News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

August 5, 2012

MARK BENNETT: Sound preservation

Decades later, obscure Terre Haute recording gives late bluesman new listeners worldwide

TERRE HAUTE — Talent can be forgotten, overlooked or lost, until somebody takes an interest.

Five years ago, in a sociological experiment crafted by a Washington Post columnist, renowned classical violinist Joshua Bell played incognito in a busy subway station in D.C. Using a $3.5-million Stradivarius, Bell played six Bach pieces for 43 minutes. A total of 1,097 people passed by Bell, who sells out famed venues 200 nights a year. Just six commuters stopped to listen to his virtuosity. Only one recognized him. A mere 27 bothered to toss money into his open violin case, most without breaking stride. Those tips totaled $32.17.

Imagine what a thousand people missed.

A little dose of history and fun, playing out this summer on blues radio programs around the world, would not have happened if Steve Rusin hadn’t popped a dusty old cassette into his tape deck last year.

That tape had captured an aural snapshot of American cultures intersecting, right here in Terre Haute.

One microphone. Two musicians. A guitar. A harmonica. Just 176 seconds of sound, created in a home studio in Terre Haute decades ago.

Rusin looked twice at the 35-year-old cassette he found while discarding items in a drawer last year.

He’d just retired and wanted to weed out a stack of tapes. The label on one jarred his memory.

In June 1977, Rusin worked as a printer by day and a member of a blues-rock band in his off time. A friend, Frank Hensley, employed at a Terre Haute foundry told Rusin about a co-worker claiming to have performed alongside famous names in blues and R&B music. Intrigued, Rusin decided to meet the guy — Johnny Wright. “He’d been saying, ‘I recorded with Ike Turner,’ and we were all saying, ‘Yeah, sure.’”

They met. Wright told Rusin his story. Rusin did a little research. It was true.

Three weeks later, Wright brought his guitar to Hensley’s house, where Rusin and Wright played a stripped-down version of a Wright original, “I Was in St. Louis,” with Hensley capturing the sound on a tape recorder. Wright, then 42, sang the foot-tapper in a solid, bluesy tenor, accompanied by his acoustic guitar and Rusin’s lively harmonica. The first take, jammed at Hensley’s kitchen table, “was magical,” Rusin said. “Johnny was right on the money.” The recording quality didn’t match the performance, though, so they tried again a few days later. Take 2 sounded clearer.

They struck a friendship, and eventually Rusin and others formed the Highway Blues Band to back Wright at gigs in Terre Haute clubs in the 1970s and ’80s. They continued recording new originals by Wright. Nicknamed “Rollin’ Stone,” Wright was still playing local bars and veterans halls in 1988, when he died at just 58 years old.

“He played right up to the end,” Rusin recalled last week, “and he always wanted to improve. He wasn’t going to give up.”

As time passed, that take of “I Was in St. Louis” blended in with a batch of other tapes in Rusin’s house. He forgot it even existed.

Until that housecleaning moment last year.

Motivated

by history


Rusin listened to it, “and it was so good” he sent the tape to close friend Mark Cook — an Atlanta-based blues guitarist and recording artist who grew up in Terre Haute — who had the recording’s sound cleaned and mastered. Rusin paid the licensing for “I Was in St. Louis,” as well as the production cost of pressing 300 CDs of the song. Emphasizing that he is making no money off the project, Rusin sent copies to friends and family. “I did it for historic reasons,” he said.

One buddy, a veteran Nashville guitarist now living in California, received a copy and suggested Rusin send the disc to blues radio and Internet shows around the U.S. and world. Skeptical, Rusin mailed it to 50 blues programs. To his surprise, the duet by Wright and Rusin cracked playlists of shows from Alabama to Europe.

“Now, I’m getting mail from Dublin, Ireland, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, Texas, Washington, Kentucky — just a bunch of them telling me they are playing the tune and what a great tune it is,” Rusin said. “A DJ from London just sent me a request for all the Johnny tunes I have.”

Rusin shook his head in disbelief as he spoke.

“I just couldn’t believe people were interested in something so long ago, and without a band, and with no screamin’ guitars,” he said.

“I was 27 then, and I’m 62 now,” Rusin added, “so it’s all kind of a shock to me.”

The music holds up, though. Wright’s professionalism shines, as does that of Rusin, who still plays blues harp (harmonica) on the prolific Cook’s albums. Wright’s voice sounds deeper than it did on his 1954 version of “I Was in St. Louis,” released as a single by DeLuxe Records in Cincinnati. But he bends, plucks and strums his guitar strings as deftly as he’d done a generation earlier.

The simplicity appeals to blues aficionados. The “authenticity” impressed them.

“Johnny’s sound is fairly clean and uncluttered,” Cliff McKnight, host of the British-based “Nothing But the Blues,” said in an email interview. “The version of ‘I Was in St. Louis’ with just Johnny and Steve, which I played on my show, recalls the classic guitar and harmonica combos like Sonny Terry & Brownie McGee, Big Joe Williams & J.D. Short, but also modern combinations like Paul Rishell & Annie Raines, and Moreland & Arbuckle.”

Obviously, McKnight — and others — liked the song.

“Steve has since sent me more tracks,” McKnight wrote, “and I’ll be playing them on my show.”

Can’t be

duplicated


Wright compiled a small, but popular list of singles for a handful of labels. Of those dozen tunes, the ones earning the most notoriety were those recorded with Turner’s band. With the future Rock ’n’ Roll Hall of Famer on lead guitar, Wright sang and played rhythm guitar on “Suffocate” and “The World is Yours.” Those and other Wright singles, including “Look at That Chick,” “I Got to Have You for Myself,” “Who Was,” “I Stayed Down” and “Winehead” are long out of print, but sought-after by fans of the St. Louis blues sound. The impact of black blues artists — introduced to white audiences at the dawn of rock ’n’ roll in the 1950s — was vast.

Wright was indeed “in St. Louis” at the peak of his career. Born in Tennessee, Wright and his family moved to Richmond, Ind., after his father died, and then in 1950, Johnny moved to St. Louis to work full time as a musician. He wound up inheriting Chuck Berry’s house-act job at The Cosmopolitan nightclub in East St. Louis in 1955, after Berry became a national star and left. That level of fame eluded Wright, who struggled with personal and financial problems.

“Johnny’s story is not untypical in the blues,” McKnight said.

He first moved to Terre Haute in 1960 to be near relatives, then soon left for California. He returned to Terre Haute in the late ’60s, got the foundry job and lived out his life with his wife, Dorothy. In the late ’70s and early ’80s, he recorded a few more singles with Rusin — “Coal Shed” and “Bad Air Boogie,” the latter inspired by his dusty workplace.

“He had a great voice,” Rusin said, “and limited but primitive guitar playing — things the old guys did, things we can’t duplicate. It’s basic E, A and B7, two-finger chords, but what he did with it really works.”

As McKnight put it, “I think he’s a hidden gem — maybe only 14 or so recorded tracks, but there are plenty of blues artists who recorded less than that but are still interesting. Volume doesn’t equate with quality.”

The photo gracing the cover of the “I Was in St. Louis” disc is poignant. Wright, the veteran, is wearing a suit, tie, dress slacks and shiny shoes. He’s leaning on the shoulder of Rusin, looking fresh-faced and very ’70s in a sweatshirt and jeans. Together, they breathed new energy into Wright’s old songs. Now, a half-a-lifetime later, Johnny’s music is experiencing another revival.

“I think he’d be pleased as punch to know a song he recorded 35 years ago is getting some airplay,” Rusin said.

A hidden gem, hidden no more.



Mark Bennett can be reached at (812) 231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Today in History for April 18th Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity