News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

February 8, 2014

MARK BENNETT: Yeah, yeah, yeah... For some grownups, first impression not so fab

TERRE HAUTE — We’re pretty smart here in middle America.

Our DNA carries the common-sense chromosome. From birth, Midwestern culture begins honing us into the most rational and perceptive of human beings. Sure, our prisons are full, but generally, we mean well. And we’re wise.

With maybe one exception, back in 1963. Some grownups in the heartland got a sneak preview of The Beatles a year before 73 million other Americans met the Fab Four — 50 years ago today on the “Ed Sullivan Show.” Midwesterners heard those twentysomething foreigners first and weren’t impressed.

Oops.

On a 2006 visit to Terre Haute, Louise Harrison recalled the shrug The Beatles’ sound received when she took the earliest recordings by her “kid brother’s band” from Liverpool, England, to radio stations in Illinois and elsewhere in 1963. Louise moved from the UK to the USA that year, when her husband’s coal mining job shifted to the southern Illinois town of Benton. Her sibling, George, 11 years younger, played lead guitar for The Beatles back in Britain.

Louise tried to get Americans to listen. Unfortunately, programming directors at the stations were mostly male, and responded to her pleas with condescension and chauvinism.

“They said, ‘You should go home and take care of your husband and stop worrying about your kid brother’s band. Nobody’s ever going to listen to that,’” Louise remembered in a presentation to captivated students and faculty at Sarah Scott Middle School eight years ago. Her quip drew chuckles from the adults in the school gym.

Louise went to Sarah Scott at the invitation of former principal Mark Miller, who well understood her connection to history. He told the youngsters, “I don’t know if you realize what we’ve got here, but for people my age, this is like having the president’s sister here.” With all due respect to Miller — a friend and my former freshman baseball coach — meeting Louise was better than meeting any president’s sister. There have been 45 presidents. There were only four Beatles.

I guess Miller’s analogy could apply. For Lincoln aficionados, this was like meeting Abe’s sister. It was surreal and amazing.

Louise came to tell their story and promote the Liverpool Legends, a tribute band based in Branson, Mo., and I had the chance to talk at length with her. At 74, she spoke with enthusiasm that sparkled in her sharp blue eyes. Her bright smile and Livepudlian accent conjured images of her late brother, who died of lung cancer in 2001. She brought photos of herself, roaming backstage at the Ed Sullivan Theater in New York on the night George and his mates debuted in America.

Like billions elsewhere, I’ve enjoyed their music since buying my first 45 — “Hello, Goodbye” — at the Terre Haute Kmart at 25th and Wabash. I was 7 years old, and decades later, I can still visualize standing in the checkout line with my folks, reading the record’s label and smelling the onions from the submarine sandwiches the store sold near its entrance. Beatles memories are like that — they stick.

That’s why so many people will recount their whereabouts on Feb. 9, 1964, when the foursome burst onto TV screens from Boston to Albuquerque. Just 3 then, I was too young to maintain a clear memory of it, but I’m sure our family — like 40 percent of the U.S. population — watched Ed’s “really big shoo” that night. Households didn’t have a flat-screen in every room of the house in those days. They had one television set. The whole family watched the same program, like it or not.

On Feb. 9, 1964, most Americans — especially the younger ones — liked what they heard and saw.

A youthful mind tends to be more open, thank goodness, and not every radio station turned down The Beatles when Louise showed up with their single, “From Me To You” in the summer of 1963, eight months before the “Ed Sullivan Show.” The documentary, “A Beatle in Benton,” detailed George Harrison’s trip to southern Illinois in September 1963 to visit Louise (and check out the United States). George stayed 18 days, played with a local combo at the Benton VFW, wowing the crowd, stunned by “the Elvis of England,” as he was introduced.

A few months earlier, as Louise trekked from town to town, trying to get a DJ to play “From Me To You,” she made a stop at a station in West Frankfort, Ill. A young female DJ, high-schooler Marcia Raubach, played the record on WFRX-AM, according to the documentary and a story in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. When George came to scope out America that September, he and his big sister dropped in at WFRX, and the station aired the single, “She Loves You.”

A teenager in small-town Illinois gave The Beatles their first exposure in America before Ed Sullivan.

For all those stations who told Louise “no,” a high-schooler said yeah, yeah, yeah. Kids can be wise.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • MS. TAKES: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • MET071614band.jpg MARK BENNETT: Are you ready for some oom-pah along the banks of the Wabash?

    Any time I hear Curtis Mayfield’s “Superfly,” the sound transports me to 1973, when that classic song bubbled from my parents’ car radio on the drive to Sheridan Park for my youth football games.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Son has a knack for rescuing lost birds

    I think the excitement of last week is over — for now. It all began when Number One son opened the door to a storage area and found a small bird, very much alive. Because my family likes to talk in a soothing voice to all animals, Number One assured the little guy that he was not to worry. “I’ll take you back outside so you can find your family.” Oddly enough, the little bird calmed down and sat quietly in our son’s hand until he put it down outside.

    June 17, 2014

  • tsBennett MARK BENNETT: Dad-to-dad advice

    Giving unsolicited advice is like offering somebody else your toothbrush, because it’s worked so well for you.

    June 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Looking back on yet another birthday

    I have a birthday this week. And, I suppose that like some of you, I tend to look back over the lifespan to reflect on how it has been going.

    June 13, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Tony Awards

    The opening of the Tony Awards saw Hugh Jackman hopping down Broadway, into the theatre, down the aisle, a big leap onto the stage, then back stage and back out to start the show … all the time hopping like the Wolverine that he is.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: An American Soldier

    The cover of Time magazine this past week had a picture of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl, and emblazoned under the picture were the words, “WAS HE WORTH IT?” And the answer is … YES!

    June 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Liz Ciancone.jpg LIZ CIANCONE: Dental gains came with far less pain

    Sometimes I wonder if the “good old days” were all they are cracked up to be. I’ll give you the “old” but the jury is still out on “good.”

    June 9, 2014 1 Photo

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Raw: Plane Lands on New York Highway Recording May Show Attempt at Crash Cover-up AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Shark Sightings a Big Catch for Cape Tourism Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: Gaza City Shelling Attack 45 Years Later, Buzz Aldrin on Walking on Moon Wisc. Twins Celebrate a Century of Laughter Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast
NDN Video
Obama: Putin must push separatists to aid MH17 probe Michigan inmates no longer allowed to wear orange due to 'OITNB' Adam Levine Ties the Knot Sebastian The Ibis Walks Beautiful Bride Down The Aisle | ACC Must See Moment NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Faces of Souls Lost in Malaysian Plane Crash 105-year-old woman throws first pitch Man Creates Spreadsheet of Wife's Reasons for Turning Down Sex 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success Rory McIlroy struggles, surges, wins British Open NOW TRENDING: Real life Pac-Man Explosions as hot air balloon crashes in Clinton DUI Driver Dragged to Safety by Officer After Walking Onto Busy Freeway Celebrities That We'd Like to Send to the Moon Spectacular lightning storm hits London Malaysian Flight Victim Was South Florida Grad Rory McIlroy on pace to break British Open records Officials Fear MH17 Site Now Tampered by Rebels Lowes employees repair Vietnam vet's wheelchair Widow of Staten Island man who died after NYPD takedown says he was unjustifiably targeted
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity