News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

November 21, 2013

RONN MOTT: I remember

Someone said the other day everyone remembers where they were the day John Kennedy was shot. I certainly do.

I was doing the midday show on KIOA in Des Moines, Iowa. We were 10,000 watts on the dial at 940 and you could hear us over 75 percent of the state of Iowa and parts of Nebraska, Minnesota and Missouri. It was a fun time to be on the radio and I was up to my neck in the having fun part. It came to a crashing halt on that day in November when the president was shot in Dallas.

Our request line telephone rang and I answered it and a student at Drake University yelled at me through the phone, “Ronn, they have shot the president in Dallas!” I did not even respond. I just hung up the phone. Then, Bob Betts, our news director, hit the squawk box and said, “Quick, quick, give me a bulletin!” I suddenly realized the student who called me was probably right.

The Associated Press wire had just cleared the story that the president had been shot and may be dead in Dallas. The manager of the station came in and grabbed a handful of movie, music LPs I had used for production purposes and said, “Go to these until we find out what has happened.” So I put one of the soundtrack albums on and let it track until we switched to the NBC radio network. We were not an NBC affiliate and had to get their approval as well as from the local NBC station.

For the next few days we, like the rest of the nation, were listening to this horrible story unfold. It was the worst thing I had experienced while on the air at any radio station.

I, like many young men of my age, was a deep fan of John F. Kennedy. He was by far the president with the best wit since Abraham Lincoln, and JFK was doing it on TV and radio every time they put microphones in front of his face. He was handsome,  married to a beautiful, intelligent woman with two beautiful kids. He was the only American president who had won a Pulitzer Prize for Literature and a Purple Heart for being wounded in the war when his PT boat was rammed by a Japanese destroyer. His heroism after that made him a national hero.

I believe the mob had manipulated Lee Harvey Oswald. Like most assassinations, it was well planned. He was silenced by Jack Ruby, a “gopher” for the mob in Dallas. They had planned to kill Bobby Kennedy but decided to kill the president instead so the most powerful man in America could not come back on them with revenge.

In remembering those days, some 50 years ago, it truly was a modern-day Camelot. And if it was not Camelot, there was some magic there that had not been there before, and has not been there since.

I never learned who the student was at Drake University who called me, but Bob Betts went on to become a rather famous newscaster in Milwaukee, and I came home to work at WTHI and go to school at ISU.

I’m glad I was alive during that time, and can remember Camelot and the youngest president ever elected to the office.   

Ronn Mott, a longtime radio personality in Terre Haute, writes commentaries for the Tribune-Star. His pieces are published online Tuesday and Thursday on Tribstar.com, and in the print and online editions on Saturday.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 30, 2014

    • Don’t be victim of home repair scam
    • Ending unfair tax practices

    June 29, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: For kids, an immediate need

    If you agree that not much is sadder — and potentially more unsettling to our society — than a child torn from his or her home, here is a way you can make a difference, one kid at a time.

    June 28, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 29, 2014

    • The sexual revolution strikes again
    • Country sinks to new lows
    • Saddened by the headlines
    • Opinions not same as facts
    • Letter meets with approval
    • The real ‘truth’ sometimes hurts
    • Applause for great musical
    • Raising minimum wage hurts us
    • Gratitude to camp sponsors
    • More to the city’s mosquito problem

    June 28, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Planned Parenthood’s dangerous sex coaching not worthy of funding

    Planned Parenthood of Indiana and Kentucky’s CEO, Betty Cockrum, recently waged a public relations campaign in newspapers across the state. Cockrum touted the need for Planned Parenthood’s version of sex education for Hoosier teens.

    June 28, 2014

  • The lesson Congress should learn from the VA scandal

    Like other federal scandals before it, the mess involving VA hospitals has followed a well-trod path. First comes the revelation of misdoing.

    June 28, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: These are tough times to be an opossum

    Who killed the opossum before man and the automobile? The automobile and mankind have started an evolutionary run on how the opossum continues his bloodline.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Rocket Explodes Over Israeli Wedding Raw: Brazil Fans Cry After World Cup Loss Raw: World's Tallest Water Slide Opens Thursday Raw: Stampede in Rio During World Cup Cleveland Picked to Host 2016 GOP Convention Mississippi River Flooding Likely to Slow Down Track Owners Fight to End Greyhound Racing Sterling Testifies in Los Angeles Clippers Trial Germany Crushes Brazil in 7-1 Win at World Cup Weaver Reprises Ripley Role for 'Alien' Game Man Finds Venomous Snake in Toilet Raw: Panic in Tel Aviv As Siren Warns of Attack Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Raw: Palestinians Clash With Israeli Forces Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Raw: Truck Crash Spills Turkeys on Va. Highway Giant Whale Vacuumed in New York City Wisconsin Cop Ready to Roll...On Skateboard Today in History for July 9th Washington State's First Legal Marijuana Sales
NDN Video
Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1 'Purrmanently Sad Cat' Looks Adorably Sad All the Time Pharrell 'humbled' by success of mega-hit 'Happy' Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Jennifer Lawrence Facepalms Emma Watson Athletes Bare All for ESPN Magazine's Body Issue Raw: Brazil Fans Leaving Stadium Before Half Andi Dorfman Walks Out During the Rose Ceremony 5 Firework Fails for July 4th Justin Bieber Catches Tom Hanks Getting Down, Showing ‘How We Do It Big shoes to fill for Brazil ahead of Germany clash Man's 'Potato Salad' Plea Takes Off on Kickstarter Joan Rivers Storms Out of Interview Watch: A turtle and dog play ball Yikes! This Jet is Way Too Close Late-Night Highlight: Ben Falcone Screwed Up His Proposal To Melissa McCarthy Jenny and Sherri Talk "View" Departure
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity