News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

August 21, 2012

Liz Ciancone: Fascination with Amelia Earhart still strong

I’ve always admired Amelia Earhart. I liked her haircut and admired that she lived her life on her own terms. Like the rest of the world, I’ve wondered whatever happened to her.

It was more than 70 years ago that she and her co-pilot disappeared over the South Pacific and what was to have been the first around-the-world flight by a woman.

There have been many guesses about what might have happened. At first it was assumed that her plane simply ran out of fuel leaving no place to land in the vast expanse of water. Then there was talk that she had been forced down by hostile Japanese aircraft trying to maintain secrecy as Japan constructed a military base on one of those tiny islands in the Pacific.

Even more recently, talk has accused her co-pilot who, rumor has it, was more dedicated to the bottle than to the task at hand. Who knows? Yet, people remain curious, and so do I.

Now another group has sailed to Nikumaroro, a tiny uninhabited island in the southwestern Pacific’s Republic of Kiribati in an effort to find some answers and,perhaps a few remains of her aircraft. I eagerly read an article about the expedition hoping to find a plausible explanation or even a definite resolution to the question of what happened to Amelia. It didn’t happen

Ric Gillespie, founder and executive director of TIGHAT, led an 18-member research crew to the island hoping to find an answer, but if I hoped to find all revealed, I was disappointed. Gillespie is the author of “Finding Amelia: The True Story of the Earhart Disappearance” so I figured he had a new theory at the very least. Besides, his book was published by the U.S. Naval Institute Press which added an extra dollop of possibility. The article only whetted by curiosity. If I want my curiosity satisfied, the article suggested that I tune in the Discovery Channel and watch “Finding Amelia Earhart: Mystery Solved.”

You’d think the article would have given more of a hint than that! At the very least, it should be a fascinating program. There are no upscale hotels or grocery stores or gift shops on uninhabited islands, so the 18-member crew roughed it on a small boat. Their ordeal, if not Amelia’s, should make for interesting viewing.

I’ll be watching the television guide.

Liz Ciancone is a retired Tribune-Star reporter. Send e-mail to opinion@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Teamwork

    Teamwork. You remember the drill. In the movie “Hoosiers,” the coach demanded four passes before anything else happened on the court. The idea of teamwork is you work toward a victory by making sure your self-interest doesn’t come before the team.

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: World Cup

    I remember in junior high school, in physical education class, we were told to meet outside. The track and baseball diamond were in back of the school. We were met with a small, dimpled ball and the teacher told us it was soccer. It is played all over the world and you can use your head, your body and your feet, but not your hands. I decided then it was not a game for me.

    June 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • MS. TAKES: Words no one wants to hear: ‘At your age’

    The other evening, a friend limped into the dining room. Judging from the grimace, she was in some degree of pain, so I asked if she had fallen.

    June 23, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Great effort brings rewards

    I want to tip my hat to young David Fuson who has become the spokesperson for the family business.

    June 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Iraq, again

    Mohammad, the prophet of Islam, lifted into Heaven on a rock, on a hill, in Jerusalem. The binding of military might and strategies, and a religion that was meant for everyone, began to fall apart at that time in history.

    June 19, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stanley Cup

    I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy, a proud American who wants to see the USA win just about everything — except the Stanley Cup.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Son has a knack for rescuing lost birds

    I think the excitement of last week is over — for now. It all began when Number One son opened the door to a storage area and found a small bird, very much alive. Because my family likes to talk in a soothing voice to all animals, Number One assured the little guy that he was not to worry. “I’ll take you back outside so you can find your family.” Oddly enough, the little bird calmed down and sat quietly in our son’s hand until he put it down outside.

    June 17, 2014

  • tsBennett MARK BENNETT: Dad-to-dad advice

    Giving unsolicited advice is like offering somebody else your toothbrush, because it’s worked so well for you.

    June 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Looking back on yet another birthday

    I have a birthday this week. And, I suppose that like some of you, I tend to look back over the lifespan to reflect on how it has been going.

    June 13, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Tony Awards

    The opening of the Tony Awards saw Hugh Jackman hopping down Broadway, into the theatre, down the aisle, a big leap onto the stage, then back stage and back out to start the show … all the time hopping like the Wolverine that he is.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: An American Soldier

    The cover of Time magazine this past week had a picture of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl, and emblazoned under the picture were the words, “WAS HE WORTH IT?” And the answer is … YES!

    June 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Liz Ciancone.jpg LIZ CIANCONE: Dental gains came with far less pain

    Sometimes I wonder if the “good old days” were all they are cracked up to be. I’ll give you the “old” but the jury is still out on “good.”

    June 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • MARK BENNETT: The road ahead

    An invisible force shield — just like those found in comic books — formed a barrier between us and the edge of that road.

    June 7, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why I still have faith in Congress

    It’s depressing to read poll after poll highlighting Americans’ utter disdain for Congress.

    June 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Radio Movement

    It seems as if the radio market is living up to the show business reputation of the only thing constant is change.

    June 5, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stench of the VA

    The Veterans Administration medical service has been an ill-run situation for American veterans for years. It goes back to Richard Nixon’s inability to get anything done, to John Kennedy permitting the use of Agent Orange to get rid of the foliage in Vietnam.

    June 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Programs from past can still be the best

    I was playing with the channel selector the other evening and lucked upon my Best Friend’s favorite movie. We sat up until all hours until the credits for “Twelve O’clock High” signaled that it was all over.

    June 2, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Generational ‘Catch 22’

    Baby Boomers’ long run of cultural dominance gradually gives way to America’s 22-year-olds

    May 31, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The dangers of a melting shelf

    According to the scientists who study and know about these things, the west Antarctic ice sheet is melting faster than expected, and the resulting rise in sea levels will change the globe in all parts of the world.

    May 30, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Not too short to kill

    The young man who went on a 10-minute rampage killing six people and wounding others was pathologically upset with his situation in life. He was deeply depressed by the fact he had been rejected by some of the women at a local college, UC Santa Barbara, in California.

    May 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Decoration Day 2014

    As I understand the history of Memorial Day, it began in upper New York State and the ladies of various churches putting flowers on the graves of fallen Civil War soldiers.

    May 27, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Ethics

    Somehow or other, in the days when I was a student, I never had a class in ethics. Since I started being interested in history at an early age, I remember something Aristotle, the Greek philosopher, said. (He was a tutor to Alexander the Great.) Not quoting verbatim, he said greed always gets in the way of good ethics.

    May 22, 2014 1 Photo

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Rocket Explodes Over Israeli Wedding Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Raw: Brazil Fans Cry After World Cup Loss Weaver Reprises Ripley Role for 'Alien' Game Raw: World's Tallest Water Slide Opens Thursday Raw: Stampede in Rio During World Cup Sterling Testifies in Los Angeles Clippers Trial Track Owners Fight to End Greyhound Racing Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Mississippi River Flooding Likely to Slow Down Germany Crushes Brazil in 7-1 Win at World Cup Cleveland Picked to Host 2016 GOP Convention Raw: Palestinians Clash With Israeli Forces Man Finds Venomous Snake in Toilet Raw: Panic in Tel Aviv As Siren Warns of Attack Giant Whale Vacuumed in New York City Raw: 10-year Sentence for Ex-New Orleans Mayor Raw: Truck Crash Spills Turkeys on Va. Highway Today in History for July 9th Tornadoes Kill Four in Central New York
NDN Video
Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1 'Purrmanently Sad Cat' Looks Adorably Sad All the Time Pharrell 'humbled' by success of mega-hit 'Happy' Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Jennifer Lawrence Facepalms Emma Watson Athletes Bare All for ESPN Magazine's Body Issue Raw: Brazil Fans Leaving Stadium Before Half Andi Dorfman Walks Out During the Rose Ceremony 5 Firework Fails for July 4th Justin Bieber Catches Tom Hanks Getting Down, Showing ‘How We Do It Big shoes to fill for Brazil ahead of Germany clash Man's 'Potato Salad' Plea Takes Off on Kickstarter Joan Rivers Storms Out of Interview Watch: A turtle and dog play ball Yikes! This Jet is Way Too Close Late-Night Highlight: Ben Falcone Screwed Up His Proposal To Melissa McCarthy Jenny and Sherri Talk "View" Departure
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity