News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 30, 2013

MARK BENNETT: ABA’s record proves Bobby Leonard’s a legit Hall of Famer

TERRE HAUTE — Bobby Leonard symbolized the feisty competitive flair of the old ABA.

His spirited coaching turned the Indiana Pacers into that innovative, long-lost league’s one true dynasty. Because the ABA lacked a national TV contract, much of America never saw “Slick” swirling in his loud sports jackets on the sidelines, hollering directions to talented players such as Mel Daniels, Roger Brown, Bob Netolicky, George McGinnis, Freddie Lewis and Billy Keller. As a kid, I listened to Pacers broadcasts, night after night, on transistor radio. Occasionally, they would play “home games” away from their regular court in Indianapolis — the State Fairgrounds Coliseum and then Market Square Arena — and I got to see them in person in Hulman Center, including a matchup with Julius “Dr. J” Erving and the New York Nets.

Those who left the ABA off their radar missed something special.

For the life of me, I can’t understand why the red-white-and-blue league got disrespected so much for so long, compared to the establishment NBA. The ABA guys could go toe-to-toe with the NBA’s best. In fact, they did. In preseason NBA-ABA exhibition games played from 1971 until the two leagues merged in 1976, ABA teams won 79 games, compared to 76 by the NBA teams. That includes a 118-115 Pacer victory over Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and the Milwaukee Bucks in ’74.

Leonard led Indiana to three ABA championships.

He belongs in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame at Springfield, Mass. Every NBA coach with more than two titles is in the Hall. Slick should be, too. Not only did he win those championships in a star-studded league — the ABA roster included Dr. J, Moses Malone, George Gervin, Rick Barry, Spencer Haywood, Connie Hawkins, Artis Gilmore, Dan Issel, Billy Cunningham and the aforementioned Pacer greats — Leonard also guided the franchise through the biased merger with NBA that nearly put the Pacers and the three other ABA surviving teams in long-term financial straits.

Again, Slick should be in the Hall.

The Terre Haute native offers some vivid recollections of those days in his new book, “Boom Baby! My Basketball Life in Indiana.” Some of his most colorful stories revolve around the rivalry between the NBA and the upstart league. Particularly, with former Boston Celtics coach and front-office exec Red Auerbach. There was no love loss between them. In “Boom,” Leonard recalls coaching Baltimore in the NBA against Auerbach’s Celtics. After Auerbach sent an enforcer into the game to rough up Baltimore standout Terry Dischinger (also a Terre Haute native), Leonard said he strode up to the Boston bench and told Red to “get [Jim Loscutoff] off of Dischinger or I’m going to beat your butt.”

Years later after Leonard enjoyed championship success on the Pacers sidelines, Auerbach dissed him in a Sports Illustrated story, calling him a “bad coach.” Their personal rivalry lingers, even seven years after Auerbach died. “He and I had our shots at each other when he was coaching in the NBA and when I was playing in the NBA,” Leonard said in a telephone interview earlier this month, concerning his autobiography. “So I probably have the same opinion of Red Auerbach as he had of me.”

As Leonard said, his career resume includes several years of coaching and playing in the NBA, so he knows the distinctions between the two leagues. Any lingering skepticism about the ABA’s quality can be answered by those head-to-head matchups. Not only did the ABA hold an edge in those games, but it posted a 31-17 advantage in 1975-76 — its final season before the merger.

“If you look at the record, we overwhelmed ’em,” Leonard said.

The Naismith Hall of Fame has taken notice of the ABA, which lasted from 1967-76. In 2011, its Election Review Committee created a new “direct-elect” category which focused attention on players who spent their best — or all — of their years in the ABA. Since that change, Pacers icons Daniels and Brown, along with Kentucky Colonels center Artis Gilmore earned long overdue Hall inductions. Leonard also appeared on the ballot as a coach in 2011, 2012 and 2013, but wasn’t chosen. He’ll be on the ballot again this month, confirmed Matt Zeysing of the Hall of Fame staff. The induction Class of 2014 will be announced during the NBA All-Star Game Weekend in mid-February, Zeysing added.

Each of the past three years, Hall voters have been apprised of Leonard’s career resume, stretching from his college years with the NCAA champion Indiana Hoosiers to his NBA playing and coaching career, his 529 victories with the Pacers in the ABA and NBA, and his quarter-century in the broadcast booth with the Pacers.

In this month’s interview, Leonard insisted he won’t fret if the Hall of Fame never calls his name, emphasizing, “I wasn’t a fair-haired boy, when it came to coaching.” His aggressive style was an offshoot of one particular desire, which mattered more to him than honors.

“I’ve had so many honors and everything in my career that [Hall of Fame induction] really isn’t a priority with me,” Leonard said. “It doesn’t bother me one way or the other, and I really don’t care. And I was like that as a coach. I wasn’t one of those coaches that was shaking hands all the time with the opposing coach. I went out there for one reason, and that was to win.”

And he did, at what any objective observer would say was the game’s highest level. For that, Leonard deserves a plaque in Springfield alongside pro basketball’s other former coaches with three or more championships — Phil Jackson, John Kundla, Pat Riley and, yes, Red Auerbach.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Readers’ Forum: July 25, 2014

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 24, 2014

    • Clinic will expand basic health access
    • Misunderstanding truth about Islam

    July 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Work program needs industry buy-in

    Good help is hard to find. That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers. Businesses say too few applicants possess the “soft skills,” such as showing up for work on time or being able to effectively communicate with co-workers.

    July 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 23, 2014

    July 22, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: News about reality, not affirmation

    The public’s trust in the news media keeps dwindling. At the same time, Americans’ political polarization keeps increasing.

    July 21, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 22, 2014

    • Supt. Ritz has right to govern
    • A tribute to a teacher
    • Rep. Pelosi shows ‘bungling idiocy’

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 21, 2014

    • Theater brings the joy of music
    • Drawing closer to the spirit
    • Give some space to heterosexuals

    July 20, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • EDITORIAL: Vigo Jail study essential to determine strategy

    It comes as encouraging news that the Vigo County Council might include in its 2015 budget significant funding for an expert and neutral study of what can be done to replace or enhance the existing county jail.

    July 20, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 20, 2014

    • ‘Hotel Indiana’ has a sour tune

    • Kind words about the newspaper

    • Some questions about RTL video

    • No mercy for cop killers

    • Crack down on gun violence

    • Anti-Dem tirades mask GOP failures

    • Important day for participants

    • Appreciation for support

    July 20, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Solve our border crisis

    More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children — mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador — have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year.

    July 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Living in peaceful communities requires collaboration

    Hoosiers have the right to live in peace. Yet, too many of our friends and neighbors are currently living in fear.

    July 18, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Will Gov. Pence be true to his word?

    This is written in response to recent remarks made by State Board of Education members.

    July 17, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 18, 2014

    July 17, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • READERS’ FORUM: July 17, 2014

    • Civil rights and burning cities

    • Quality service from Baesler’s

    July 16, 2014

  • FLAHSPOINT: Supt. Glenda Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 16, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Continuing the standard

    U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett has raised the profile of his federally appointed position more than any individual to hold the job in decades. From the start, he was a man on a mission, and often that mission was focused on rooting out corruption, maintaining integrity in government and pursuing those who violated the public trust.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 16, 2014

    • The truth about property taxes

    July 15, 2014

  • Letter from BOE member: Superintendent Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 15, 2014

    • Are Fed policies hurting America?

    • Staying true to code of respect

    July 14, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Legal marriages should be honored

    An eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.

    July 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 14, 2014

    • Where did the 61 cents go?

    July 13, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death
NDN Video
Bill Murray Continues To Be Just Bill Murray By Eating Some Free Bill Murray Ice Cream Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect Hillary Clinton Blamed Bill's Affair With Monica Lewinsky On Abuse He Suffered As A Child 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad Jimmy Kimmel Introduces His Baby Girl
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity