News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

April 14, 2013

MARK BENNETT: Performing under the radar: Toiling for years behind the scenes, Terre Haute native J.T. Corenflos finally earned a splash of musical recognition

TERRE HAUTE — People who diligently work to make others shine are a rare breed.

Ideally, their talent, delivered in humble anonymity, eventually gets recognized. Sometimes, the credit comes. Sometimes, it doesn’t.

The 2002 film, “Standing in the Shadows of Motown,” epitomizes the humble soul of a behind-the-scenes, role-playing craftsman. The documentary describes the lives of a dozen studio musicians who performed the distinct and crucial guitar, bass, keyboards, horns and percussion sounds on dozens of Top 40 singles recorded by now legendary singers in the 1960s and ’70s at fabled Motown Records in Detroit. Smokey Robinson, Diana Ross and the Supremes, Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye became household names. Few Americans know Joe Messina, Eddie Willis or Benny Benjamin.

It wasn’t until Motown’s final years in Detroit that session musicians such as Messina, Willis and Benjamin even got a credit on album jackets. Yet, those unmentioned virtuosos, who nicknamed themselves the Funk Brothers, played on more No. 1 hits than The Beatles, Elvis, the Rolling Stones and the Beach Boys combined.

In one poignant clip in the film, elderly Funk Brothers keyboardist Joe Hunter says, “We wonder, ‘Will anyone ever know who we are or what we did?’”

Some of the great, unheralded studio aces of a generation ago influenced J.T. Corenflos, as he practiced his guitar while growing up in Terre Haute. He heard veterans such as Memphis guitarist Reggie Young deftly pluck classic riffs behind Elvis Presley’s voice.

Today, Corenflos plays memorable notes on recordings by icons and rising stars on Music Row in Nashville, Tenn. Country music fans know those singers — Kenny Chesney, Reba McEntire, Tim McGraw, Alan Jackson, Rascal Flatts, Martina McBride, Brooks and Dunn and others. Meanwhile, Corenflos is best known inside music circles as one of a select handful of guitarists whose phone rings when an artist wants to record an album or single.

“I’ve had a lot of young players in Nashville tell me they grew up trying to learn licks on records I’ve played on,” Corenflos said last week, “and that’s pretty cool, because I was that kid once.”

Indeed, since the 1990s, nearly 100 songs featuring Corenflos’ guitar work have topped the Billboard Country charts. His face doesn’t grace those album covers. His credit comes on the inside cover, where a CD’s instrumentalists are listed in the fine print.

He’s low profile, but not forgotten.

Last Sunday, the Academy of Country Music handed out its 2013 awards in a dazzling show at Las Vegas, televised on CBS. Young singer Luke Bryan got Entertainer of the Year. Corenflos has played guitar on all of his albums. Eric Church won Album of the Year for “Chief.” Corenflos strummed chords and shredded notes on that one, too.

A few weeks earlier, the ACM also issued “off-camera” awards for musicians who perform outside the limelight. Corenflos received Guitarist of the Year for the first time in his career, which began in 1982 when he left Terre Haute for Nashville at age 18. He’d been nominated 10 consecutive years for that ACM honor, but had never won.

“Finally,” Corenflos said, with a chuckle, by telephone from Nashville last week.

Millions of television viewers weren’t watching when he found out, but the moment was special nonetheless.

On a lunch break from a recording session, Corenflos walked out to his pickup truck to check messages on his cellphone. “I had four or five texts that all started with, ‘Congratulations,’” he recalled. “And I said, ‘Congratulations for what?’”

Then he opened the text from Jacob, his 15-year-old son, who was informing his dad that he was the ACM Guitarist of the Year. After a decade of nominations, he held no expectations, especially with two former winners on the 2013 list — Brent Mason (11 ACMs) and Tom Bukovac (two).

Typically modest, Corenflos said, “Every year, with the other guys on the list, anybody could’ve won.”

This time, though, it was him, and others appreciate the work behind his award. That legion includes Church, whose “Chief” album won not only an ACM but also a Grammy nomination.

“J.T. is that one kind of musician who understands and sees a song’s destination in the studio,” Church said in a statement to the Tribune-Star last week. “He plays exactly what needs to be played to help the song make its journey. It’s always enough; it’s never too much. In short, he is one of the best.”

That creative journey unfolded with Church’s single “Creepin’” as they rehearsed songs for the “Chief” album. Church repeats the title word scores of times on the tongue-in-cheek, eerie track. As they prepped in the studio, Church and Corenflos did some musical sparring with the word, mimicking the other’s sounds with guitar and voice. “We were just kind of going back and forth,” Corenflos said. “I’d play a lick and he’d sing it back to me. Then he’d sing one, and I’d play it back. That went on for 10 minutes.”

Such intuition, coupled with Corenflos’ easy-going demeanor, appeals to artists. He reminds young guitarists of the need for people skills.

“It’s almost like any other business — everybody’s good,” he said, “but who do [recording artists] want to see sitting in that chair?”

Last week, it was songwriter Bobby Braddock. Like a session musician, Braddock may be unknown to Average Joes and Janes listening to the radio, but his resume rings bells. His 13 No. 1 hits, spread over four decades, include George Jones’ “He Stopped Loving Her Today,” Tammy Wynette’s “D-I-V-O-R-C-E” and Billy Currington’s “People Are Crazy.” Braddock, a Country Music Hall of Famer, needed to cut a demo of his latest songs and sought Corenflos’ guitar work.

Corenflos comes armed with a trunk stocked with a dozen guitars, built for sound not flash. There’s a “parts guitar,” blended from a 1956 Fender Esquire neck and a Telecaster body, customized 28 years ago to fit Corenflos. He’s got a Gretsch 6120, a Gibson 335, and a ’73 Les Paul Deluxe, among others. By now, he knows which instrument packs the sound the singer seeks. And, of course, Corenflos can then produce that tone, masterfully.

One project, under way since last summer, has put Corenflos on the other side of the recording process. The 49-year-old compiled his first solo album. All of the songs are original instrumentals, crafted with fellow session musicians. He plans to release it independently, once he gets a website built. The working title for the album fits perfectly, just like his session performances…

“Somewhere Under the Radar.”

Asked if he’d have to reconsider that after winning the ACM, Corenflos just laughed.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • wefight.jpg Feeling carried: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Son has a knack for rescuing lost birds

    I think the excitement of last week is over — for now. It all began when Number One son opened the door to a storage area and found a small bird, very much alive. Because my family likes to talk in a soothing voice to all animals, Number One assured the little guy that he was not to worry. “I’ll take you back outside so you can find your family.” Oddly enough, the little bird calmed down and sat quietly in our son’s hand until he put it down outside.

    June 17, 2014

  • tsBennett MARK BENNETT: Dad-to-dad advice

    Giving unsolicited advice is like offering somebody else your toothbrush, because it’s worked so well for you.

    June 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Looking back on yet another birthday

    I have a birthday this week. And, I suppose that like some of you, I tend to look back over the lifespan to reflect on how it has been going.

    June 13, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Tony Awards

    The opening of the Tony Awards saw Hugh Jackman hopping down Broadway, into the theatre, down the aisle, a big leap onto the stage, then back stage and back out to start the show … all the time hopping like the Wolverine that he is.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: An American Soldier

    The cover of Time magazine this past week had a picture of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl, and emblazoned under the picture were the words, “WAS HE WORTH IT?” And the answer is … YES!

    June 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Liz Ciancone.jpg LIZ CIANCONE: Dental gains came with far less pain

    Sometimes I wonder if the “good old days” were all they are cracked up to be. I’ll give you the “old” but the jury is still out on “good.”

    June 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • MARK BENNETT: The road ahead

    An invisible force shield — just like those found in comic books — formed a barrier between us and the edge of that road.

    June 7, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why I still have faith in Congress

    It’s depressing to read poll after poll highlighting Americans’ utter disdain for Congress.

    June 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Radio Movement

    It seems as if the radio market is living up to the show business reputation of the only thing constant is change.

    June 5, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stench of the VA

    The Veterans Administration medical service has been an ill-run situation for American veterans for years. It goes back to Richard Nixon’s inability to get anything done, to John Kennedy permitting the use of Agent Orange to get rid of the foliage in Vietnam.

    June 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Programs from past can still be the best

    I was playing with the channel selector the other evening and lucked upon my Best Friend’s favorite movie. We sat up until all hours until the credits for “Twelve O’clock High” signaled that it was all over.

    June 2, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Generational ‘Catch 22’

    Baby Boomers’ long run of cultural dominance gradually gives way to America’s 22-year-olds

    May 31, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The dangers of a melting shelf

    According to the scientists who study and know about these things, the west Antarctic ice sheet is melting faster than expected, and the resulting rise in sea levels will change the globe in all parts of the world.

    May 30, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Raw: Stunning Timelapse of WC Final Host City Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court LeBron: Move Back to Cleveland 'Exciting' World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire Israel Widens Attack As Gaza Death Toll Rises Raw: Militants, Israelis Exchange Rocket Fire Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Netherlands Beats Host Brazil 3-0 to Finish 3rd Robot Writes Jewish Torah Scroll Diaz and Segel Strip Off for 'Sex Tape' WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' Raw: Brazil Fans Cry After World Cup Loss Arizona Mom of Missing Baby Released From Prison Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Argentina to Face Germany in World Cup Final Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters
NDN Video
Cellphone Video Shows Assault Tracy Morgan released from rehab month after crash LeBron: Move Back to Cleveland 'Exciting' Cleveland welcomes home LeBron Houston Killer Collapses in Court When Read Capital Murder Charges for Allegedly Killing Family of Six Worst Valet Ever Wrecks $500K Lamborghini Glee Star Becca Tobin's Boyfriend Matt Bendik Found Dead in Hotel Aerial fish restocking in Utah ScarJo Channels Marilyn Monroe Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity