News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

Opinion
  • EDITORIAL: Remembering D-Day — in the words of Ernie Pyle

    NORMANDY BEACHHEAD, June 12, 1944 — Due to a last-minute alteration in the arrangements, I didn’t arrive on the beachhead until the morning after D-day, after our first wave of assault troops had hit the shore. By the time we got here the beaches had been taken and the fighting had moved a couple of miles inland. All that remained on the beach was some sniping and artillery fire, and the occasional startling blast of a mine geysering brown sand into the air. That plus a gigantic and pitiful litter of wreckage along miles of shoreline.

    June 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Stench of the VA

    The Veterans Administration medical service has been an ill-run situation for American veterans for years. It goes back to Richard Nixon’s inability to get anything done, to John Kennedy permitting the use of Agent Orange to get rid of the foliage in Vietnam.

    June 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Programs from past can still be the best

    I was playing with the channel selector the other evening and lucked upon my Best Friend’s favorite movie. We sat up until all hours until the credits for “Twelve O’clock High” signaled that it was all over.

    June 2, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 3, 2014

    Appreciation for city forester

    June 2, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 2, 2014

    • Strong support to keep seniors safe
    • Getting under the liberals’ skin

    June 1, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: Generational ‘Catch 22’

    Baby Boomers’ long run of cultural dominance gradually gives way to America’s 22-year-olds

    May 31, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Rape, sexual assault demand greater attention

    When the facts, figures, commentary and analysis about the devastating impact of rape in our society have been consumed, the daunting, even haunting, question is: What can we do to stop it?

    May 31, 2014 1 Photo 2 Stories

  • FLASHPOINT: Strong copyright law supports journalism and informed communities

    Every day, city hall reporters at local newspapers distill hours of city council meetings into cogent stories that inform readers about how their elected officials are spending their tax dollars.

    May 31, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: June 1, 2014

    • Great support for voter stickers
    • In search of some answers
    • Turner affair does not pass smell test
    • We’ve fallen so far so fast
    • Teacher standards should not change

    May 31, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Teens need comprehensive, accurate education about sex

    May and June are exciting months for our teens. Proms, graduations and the usual end-of-school-year milestones are rites of passages we all anticipate and enjoy.

    May 31, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The dangers of a melting shelf

    According to the scientists who study and know about these things, the west Antarctic ice sheet is melting faster than expected, and the resulting rise in sea levels will change the globe in all parts of the world.

    May 30, 2014

  • Editorial: GOP takes up marriage battle — again

    All eyes will focus on Indiana’s dominant political party next week as it meets to nominate candidates to statewide office for the fall election. But nominating candidates won’t be the item on the Indiana GOP convention’s agenda that garners the most attention. Rather, the public will be watching how delegates handle a proposal to reintroduce the concept of supporting the state’s same-sex marriage ban, which was deleted from the party’s platform during a previous convention.

    May 29, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: May 30, 2014

    May 29, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Not too short to kill

    The young man who went on a 10-minute rampage killing six people and wounding others was pathologically upset with his situation in life. He was deeply depressed by the fact he had been rejected by some of the women at a local college, UC Santa Barbara, in California.

    May 29, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Sycamores march on into NCAA baseball tourney

    The traditional academic year at Indiana State University ended earlier this month, so a quieter time has fallen over the Terre Haute campus. But Sycamore pride is swelling this week nonetheless. ISU’s baseball team was selected on Monday to the field of 64 for the 2014 NCAA Baseball Tournament.

    May 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers' Forum: May 29, 2014

    • Perspective a valuable asset

    • Celebrate other food options

    • Grass has grown to a level above

    May 28, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: May 28, 2014

    May 27, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Decoration Day 2014

    As I understand the history of Memorial Day, it began in upper New York State and the ladies of various churches putting flowers on the graves of fallen Civil War soldiers.

    May 27, 2014

  • Liz Ciancone: Jail? He’ll cross that bridge when he gets to it

    Sometimes when I’m feeling as if I’m running on empty, someone will toss me an offbeat idea I would never have been able to dream up on my own. And so it was when a friend brought me a clipping from her hometown newspaper over in Illinois.

    May 26, 2014

  • Readers Forum: May 27, 2014

    May 26, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Alliance champions area collaboration

    Too often it is not the lack of funding that causes initiatives to stall and fail but the lack of a process to mobilize action.

    May 25, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: May 26, 2014

    • Opposition not fueled by racism

    • Show our police respect, support

    May 25, 2014

  • MET 052314 FAIRBANKS4.jpg Transformative changes: Five ways to strengthen Terre Haute’s ‘festival park’

    Without realizing it, the crowds walking through Fairbanks Park during this week’s Banks of the Wabash Festival are paying tribute to two eras of visionaries.

    May 24, 2014 2 Photos

  • nabors.jpg Editorial: Never too late for another tradition at the Indy 500

    The Indianapolis 500 endures on a unique mix of tradition and change.

    May 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers' Forum: May 25, 2014

    May 24, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Consumer-driven health care key to solving Indiana challenges

    As physicians, we have a core principle belief that every citizen should have the opportunity to access quality, affordable healthcare. Unfortunately, too many of our citizens go without basic, necessary care for a variety of reasons, a problem that is particularly acute for low-income Hoosiers.

    May 24, 2014

  • Get ready for more of same

    I felt a brief surge of hope about Congress a few weeks ago. It was returning from Easter recess, and Capitol Hill was filled with talk about immigration reform, a minimum-wage bill, a spending bill to keep the government operating, and maybe even funding for transportation infrastructure. But, as I said, it was brief.

    May 24, 2014

  • Ronn Mott: Always sad when good die young

    I think I’ve written or talked about funerals since I came back to Indiana in 1986. I had gone to about six or seven funerals or visitations at that point in time. Since then, I have attended approximately 50 or so of them.
    This past week I went to a visitation for Bradley Deetz.

    May 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Noteworthy in the news

    Another great year on the track

    Heavy hearts for nun’s passing

    May 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: May 23, 2014

    May 22, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Bodies of Malaysia Jet Victims Leave Ukraine Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Fighting Rages Amid Mideast Truce Push Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Raw: Massive Explosion in Gaza City Raw: Typhoon Brings Heavy Wind, Rain to Taiwan Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Raw: Plane Lands on New York Highway Raw: Secretary of State Kerry in Israel NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era
NDN Video
CDC Director Warns Of A World Where Antibiotics No Longer Work Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad Jimmy Kimmel Introduces His Baby Girl Swim Daily, Nina Agdal in the Cook Islands Guilty Dog Apologizes to Baby for Stealing Her Toy Prince George Turns 1 and is Already a Trendsetter Train Collides With Semi Truck Carrying Lighter Fluid Kanye West Tells-All on Wedding in "GQ" Interview Tony Dungy Weighs in on Michael Sam Scarlett Johansson Set To Marry In August New Star Wars Episode XII X-Wing Revealed Obama: Putin must push separatists to aid MH17 probe Michigan inmates no longer allowed to wear orange due to 'OITNB' Adam Levine Ties the Knot
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity