News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

November 29, 2012

RONN MOTT: Christmas is a’ coming

As I glide through the September of my years, Christmas doesn’t mean as much to me, personally, as it used to. But I’m one grouchy old man who loves the holiday, even the things about it that are not true.

Jesus, of course, was not born in December … I think by now everybody knows that. It was Christianizing an old Roman holiday and making it the celebration of Christ’s birth. But I don’t care. The holiday is so huge all over the world that if it brings a little joy to a dark spot, to quote Charles Dickens, “Merry Christmas.”

Some Christmases stand out in my mind, almost all of them when I was a small boy. One year I wanted to leave cookies for Santa and my mother told me she didn’t have any cookies, maybe I would like to leave Santa a half-grapefruit. So, I did. Christmas morning Santa had left me a note which was read to me (I was about three) by an older cousin. The note said, “Ronnie, I hope you enjoy all the toys Santa left for you. You have been a good boy and I hope you will be a good boy next year as well. Sincerely, Santa Claus. P.S. Santa doesn’t like grapefruit.” (It would be years before they would get me to eat grapefruit after the denial from Santa Claus. It would also be years later when I would learn my parents had been having a little fun-filled spat and this was Mother’s trick on Father with the help of her young son.)

About that same time, I must have been near five so it would be the Christmas when I was four and a half, everybody who asked me what I wanted, I said, “drums.” And at least three people gave me bass drums. I was very noisy in the yard, in the house, pounding on my new drums. In the next six months, we moved from Newport to Clinton and one of the drums developed a slit in the drumhead and the other two fell off the truck in the move, or at least that’s what I was told. No one ever mentioned the missing drums, and no one ever bought me another drum.

It was the Christmas of 1945 that all of my relatives bought me toy soldiers. (I was famous amongst my family for collecting many toy soldiers, and that Christmas somebody even bought me German soldiers for my large contingent to have an enemy. That was also the Christmas when I got my first bicycle, and that sense of freedom a bicycle gives you was just as great at age nine that driving a car gives you at age 16.

One Christmas that could have been a disaster was saved by a few hockey players. It was the  Christmas that my two daughters had collectively decided Santa was a fantasy and I didn’t have to do it anymore. The wife and I decided to keep the mystery alive … everything would be wrapped and only I, Father Christmas, would know what presents went to what person.

At the time, among other things, I was the voice of the Sioux City hockey team. And the weekend before Christmas, the holiday was on a Wednesday, I would be with the team broadcasting their games in Green Bay, Wisconsin, Calumet, and Marquette, Michigan.

The hockey club flew the team and its broadcaster in its C47, a type of plane that would later become infamous for going down with the entire University of Evansville basketball team. Coming out of Marquette, Michigan, we learned of a huge winter storm that was many miles wide and many miles high. It was too far to fly around and too high to fly over. So, we set down in Minneapolis and were sequestered at a local Holiday Inn.

For the guys who were single, which was the majority of the hockey team, it was fine. But some of us needed to get back to Sioux City before Christmas Day. After the storm had passed and buried us in snow, five of us rented a car and headed home. It was a difficult drive back. At 5:10 Christmas morning, we pulled up in front of my house and when my foot hit the front porch steps, the light in my daughters’ bedroom went on. By less than minutes, I had made it back so I could hand out the gifts that only I knew to whom they belonged. That was a rather fulfilling Christmas even though I made it by the hair on my chinny-chin-chin.

I look forward to the decorations, I look forward to the music, which I have always loved, and while we celebrate the birth of the Christ Child and peace on earth, even though we rarely get to celebrate a full peace, it’s still something to look forward to.  

We know it won’t be this year, but maybe next. Maybe.

Ronn Mott, a longtime radio personality in Terre Haute, writes commentaries for the Tribune-Star. His pieces are published online Tuesday and Thursday on Tribstar.com, and in the print and online editions on Saturday.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • EDITORIAL: Get smart with 911

    Worst-case scenarios when emergency service are needed are not things people like to think about. But focused attention on details in advance could make a life-changing, even life-saving, difference in the future.

    April 17, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Heading in the wrong direction

    A study released last week by the Tax Foundation reported Indiana taxpayers saw one of the sharpest increases in tax burden since 2001. Dig deeper and the numbers are more alarming.

    April 17, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Dealing with eroded trust

    Our neighbors in Putnam County are understandably concerned, even outraged, over problems in their sheriff’s department. People have a right to expect their chief law-enforcement agency — one of the most important public institutions in any community — to operate professionally and effectively.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: April 17, 2014

    • A blessing from our young folks

    • Confidence in judge candidate

    April 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Preparing for voting changes

    The primary election, during which Hoosiers will traipse to their polling places to select party candidates to fill the ballot for the general election, is now three weeks away.

    April 15, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: April 16, 2014

    • Mott’s rant on global warming

    • Salvation through the Indian way

    April 15, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 15, 2014

    Sound choice for county judge
    Giving your car the care it needs
    Park restrooms should be open

    April 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Noteworthy in the news (Honors for outstanding women)

    Honors for outstanding women
    Sprucing up around the wetlands
    You can say that again
    Reader Poll results

    April 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 14, 2014

    Alternatives to ‘injustice’

    April 13, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Teaming up to fight the ugliness of graffiti

    Graffiti hurts the Terre Haute community. It deflates property values and local pride. It literally paints an image of carelessness on the city.

    April 12, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 13, 2014

    • An attack of hypocrisy

    • New jail not a good idea

    • Thinking about the next election

    • Being positive a tremendous asset

    • Work status a matter of value

    April 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 12, 2014

  • Death Notice: April 13, 2014

    Phillip Herman

    April 12, 2014

  • GUEST EDITORIAL: Despite high court ruling, big money may not guarantee election success

    The Supreme Court has taken the predictable next step in the wake of its 2010 Citizens United decision in which it lifted the limit on donations wealthy donors can make to certain political entities.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Warm thoughts for Waltman

    When Royce Waltman left Indiana State University as its head basketball coach in 2007, there was a sense of disappointment in the community that covered a broad spectrum.

    April 11, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 11, 2014

    • An appeal for organic farming

    • Kesler best choice for judge position

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Road work season requires motorists’ undivided attention

    Spring’s budding flowers, trees and grasses are not the only colorful eye candy popping up on the west-central Indiana landscape. Those orange barrels and pylons common to construction areas are appearing as well.

    April 9, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 10, 2014

    • Appreciation for writer’s views

    • Amazed by policy on birth control

    April 9, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Dangers lurking among us

    Hardly a week goes by without multiple stories being published in this newspaper detailing the arrests, court proceedings, convictions or sentencings of individuals involved in sex crimes against children or young teens. It’s a disturbing trend that underscores the ever-present dangers that exist where we may least expect them.

    April 9, 2014 1 Story

  • Readers' Forum: April 9, 2014

    April 9, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 8, 2014

    Tracking the trail of thieves
    Friendly service at local store
    New voice for judicial system
    Movie strikes a proper balance

    April 7, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Today in History for April 18th Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual
NDN Video
Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station My name is Cocaine Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday Don't Be A Tattletale: Bad Bullying Tips For Students The trillest thoughts on marijuana "RHOA" Star Charged With Battery Grizzly Bears Get Snowy Birthday Party Weatherman draws forecast when another technical glitch strikes WGN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity