News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

September 4, 2011

STEPHANIE SALTER: The unfortunate bottom line … St. Ann’s will close

Ever since word came down that St. Ann Church and Parish have less than a year to live, there’s been much invoking of Elisabeth Kubler-Ross’ five stages of grief. So far, as a lot of parishioners will tell you, they have not moved from Stage Two: Anger.

While I’m nearly through Stage Three — Bargaining, with Depression next in line — I understand the fury.

A plucky little congregation in a neighborhood with major economic, social and spiritual challenges, a parish that has nurtured souls since its founding in 1876, has been selected for extinction. Despite careful management of its money, despite its inventiveness in turning its former grade school into thriving medical and dental clinics for the poor, despite requiring the presence of an actual priest only two hours a week to function quite efficiently — St. Ann’s will be closed.

The decision was announced in a July letter from Indianapolis Archbishop Daniel Buechlein and it was the culmination of years of strategizing within the Terre Haute Deanery. Unlike many other such closings across the United States, however, this one was not done by hierarchical fiat. Every parish had representatives on the planning team. There was an appeals process and St. Ann’s representatives fought hard for a reprieve. Not least of them was Sister Connie Kramer, the Parish Life Coordinator, whose job will disappear with the parish.

In the end, it came down to what it has come down to over the past three decades as thousands of U.S. Catholic churches and schools have been shuttered or merged: numbers.

Since 1980, the number of ordained priests and vowed religious laity (primarily, nuns) has decreased by 41 percent. Just since 2000, about 1,400 parishes have been closed or consolidated. Meanwhile, contrary to popular perception, the number of U.S. Catholics has actually increased. According to an enlightening national survey by a consortium of parish ministry organizations, some 77.7 million people in the United States identify themselves as Catholic. The number is expected to reach 110 million by midcentury. Latino households make up the single largest growth group among registered parishioners.

The result of these many losses and gains?

“Bigger parishes, more Masses, and ministries in languages other than English are becoming the norm,” wrote Mary L. Gautier and Mark M. Gray of the consortium, Emerging Models of Catholic Leadership. Their survey report, titled, “The Changing Face of U.S. Catholic Parishes,” also revealed:

• The average parish weekend Mass attendance is 1,100.

• About half of all parishes celebrate four or more weekend Masses; nearly 30 percent celebrate five or more.

• Only one in 10 parishes celebrates just one weekend Mass.

• The average number of registered households in a parish is 1,200, while parishes with 200 or fewer registered households have dropped from 24 percent in 2000 to 15 percent in 2010.

The four local parishes to be closed serve about 325 registered households, less than 10 percent of the Terre Haute Deanery. St. Ann, the largest of the four, celebrates but one Mass on weekends and counts 118 households and about 240 parishioners on its rolls. They may be loyal and enthusiastic, but their numbers are dwindling, not growing, and they can’t donate enough money to keep open their church, parish hall and bare-bones parish office. How bare bones? Sister Connie is the only salaried staffer working 20 or more hours per week. In contrast, nationally, the average comparable parish staff is 9.5 people.

Of course, when I say “they” of St. Ann’s, I mean “we.” The parish has been mine since I moved back to Terre Haute in 2004. More times than I can remember, I have sat or knelt in a pew during Mass, and thought, “If this place ever closes, I don’t know what I’ll do.”

St. Ann’s epitomizes Catholic Christian values for me. All are welcome at the table. All are useful. All have dignity. All are children of God, worthy of mercy, seven times 70. At St. Ann’s, a preferential option for the poor is Job No. 1, not an afterthought.

Like any family, we quarrel among ourselves. We have political and philosophical differences; we even have cliques. But we put them all aside when it matters, especially each Sunday at Mass. We are tight, committed, united in our faith.

Buechlein wrote in his letter that the decision to close St. Ann’s “was agonizing.” I believe him. He has watched in gratitude and respect over the years as Sister Connie has inspired the parish to join forces with the Sisters of Providence and Catholic Charities and be the host site of remarkable, life-saving outreach ministries, such as the clinics and Bethany House shelter and kitchen.

I believe our shrinking numbers and the complex socio-economic realities of the larger Catholic Church doomed us, not the quality of our hearts or the productivity of our hands. Probably, that is why I didn’t spend long in angry Stage Two.

I have few illusions about the breadth of those complex realities, by the way. As an adult convert, I knew when I signed up that Catholicism is not a democracy, and I have since learned that periodic suffering from the internal problems of the Church — the accidental and the self-inflicted problems — comes with the territory. You either accept that or you’re crazy not to get out.

Which isn’t to say you accept all the CAUSES of the suffering — the sexism, elitism, abuse scandals, coverups, misused funds or aversion to solid science and good health practices (to name a few). Being an adherent of any religion is not unlike being a citizen of a (non-democratic) nation: You may disagree with all sorts of programs and people — and you can work and agitate for change — but your allegiance transcends people and programs. It is about something much bigger.

Depressed and sad as I will be, I plan to follow Sister Connie’s lead and extract every drop of community life I can from the church and parish of St. Ann, until the last Mass is celebrated May 20. What we’ve got going at 1440 Locust St. is exceedingly rich and rare — from the superb homilies of our young circuit-riding priest, Father Rob Hausladen, to the bonhomie we share at parish suppers. Like life on this side of the great divide, I choose to participate with gusto, knowing it won’t last forever.

Stephanie Salter may be e-mailed at SalterOpinion@gmail.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 30, 2014

    • Don’t be victim of home repair scam
    • Ending unfair tax practices

    June 29, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban Israeli-Palestinian Tensions, Attacks Escalate Kim Kardashian Hits Up Valentino Show in Paris World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Four Kids, Two Adults Shot Dead Near Houston Raw: Obama Shoots Pool in Denver Neighbors Mourn Killing of Texas Family Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral World's Tallest Water Slide: See It for Yourself Obama Talks Economy, Slams Republicans Connecticut Boy Dies Inside Parked Car 'Game of Thrones' Leads Emmy Nominees Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup' Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats UN Secretary-General Urges Mideast Ceasefire
NDN Video
Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1 'Purrmanently Sad Cat' Looks Adorably Sad All the Time Pharrell 'humbled' by success of mega-hit 'Happy' Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Jennifer Lawrence Facepalms Emma Watson Athletes Bare All for ESPN Magazine's Body Issue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity