That marked a slight improvement, locally. In 2002, women owned 22.1 percent of Vigo businesses (compared to 33 percent nationally).

Burger, who died in 2012, was a trailblazer in that realm. “The one of us that really broke the glass ceiling was Linda Burger,” Jerse said. In 1982, she became one of the first female Chrysler dealers in the nation. “She was absolutely fantastic, way ahead of her time,” Jerse added.

Looking to Doherty, the women from the ’89 honorees lauded Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College as an example of women’s abilities as leaders, administrators and role models. “I think the sisterhood [at the college and the Sisters of Providence] has always shown us women can do this in many different things,” Martin said.

In local government, the percentages of women serving on the city and county councils, and as county commissioners, is lower than the general workforce. Each of those elected boards includes one woman out of nine Terre Haute City Council members, seven Vigo County Council members, and three Vigo County commissioners. Women, of course, constitute half of the overall population.

Breakthroughs have happened, though. Anderson became the city’s first female mayor, serving from 2000 to 2003. A native of the city, Anderson grew up here, graduated from Indiana State University, married and moved to Fort Wayne, and then came back to Terre Haute with her husband to raise a family in 1973. Running for mayor of Terre Haute as a woman in 1973 “probably wouldn’t have happened,” she speculated. Decisions got made in “man-oriented, smoke-filled back rooms” in that era, Anderson explained.

Mansard added, “That was still going in 1988 when I ran for clerk.” She stuck it out and got elected, though. “I just decided I wouldn’t be bullied out of the race,” Mansard said.

As difficult as their paths could be, several noted that Terre Haute’s acceptance of women in leadership roles and the workforce isn’t too different from many Midwestern cities. The ideal mix of men and women in jobs and government representation, they added, would be 50-50. The community is more welcoming, most agreed. The downtown district shows a genuine revival. Terre Haute has room to improve areas; some of the women lamented their grown children had to move elsewhere to find jobs in their fields.

They also offered wise suggestions: “To try to take a fresh look at what an individual can bring to the community, whether they’re women or men, black or white,” Martin said, and to “be more inclusive of all age groups,” Anderson added. Jerse recommended people “to expand your world, to try to get to know somebody from a different neighborhood, a different church, a different race. Expand your universe. Everybody has a story to tell.”

Terre Haute’s present and potential appeal to the women. They’ve chosen to retire here.

“I love this place,” Doherty said.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • MET071614band.jpg MARK BENNETT: Are you ready for some oom-pah along the banks of the Wabash?

    Any time I hear Curtis Mayfield’s “Superfly,” the sound transports me to 1973, when that classic song bubbled from my parents’ car radio on the drive to Sheridan Park for my youth football games.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Son has a knack for rescuing lost birds

    I think the excitement of last week is over — for now. It all began when Number One son opened the door to a storage area and found a small bird, very much alive. Because my family likes to talk in a soothing voice to all animals, Number One assured the little guy that he was not to worry. “I’ll take you back outside so you can find your family.” Oddly enough, the little bird calmed down and sat quietly in our son’s hand until he put it down outside.

    June 17, 2014

  • tsBennett MARK BENNETT: Dad-to-dad advice

    Giving unsolicited advice is like offering somebody else your toothbrush, because it’s worked so well for you.

    June 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Looking back on yet another birthday

    I have a birthday this week. And, I suppose that like some of you, I tend to look back over the lifespan to reflect on how it has been going.

    June 13, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Tony Awards

    The opening of the Tony Awards saw Hugh Jackman hopping down Broadway, into the theatre, down the aisle, a big leap onto the stage, then back stage and back out to start the show … all the time hopping like the Wolverine that he is.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy U.N. School in Gaza Hit by Israeli Strike Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record
NDN Video
Bill Murray Continues To Be Just Bill Murray By Eating Some Free Bill Murray Ice Cream Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect Hillary Clinton Blamed Bill's Affair With Monica Lewinsky On Abuse He Suffered As A Child 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad Jimmy Kimmel Introduces His Baby Girl
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity