News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

July 21, 2010

Stephanie Salter: You think foreign oil dependence is bad, try radionuclides

TERRE HAUTE — This is a story of international finance and politics, involving such entities as Mo-99, Thallium 201, 73-hour half-lives and a medical industry character known as “Aunt Minnie.”

This is also a story that should remind us that when we grudgingly swallow some sort of dye or offer our arm for an IV so our innards can be scanned, most of us have no clue about the infinitely complex and miraculous realm of science behind the process.

I happened upon the realm when my mother’s cardiologist called to say there was one slot on one day, and one day only, for her to have a nuclear heart scan — unless she would like to wait several weeks, which isn’t an option.

“What in the world is going on?” I asked the scheduling nurse, not suspecting that “the world” is precisely the arena in which we are playing.

“There’s a worldwide shortage of thallium,” she said. “It’s been going on a long time and we thought it would get better, but it’s not. I’ve had to reschedule 30 patients.”

I went to the Internet, Googled “thallium shortage” and — days later — found myself swimming in information about what in the world is going on.

Thallium, you probably don’t remember from high school chemistry, is a non-precious mineral that doesn’t look like much — sort of like tin — when you dig it up. For a long time, it was used in crude form to poison rodents (and some people, too, because it’s tasteless), but science, the electronics industry and medicine discovered magical properties in thallium, especially when it’s run through a cyclotron and transformed into nuclear isotopes.

Thallium-201 has been a utility player for decades in the imaging of internal organs, and it is particularly useful in detecting blocked arteries, confirming a heart attack, indicating why someone has chest pain and predicting how much exercise a person’s heart can endure.

The thallium shortage, however, hasn’t been caused by something as simple as an explosion in global demand for nuclear heart scans. No, it’s the result of a different shortage of a really exotic element — literally an element on the Periodic Chart of Elements — called technetium.

Technetium is a radioactive metal that appears in minuscule amounts in nature, but can be made via nuclear fission. Technetium Tc 99m is the favored medical isotope for just about every kind of super-fine organ and interior body imaging — from heart to lungs to bones to lymph nodes and cell structure. Doctors like it because it produces great pictures and has a short half-life (the measurement of atomic decay), which means it can be administered in small doses, minimizing radiation exposure for the patient.

Without enough technetium to satisfy a world demand of about 20 million diagnostic imagings each year, medicine has had to turn to cyclotron-manufactured thallium.

— Time out: If you retain nothing else today, remember that technetium is pronounced “tek-NEE-shum.” You can impress your friends or maybe win some money if you ever get on “Jeopardy.” —

Technetium is actually a byproduct of nuclear fission involving high-grade uranium and the element, molybdenum — think “Mo-99” — thus it must be produced in a specially outfitted nuclear reactor.

The bad news: There are only about a half-dozen of those babies in the whole world. The worse news: Not one of them is in the United States, even though we use about 50 percent of the world’s supply of Mo-99 technetium. The worst news of all: The two biggest producers of technetium are both on the disabled list — down, idled, off line — and have been for months.

One reactor, at Petten in the Netherlands, was shut down in July 2009, put back online, then shut down again this past February. It’s scheduled to be back up and running late next month. But, as I learned while isotope surfing on the Web, nuclear reactors don’t always meet re-boot schedules.

The other big reactor, in Ottawa, Canada, was shut down three times in 18 months and has been down-down since May 2009. Radioactive water leaks have been the most recent problem.

Both the Dutch and Canadian reactors are old and nearing the end of their lives, yet they ordinarily supply about two-thirds of the globe’s technetium. Talk about a need for alternative sources.

A bipartisan bill in Congress, the American Medical Isotopes Production Act of 2009, aims to end our dependence on foreign radionuclides.

Passed by the House of Representatives last fall and now sitting in the Senate, awaiting action, the bill would appropriate more than $160 million to kick-start a medical technetium industry in this country. Needless to say, HR 3276 has not threatened health care or financial reform for floor-debate time or news media coverage.

According to a news story on ImageBiz.com, the Obama Administration is working with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, the Department of Energy and the Food and Drug Administration to find new sources of technetium here among our few U.S. nuclear production sites.

But as we learned with Mom’s nuclear stress test in Terre Haute — and as Robert W. Atcher, a past president of the Society of Nuclear Medicine, said recently — “The United States needs a reliable domestic isotope supply now more than ever.”

If you’ve made it this far in the story, perhaps you have a greater appreciation for what goes on behind the scenes when you or a relative is told to go in for a nuclear imaging test. Because you’ve made it this far, I’ll end with Aunt Minnie.

She, or rather it, is the name of a website for radiologists and medical imagining professionals that was founded in 1999 by the late Dr. Phillip Berman, a radiologist, innovator and entrepreneur. Aunt Minnie’s “About” page explains that another pioneering radiologist, Dr. Ben Felson of the University of Cincinnati, coined the term “Aunt Minnie” in the 1940s. It refers to “a case with radiologic findings so specific and complex that no realistic differential diagnosis exists. In other words: If it looks like your Aunt Minnie, then it’s your Aunt Minnie.”

As I said, it’s a whole different realm out there in the land of nuclear medicine. And don’t forget: Tek-NEE-shum.

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 30, 2014

    • Don’t be victim of home repair scam
    • Ending unfair tax practices

    June 29, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban Israeli-Palestinian Tensions, Attacks Escalate Kim Kardashian Hits Up Valentino Show in Paris More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Neighbors Mourn Killing of Texas Family Soft Robot Fish Lead New Wave of Robotics World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup' Raw: Funeral in Gaza for Family of 8 'Game of Thrones' Leads Emmy Nominees Rockets Fired From Lebanon Hit Israel Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Diaz and Segel Strip Off for 'Sex Tape' Raw: Rescuers Push Beached Whale Back to Ocean
NDN Video
LeBron James returning to Cleveland - @TheBuzzeronFOX Glee Star Becca Tobin's Boyfriend Matt Bendik Found Dead in Hotel Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration ScarJo Channels Marilyn Monroe Aerial fish restocking in Utah Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity