News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

May 22, 2010

MARK BENNETT: You know what downtown needs? ISU is trying to answer that question and bring in those businesses

TERRE HAUTE — A Waffle House, lit up and open at 1 a.m. in downtown Terre Haute, might be a welcome sight for some folks.

So would a restaurant and entertainment spot, like the Texas-based chain Dave & Busters. Or a Trader Joe’s specialty grocery store. Or informal eateries such as Chili’s (Southwestern food) and Qdoba Mexican Grill. Or an apparel shop like Urban Outfitters. Or a brews-burgers-and-blues place like Scotty’s Brewhouse.

For years, generations of Hauteans have uttered the same phrase, “You know what downtown Terre Haute needs?” and then answered it with, “Well, how about a (fill in the blank)?”

The blanks always get filled in, rhetorically. But the businesses rarely materialize.

Now, an effort is under way to give those ideas a fighting chance. The odds of success look promising, because the potential cornerstone of the downtown economy, Indiana State University, is driving the plan — called “Energize Downtown Terre Haute” — along with the Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce. Their goal is another familiar fill-in-the-blank for this city — “to create a great college town.”

The group polled students from ISU, Rose-Hulman, St. Mary-of-the-Woods and Ivy Tech this spring, asking their opinions of the downtown’s appeal (or lack thereof), and their ideas for businesses they’d like to see added. This summer and fall, Energize Downtown will survey the colleges’ faculty and staff, asking the same questions. Then, the committee will ask downtown merchants and owners of existing property and vacant buildings, “Are you willing to work with somebody to put in a new retail establishment?”

Finally, the Energize people would present a packet of information on downtown Terre Haute to those sought-after businesses.

Committee member Pete Wilson, owner of The Coffee Grounds at 423 Wabash Ave. and Smoke ’N’ Peace next door, thinks the Energize Downtown effort might yield tangible results. “This is the first time I’ve been part of something that has some legs to it,” Wilson said.

ISU’s involvement, linked to its longterm strategic plan, puts running shoes on those legs. If Hauteans want the most vibrant downtown possible here, they have to play the college-town card. And to become a college town, the downtown district has to appeal to college kids, their parents, profs, campus staffers and alums. The end result can re-connect the rest of the community to a downtown many stopped frequenting years ago.

The surveys will clarify what people want and what property owners are willing to do, said Chris Pfaff, who co-chairs the Energize Downtown committee with Maggie Slaven of the ISU Foundation. Pfaff also serves as director of the ISU Center for Business Support and Economic Innovation. The 42-year-old Pfaff is a native Hautean and a 1985 Terre Haute North High School grad, just like his wife. They moved back to Terre Haute 13 years ago, and have a young family. Pfaff recently returned from a stint in Afghanistan as a U.S. Army trainer with the Indiana National Guard.

This is “home,” Pfaff said. Bringing new shops, restaurants and groceries to its heart isn’t simple, obviously.

Some lingering roadblocks must be confronted. “One of the obstacles is the condition of existing properties,” Pfaff said. “I think we have to invest in ourselves to make downtown Terre Haute vibrant.”

Restoration work has been ongoing with several historic downtown buildings. Filling those with available vacant space is an important step. “Some of the building owners need to be a little bit more proactive,” Wilson said.

Convincing prospective retailers and restaurants to locate in those downtown Terre Haute structures requires signs of potential profits — a density of people to patronize their businesses. If the company execs came to the downtown on a scouting trip, they probably wouldn’t see many people moving around.

“That’s working against us right now,” Pfaff said, as well as the need for more upstairs housing.

“But I don’t think [the obstacles] are insurmountable,” he added.

Three significant infusions of activity are on the way, and could pry open the door for more. The new Barnes & Noble campus bookstore is under construction at Fourth and Cherry streets. ISU’s School of Business will move from the Statesman Towers on North Ninth Street into the former Federal Building at Seventh and Cherry. And the university strategic plan calls for new student housing to be developed, possibly south of Cherry Street, Pfaff said.

Those bright spots, along with a strong, resilient lineup of local shops, bars and restaurants, provide a strong base for the Energize Downtown project. “We’ve got a good start,” said Wilson, a 43-year-old Terre Haute native. “We just need a little more variety.”

The Energize Downtown group wants to find that variety. The Indiana-based Scotty’s Brewhouse would fit in well, Pfaff said. Scott Wise founded the pub-restaurants in 1996 and brought them to the campus towns of Bloomington (home of IU), West Lafayette (Purdue) and Muncie (Ball State), as well as northside Indianapolis, downtown Indy and the Geist district. Scotty’s employs more than 600 people statewide.

Wise “is the type of person we want to get Terre Haute in front of,” Pfaff said.

On Thursday, Wise said his primary new project is brewing a Scotty’s beer in Broad Ripple. Opening a Terre Haute brewhouse is not currently on his radar, but “the reason I never say never is that if you make me an offer I can’t refuse, it’s just that.”

At least now, with the Energize Downtown effort, the community has an opportunity to decide what it wants and what it’s willing to offer to get it.

Mark Bennett can be reached at (812) 231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Small Reactors Could Be Future of Nuclear Energy New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Human Antidepressants Making Shrimp Too Calm Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Swiss Unveil New Solar Plane for Global Flight Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus NASA Releases Images of "graceful" Solar Flare
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity