News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

November 2, 2013

MARK BENNETT: Brad Fenton and friends set dominos in motion to make Larry Bird statue a reality

TERRE HAUTE — The idea has been out there for awhile, floating.

Locals in the 1980s, ’90s and 2000s would say, “They need to put up a statue of Larry Bird. I mean, one of the all-time greatest basketball players played right here in Terre Haute at Indiana State University.”

The identity of “they” seldom gets clarified in such declarations. “They” — a nebulous cluster of apparently powerful people, at least in the eyes of coffeeshop debaters — never seem to materialize.

Yet, in this case, “they” did.

In November 2003, in a tunnel leading to the upper concourse of Breslin Center on the Michigan State University campus in East Lansing, Magic Johnson — of all people — validated the notion that Terre Haute and ISU should honor his longtime rival, Larry Bird, in bronze. The four schools that participated in that historic 1979 NCAA Final Four — champion Michigan State, runner-up ISU, DePaul and Penn — had placed their current teams in a reunion tourney in the Spartans’ home arena. Just a few weeks earlier, MSU had unveiled a striking, 12-foot-tall, bronze statue of Johnson right outside the Breslin Center entrance.

I asked Johnson if Bird’s alma mater should do the same thing outside Hulman Center.

“Without a doubt,” Magic said, quickly. “I’m really shocked that he doesn’t have one already. I mean, you’re never gonna get that much excitement [at Indiana State] and how it felt to go to the Final Four. The college basketball Player of the Year, one of the greatest four or five players that have ever played, and he played at your school. I mean, come on, he should have two or three statues.”

His words ran in the Tribune-Star, and a few months later, they bubbled up again. On Feb. 29, 2004, ISU retired Bird’s No. 33 jersey, along with that of another former Sycamore great, Duane Kleuh’s No. 54, in a ceremony at Hulman Center. In a news conference afterward, I relayed Johnson’s comment and asked if Bird liked the idea. In classic Larry Bird deadpan style, he said, “I don’t want a statue. Magic’s got more statues than Saddam Hussein.”

(Just two weeks earlier, the Los Angeles Lakers had erected another Magic statue at the Staples Center in L.A.)

So, given Larry’s reserved nature, any effort to create a lasting monument to his exploits as a Sycamore would have to win Mr. Bird’s heart. “They” would need to be a grassroots collection of people, folks with whom Larry could identify.

It took a few years, but “they” emerged. “They” turned out to be ISU student Brad Fenton and six of his young friends, a marvelously industrious bunch of guys who decided to turn the concept into reality.

The idea came to Fenton in 2006. A Notre Dame football fan, he had trekked to East Lansing to watch the Fighting Irish play the Spartans. While walking across the MSU campus, he saw the Magic statue. The Sycamore passion quickly kicked in for Fenton, whose mother was an ISU student during the Bird years and whose dad avidly followed Bird into his Boston Celtics career. Fenton figured Bird deserved a statue, too. A bigger statue.

Back in Terre Haute, Fenton sought out local sculptor Bill Wolfe, who shared Fenton’s motivation.

“The first person that listened to anything I had to say was Bill Wolfe,” Fenton, now 28, recalled by telephone last week from Indianapolis, where he lives and works as a branch manager of a bank.

The idea brewed for a few years. Fenton and six friends from Terre Haute and ISU — Matt Foster, Geoff Haynes, Ryan Royer, Zack Hurst, Nick Ferrell and Luke Jones — eventually formed the Larry Legend Foundation. With a goal of raising $135,000 for a 13-foot-tall statue, sculpted by Wolfe, and perpetual scholarship in Bird’s honor, they eventually surveyed students and locals about the plan. “Almost every single person I talked to was for it,” Fenton said.

“Once I saw people’s reaction, I said, ‘We can make this happen,’” Fenton added. “But now that it’s actually happening, I can’t believe it’s actually happening.”

ISU will unveil a bronze statue of Bird on Saturday morning, as part of a weekend celebrating the legacy left by Bird and his teammates in the 1976-79 era. Lots of dominos had to fall, right in line, to make that possible. Fenton and his friends set those dominos in motion. They formally launched the Larry Legend Foundation in September 2009, debuted the Larry

LegendFoundation.com website, and started the fundraising with sales of “Everybody Loves a Legend” T-shirts at ISU basketball games. They enlisted the ISU Foundation as a steward of the fundraising effort, which led to a generous contribution from an anonymous donor a couple years later. An initial disagreement over the choice of a sculptor was ironed out, the funds were secured to craft an even taller statue (15 feet, at $153,000), and Wolfe began creating the art piece in 2012.

“It was a long journey, but I wouldn’t have wanted it to turn out any other way. I’m glad Bill’s doing it,” Fenton said. The assistance and expertise of the ISU Foundation proved essential. “When we realized it was bigger than us, that’s when we handed it to the ISU Foundation,” Fenton explained.

Still, the fact that ISU students and local young people initiated the drive captured Bird’s interest.

“It was the total impetus behind it,” said Phil Ness, the ISU Foundation associate vice president of development for athletics. “It’s what got Larry excited about it. I think Larry was really touched that a group of kids, who were born after he graduated, were the ones who got this going. I don’t think it could’ve happened without them.”

Fenton was born in 1985, six years after Bird and the Sycamores stunned America by rolling into the NCAA Final against Michigan State with a perfect 33-0 record and a No. 1 ranking in the polls. In the years since that season, ISU suffered through a 17-year stretch of sub-.500 seasons, seven coaching changes, and some hard feelings, for various reasons, among basketball alums.

Fenton and the Larry Legend Foundation crew focused on the goal, not past baggage. “Those guys didn’t know any better, and so they just went out and did it,” Ness said, with admiration.

“They” just went out and did it, despite the odds. No wonder “they” impressed Larry.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Readers’ Forum: July 25, 2014

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 24, 2014

    • Clinic will expand basic health access
    • Misunderstanding truth about Islam

    July 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Work program needs industry buy-in

    Good help is hard to find. That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers. Businesses say too few applicants possess the “soft skills,” such as showing up for work on time or being able to effectively communicate with co-workers.

    July 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 23, 2014

    July 22, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: News about reality, not affirmation

    The public’s trust in the news media keeps dwindling. At the same time, Americans’ political polarization keeps increasing.

    July 21, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 22, 2014

    • Supt. Ritz has right to govern
    • A tribute to a teacher
    • Rep. Pelosi shows ‘bungling idiocy’

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 21, 2014

    • Theater brings the joy of music
    • Drawing closer to the spirit
    • Give some space to heterosexuals

    July 20, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • EDITORIAL: Vigo Jail study essential to determine strategy

    It comes as encouraging news that the Vigo County Council might include in its 2015 budget significant funding for an expert and neutral study of what can be done to replace or enhance the existing county jail.

    July 20, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 20, 2014

    • ‘Hotel Indiana’ has a sour tune

    • Kind words about the newspaper

    • Some questions about RTL video

    • No mercy for cop killers

    • Crack down on gun violence

    • Anti-Dem tirades mask GOP failures

    • Important day for participants

    • Appreciation for support

    July 20, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Solve our border crisis

    More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children — mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador — have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year.

    July 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Living in peaceful communities requires collaboration

    Hoosiers have the right to live in peace. Yet, too many of our friends and neighbors are currently living in fear.

    July 18, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Will Gov. Pence be true to his word?

    This is written in response to recent remarks made by State Board of Education members.

    July 17, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 18, 2014

    July 17, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • READERS’ FORUM: July 17, 2014

    • Civil rights and burning cities

    • Quality service from Baesler’s

    July 16, 2014

  • FLAHSPOINT: Supt. Glenda Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 16, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Continuing the standard

    U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett has raised the profile of his federally appointed position more than any individual to hold the job in decades. From the start, he was a man on a mission, and often that mission was focused on rooting out corruption, maintaining integrity in government and pursuing those who violated the public trust.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 16, 2014

    • The truth about property taxes

    July 15, 2014

  • Letter from BOE member: Superintendent Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 15, 2014

    • Are Fed policies hurting America?

    • Staying true to code of respect

    July 14, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Legal marriages should be honored

    An eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.

    July 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 14, 2014

    • Where did the 61 cents go?

    July 13, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine Today in History for July 25th Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17
NDN Video
Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity