News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

January 20, 2014

LIZ CIANCONE: How can we stop the flow of unwanted postal mail?

TERRE HAUTE — I eagerly await a sign-up for something similar to the do-not-call list. I want a “do-not-mail” list.

There are a few holes in the do-not-call arrangement, but I’m willing to settle for a few unfiltered calls and would be dancing in the street strewing rose petals if only I could stem the flood of unwanted mail.

I brought in the day’s offering from the mailbox on the same day I went out to buy “forever” stamps. (Please note that those stamps are “forever” at the current price. It means that they are legal the next time you need a stamp, even if it is a couple of years in the future.) Most of the mail on that day, as it is on most days, consisted of appeals for money. We did get a copy of a magazine to which we have subscribed for years, so at least I had something to read. It didn’t all end in the recycle bin.

What remains an annoyance to me is that I have to pay an awful lot more than the non-profit groups for the privilege of sending a letter through the mail — sometimes twice or three times more. One of that day’s appeals was mailed for 8 cents while the other two did not want to reveal what their postage cost them. Their “stamp” simply noted that it was a not-for-profit agency. I’ll bet it costs the Post Service as much to deliver these as it does magazines and mail I actually want to receive.

There are dozens of worthy causes. I prefer to support the local ones, but most of those I receive seem to have enough operating capital to pay thousands of dollars to administrators who supervise, I suppose, the folks who bundle up the appeal, lick the envelope and ship it off to mailboxes like mine. I figure they might as well save the small change and call it my contribution.

Some send little gifts. Not long ago, I received an acrylic throw to keep my knees warm when I sit. It was regifted to Goodwill to warm other knees during the recent cold snap. I really do feel guilty about using gifts I don’t pay for, so I pass it on. I cannot pass along the return address labels and right now I have enough of those to wallpaper the living room.

It’s not the mailman’s fault. Congress wants the Post Service run like a business, then it has tied the hands of that office by requiring it to do things not demanded of other businesses. For example, they want the Post Service to pre-fund its retirement plan. No other business is asked to do this, but the Post Service has not been offered a bailout to match that given other businesses and that is a service of benefit to me, and others, who still like to write and receive letters.

Someone put me down for a “do-not-mail” list. Please.

Liz Ciancone is a retired

Tribune-Star reporter. Send email to opinion@tribstar.com.


 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • wefight.jpg Feeling carried: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Son has a knack for rescuing lost birds

    I think the excitement of last week is over — for now. It all began when Number One son opened the door to a storage area and found a small bird, very much alive. Because my family likes to talk in a soothing voice to all animals, Number One assured the little guy that he was not to worry. “I’ll take you back outside so you can find your family.” Oddly enough, the little bird calmed down and sat quietly in our son’s hand until he put it down outside.

    June 17, 2014

  • tsBennett MARK BENNETT: Dad-to-dad advice

    Giving unsolicited advice is like offering somebody else your toothbrush, because it’s worked so well for you.

    June 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Looking back on yet another birthday

    I have a birthday this week. And, I suppose that like some of you, I tend to look back over the lifespan to reflect on how it has been going.

    June 13, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Tony Awards

    The opening of the Tony Awards saw Hugh Jackman hopping down Broadway, into the theatre, down the aisle, a big leap onto the stage, then back stage and back out to start the show … all the time hopping like the Wolverine that he is.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: An American Soldier

    The cover of Time magazine this past week had a picture of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl, and emblazoned under the picture were the words, “WAS HE WORTH IT?” And the answer is … YES!

    June 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Liz Ciancone.jpg LIZ CIANCONE: Dental gains came with far less pain

    Sometimes I wonder if the “good old days” were all they are cracked up to be. I’ll give you the “old” but the jury is still out on “good.”

    June 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • MARK BENNETT: The road ahead

    An invisible force shield — just like those found in comic books — formed a barrier between us and the edge of that road.

    June 7, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why I still have faith in Congress

    It’s depressing to read poll after poll highlighting Americans’ utter disdain for Congress.

    June 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Radio Movement

    It seems as if the radio market is living up to the show business reputation of the only thing constant is change.

    June 5, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stench of the VA

    The Veterans Administration medical service has been an ill-run situation for American veterans for years. It goes back to Richard Nixon’s inability to get anything done, to John Kennedy permitting the use of Agent Orange to get rid of the foliage in Vietnam.

    June 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Programs from past can still be the best

    I was playing with the channel selector the other evening and lucked upon my Best Friend’s favorite movie. We sat up until all hours until the credits for “Twelve O’clock High” signaled that it was all over.

    June 2, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Generational ‘Catch 22’

    Baby Boomers’ long run of cultural dominance gradually gives way to America’s 22-year-olds

    May 31, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The dangers of a melting shelf

    According to the scientists who study and know about these things, the west Antarctic ice sheet is melting faster than expected, and the resulting rise in sea levels will change the globe in all parts of the world.

    May 30, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire Raw: Stunning Timelapse of WC Final Host City Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Raw: Militants, Israelis Exchange Rocket Fire Israel Widens Attack As Gaza Death Toll Rises Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Netherlands Beats Host Brazil 3-0 to Finish 3rd Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Raw: Sirens Blare Over Jerusalem Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters Diaz and Segel Strip Off for 'Sex Tape' Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues Raw: Rebel Leader Weds in Eastern Ukraine Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale LeBron: Move Back to Cleveland 'Exciting' FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Arizona Mom of Missing Baby Released From Prison
NDN Video
Cleveland welcomes home LeBron Houston Killer Collapses in Court When Read Capital Murder Charges for Allegedly Killing Family of Six Worst Valet Ever Wrecks $500K Lamborghini Glee Star Becca Tobin's Boyfriend Matt Bendik Found Dead in Hotel Aerial fish restocking in Utah ScarJo Channels Marilyn Monroe Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity