News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

August 4, 2013

MARK BENNETT: Questions of fairness, impartiality, public trust legitimate in wake of school rating controversy

The discovery of a double-standard in public policy — or the appearance of it — weakens trust.

The acceptance of a double-standard in public policy — or the appearance of it — erases trust.

Indiana needs to draw a clear line between the former and the latter, and not cross it.

The saga of Tony Bennett illuminates the importance of reinforcing such boundaries. The Associated Press obtained emails from September, showing that Bennett — then the state superintendent of public instruction — and his staff scrambled to ensure that Christel House Academy in Indianapolis received an A under Indiana’s A-through-F school grading formula, despite poor sophomore-level algebra scores that initially earned it a C. The academy happens to be a charter school founded by Christel DeHaan, a prominent Republican donor who contributed $130,000 to Bennett’s campaigns in 2008 and 2012.

Bennett had upheld Christel House as an A-caliber model to legislators, and influential supporters.

Upon learning of the C the academy was about to receive, Bennett emailed his chief of staff on Sept. 12, “This will be a HUGE problem for us,” he wrote, according to the AP report. “They need to understand that anything less than an A for Christel House compromises all of our accountability work.”

Christel House received an A.

Before the controversy caused Bennett to resign Thursday as Florida education commissioner — a position to which he was appointed after his failure to win re-election in Indiana — he insisted the grade change resulted from his Department of Education staff correcting a flaw in the A-F formula. He steadfastly denied any wrongdoing, favoritism toward a donor or shielding a prized school from the accountability system he’d implemented. Instead, Christel House’s C revealed a concern that it and other schools with odd multiple grade levels — rather than all high school, or all middle school, for example — could face a grading disadvantage, Bennett said.

By fixing the problem, Christel House — then K-10 — and a dozen other schools were affected, he said.

No need to be rigid, right? Let’s be fair. Flexible.

The urgency to apply flexibility in the name of fairness apparently was not as intense in 2011 when two Indianapolis public schools faced a similar situation, according to an Indianapolis Star report. That year, Bennett denied requests by Indianapolis Arlington and Howe high schools for flexibility in the assessment of their schools’ overall grades in the state’s A-F system, the Star story said. The schools faced a state takeover after six consecutive years of F ratings, but Indianapolis Public Schools chief Eugene White reasoned that both made sufficient gains in grades 9-12 to earn a D, if low scores by the Arlington and Howe middle-schoolers weren’t counted.

Bennett took a rules-are-rules approach then, dismissing White’s accusations that the formula was unfair.

“We could, all day, try to find a way of making the figures work, but the calculations being used and addressed today are the calculations we have used since 1999,” Bennett said then, the Star reported.

Those two schools each received an F.

Were those low grades “a HUGE problem”? Probably for the people pulling for those two public schools to turn the corner and climb in the A-F school accountability ratings. But for the national school-reform movement? Not so much. Thus, it wasn’t surprising to see an Indianapolis Public Schools board member, Michael Brown, question the different handling by Bennett of the Arlington and Howe low-grade situation, and that of Christel House.

With Christel House, flexibility was used. With Arlington and Howe, a state takeover occurred.

It’s not illogical to wonder whether the influence of the reform movement that Bennett champions — including private companies hired to manage schools taken over by a state, and corporations with political agendas — inspires more consideration when “a HUGE problem” arises at one of their model schools. Their A-F ratings, billed as an “accountability” system, has an ironic accountability problem.

The state needs to look into that, said Brown, the IPS board member.

“If the system was skewed to benefit Christel House Academy, then it was skewed to hurt IPS?” Brown told the Star. “That concerns me more than anything else.”

The system and its accountability have broad ramifications. The A-F grades determine which schools face state takeovers, affect state-funded private school vouchers, and determine a school’s state funding level. A lofty school grade can attract homebuyers and businesses to that neighborhood, while a low grade delivers the opposite effect.

Critics of the A-F ratings have long insisted that school assessments are too complex to be accurately summarized with a letter grade. Bennett’s own explanation for the Christel House grade change seems to reinforce that criticism. Dozens, even hundreds of other schools across Indiana could legitimately contend their C or D would actually become a B or A if not for a flaw in the formula.

Which schools’ grades would be reconsidered?

Doubts as to that answer are understandable. State Republican leaders — who endorsed a majority of Bennett’s vast reform measures even after he lost last November’s election to Glenda Ritz — seem aware that public confidence in the system has been shaken. David Long, the Republican state Senate Pro Tem, called for annual third-party audits of the A-F ratings.

“The big issue is the fact that it would appear one or more school’s grade was manipulated. That’s completely unacceptable,” Long told The AP. “The system has to be one that all the schools, parents and kids can count on as being fair and impartial. If there’s one thing that can’t be allowed, it’s that any school grades can ever be allowed to be manipulated again.”

Diminished public trust is indeed a huge problem.

Terre Haute Tribune-Star columnist Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: We’re not only ones ready for springtime

    During the most recent of our numerous descents into polar temperatures, I was astounded to see a dozen or more robins up to their ankles in snow. They were fluffed out to about twice their normal size. I suppose that was an effort to provide a bit of feathered insulation against the cold.

    March 10, 2014

  • newpersp3:9 copy.jpg MARK BENNETT: New public-access point begins quest to create more spots to experience river

    Fairness holds no power over the Wabash River.

    March 8, 2014 3 Photos 1 Video

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Prosecutor Presses Pistorius at Murder Trial Scott Brown Announces Run for U.S. Senate in N.H Journalists Awarded Pulitzer for Snowden Reports New Tactic Deployed in Search for Plane Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Police: Blast in Nigerian Capital Kills 71 California's Ancient Redwood Trees Under Attack
NDN Video
8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Toddler climbs into vending machine Much-Anticipated 'Gone Girl' Trailer Finally Debuts! (VIDEO) Dog and Toddler Wear Matching Outfits in Adorable Photo Series VP Biden: "World witnesses ordinary citizens doing extraordinary things" It's Official! Michael Strahan Joins "GMA" Blood Moon Time-lapse Actress Lake Bell Goes Topless The Five Weirdest Local Taxes in America Applicants Vying for 'World's Toughest Job' Get Heartwarming Surprise Awkward: Crist catches Lt. Gov. insulting him on camera NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse US Airways Tweets Graphic Photo of Nude Woman Behind the scenes of the Marathon anniversary photo shoot American Airlines Responds After Girl Tweets Alleged Terror Threat 'Joke' Charlie White's "Dancing" Mistake Olympic Great & Baltimore Native Michael Phelps Ends Retirement; Eyes Rio 2014 NFL Draft: Potential Booms And Busts William and Kate Squash Baby No. 2 Rumors With a Wine-Tasting Trip Who Showed Up at Coachella?
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity