News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion Columns

September 16, 2012

MARK BENNETT: Awareness of a growing hunger problem requires empathy

TERRE HAUTE — Forty-one thousand people.

A story behind each one.

People often presume they know the reasons others show up at a soup kitchen or food pantry.

John Etling figured he understood the motivation of a teenager who came to the Terre Haute Catholic Charities and the Ryves Youth Center buildings on Locust Street. Etling, agency director for Terre Haute Catholic Charities, was guiding a tour of the facilities for a local service group when the boy asked him to shoot some hoops in the gym, before getting lunch at the hall’s kitchen.

When the tour ended, Etling did just that. Other kids, watching the two play basketball, asked the teen if Etling was his dad.

“And he turned and looked at me, and said, ‘Yes. That’s my dad,’” Etling told members of various hunger-relief agencies gathered last Thursday morning in the Ryves dining hall.

Moved and humbled by the moment, Etling later asked the boy his story. His parents, both substance abusers, had just divorced and left. His brother was in juvenile detention. This teenager was abandoned. Alone. Homeless. “Couch-surfing,” a desperate practice in which discarded young people sleep in the homes of friends and anybody else who’ll take them in.

“And here, all I thought this kid was in need of was a nutritious meal,” Etling said, as the audience listened in silence.

The cause prompting Thursday’s assembly, and several other upcoming events, was Hunger Action Month, marked throughout September. The activities include this week’s United Way of the Wabash Valley/Terre Haute Catholic Charities Hunger Challenge. That project asks local residents — those who don’t have to worry about the source of their next meal — to eat for one week on $29.27 worth of food groceries. The figure represents the average weekly total that Vigo County recipients of food stamps (now known as Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP, benefits) have to spend on groceries. That comes to $4.18 a day.

The number of Vigo County households receiving those benefits rose from 7,551 in 2011 to 8,051 this year. In west-central Indiana, 41,000 residents, including 13,500 children, live in “food insecurity,” according to Catholic Charities. The term refers to people with limited or uncertain access to nutritionally adequate and safe foods, acquired in “socially acceptable ways.” In this region, 1 in 6 people is food insecure. Among children, 1 in 4 lives at risk of hunger.

Such statistics surprise many people.

Recently, Etling took a successful local businessman on a tour of Catholic Charities and Ryves, explaining that 54 percent of students in the Vigo County School Corp. receive free or reduced-cost lunches. More than half. In 2000, just a dozen years ago, the figure was 35 percent.

The businessman reacted similarly to others who’ve learned of the startling numbers. “The common response is, ‘I never knew. I had no idea,’” Etling said.

Their reactions are understandable, human nature. “I think sometimes we have our blinders on,” he said.

Indeed, thousands of people living in and around Terre Haute have never stood in line for meals or food goods at the Light House Mission, Ryves, Catholic Charities, the Salvation Army, or church food pantries. Unfortunately, many of us — despite that lack of firsthand knowledge — presume to know the reasons others find themselves standing in those lines or receiving food-assistance benefits, and figure they simply need to find a job and a way out of welfare.

The thing is, that’s not the reality. Less than 2 percent of emergency-food recipients receive welfare benefits, according to research by Feeding America. One-third of emergency-food recipients drew the main source of income from a job in the previous month. There’s more — 65 percent of food-pantry clients are women, 96 percent are U.S. citizens, and 67 percent are registered voters.

Many are senior citizens. Many are kids.

All have a different story — stories most of us don’t know.

At Catholic Charities, those seeking food are frequently “single women, and single women with children,” said Jennifer Buell, the agency’s development director. “The life situations vary in how they get to that point.” Some have seen their family break apart. Some are financially broke from insurmountable medical bills. Some just lost their jobs. Though meals provided at places like the Catholic Charities food bank and soup kitchen come at no financial cost to the recipient, all have paid a price in other ways, Etling said, in terms of self-esteem, confidence or dignity.

Many of them never dreamed they’d be asking for help. “We hear that all the time,” Buell said. “Your heart goes out to them, because if you were ever in that situation, it’s very stressful.”

Behind the hunger are unique stories of other needs — for a restored relationship, protection, a job, a home, a dad.

Etling told another story of a youngster who showed up at the charity’s preschool. The little boy was unusually rambunctious. Curious, the teacher asked him if he’d had breakfast at home. The boy told her he hadn’t, “because it wasn’t his turn,” Etling said.

On the surface, he just looked like a rowdy boy. Likewise, the kid in the gym just looked like a teenager wanting to hoop and then eat.

There was more to their stories.

Mark Bennett can be reached at (812) 231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion Columns
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: A fine mess for collegiate sports

    Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were a comedic team in the late 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

    April 4, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Angry Planet

    It is better to imagine an ocean as peaceful and calm.  The problem is, an ocean is very rarely, ever that way. I remember when a writer took his wife and family from New York to England in his sailboat. And later, his wife commented there was never a time she could have something cooking on the stove without the food spilling out.

    April 3, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning as you go

    I have always been a person who respects education. Education doesn’t always come to you in the orderly process of school and classroom. Sometimes, it finds you in work-a-day situations.

    April 1, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Words can take us on memorable excursions

    When The Tribune-Star recently asked the reading public to name “the best” in dozens of categories, I didn’t hesitate in naming Mike Lunsford as my favorite columnist.

    March 31, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Volunteers’ cleanup efforts key to river’s future role in community

    People throw all kinds of garbage into and along the Wabash River, aiming to make their used-up stuff disappear from their lives.

    March 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Even NCAA floors pure Americana

    I noticed during the NCAA Tournament games I have been watching that all of them have identical basketball floors, regardless of where the game was played.

    March 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Guns and Schools

    I guess I just don’t get it. Perhaps I’m not smart enough. Those who don’t agree with me very often probably think that is the problem — me not being smart.
    The idea that children will be safer if you have a gun in your car in the school parking lot, or somewhere on school grounds, leaves me with the traditional “Duh!” I don’t wish to poke fun at those honest citizens who “pack” and hope they will be able to do something good in the way of helping family or neighbors in the event of a crisis, but often in those situations innocent people get shot.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • RONN MOTT: Flight 370

    Not too many days ago, I heard a reporter refer to Flight 370 as an accident. It wasn’t an accident … it was, most likely, murder. If this aircraft went down in the Indian Ocean, we will be extremely fortunate to find the remains of the plane and any of the people on it.

    March 25, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Memories stir desire to collect new ones

    I was talking with a friend the other day, a much younger friend. Somehow the conversation turned to early memories. One of her earliest memories had to do with 9/11 and the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center towers.

    March 24, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Dues Paid, change under way

    In the 1940s, Dorothy Jerse sat in a University of Illinois accounting class, listening to a guest speaker.

    March 22, 2014 1 Story 1 Video

  • RONN MOTT: Catching up on the here and now

    Oh my, write down the date, underline it, and say, “The guesswork in Ronn’s column the other day was wrong!”

    March 21, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Russian Bear

    As I’m writing this, the official word from the Crimean election is not yet in. It doesn’t have to be … Putin would not have an election for the Crimea to ask itself out of the Ukraine back into Russia because he does not want to be embarrassed. 

    March 20, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Thank you, NCAA

    The MEAC, the MAAC and the MAC. Do you know? And how much do you know mixed with how much do you care? Now we know the MAC, they’re practically home boys. That’s Northern Illinois, Ball State and a handful of teams in Ohio. But you get reacquainted with some of these schools because of the NCAA Tournament.

    March 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Spreading news from one ‘Liz’ to another

    I received a letter the other day from a Yorkville High School classmate. It wasn’t snail mail, it was written in cursive writing and although it required more than the 3-cent stamp of my youth, it found our mailbox within a couple of days of posting.

    March 17, 2014

  • KIEL MAJEWSKI: Sexual violence demands the world’s action

    I have a lot to learn in life, but I am convinced of this: The day men share power equally with women is the day we will see true peace in this world. The day women and girls are valued as much as men and boys, and are treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, is the day we will finally see healthy societies.

    March 15, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: All aboard!

    Find me a George Mason University basketball T-shirt in Indiana.

    March 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: One and done, 2014 style

    Hoosiers, this time of the year, turn their minds and emotions to the grand old game of “hoops.”

     

    March 14, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Ukraine 2

    The situation in the Ukraine should let us know plainly, and openly, the old saying about a leopard never changing its spots is true. Vladimir Putin is a KGB officer, grew up a communist and, from all appearances, still believes like a communist.

    March 13, 2014

  • MET 031214 BACON MAYO.jpg MARK BENNETT: First BaconFest sure to cure your salty fried meat cravings

    Bacon taught me a life lesson.
    I wrapped strips of it around chicken livers and secured the cold, gooey bundles with toothpicks to earn money.

    March 12, 2014 3 Photos

  • RONN MOTT: SAWS

    A few days ago we talked to John Anderson of the Greencastle Presbyterian Church. He’s the coordinator for a mission of the church that builds ramps and stairs for those who are physically handicapped in Putnam County.

    March 11, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Today in History for April 18th Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station My name is Cocaine Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday Don't Be A Tattletale: Bad Bullying Tips For Students The trillest thoughts on marijuana "RHOA" Star Charged With Battery
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity